We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe du Livre

Cafe du Livre
44 Rue Tariq Ibn Ziad | Off to one side of the entrance to Hotel Toulousain, Ville Nouvelle, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-32149
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 581 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Continental, Café, Bistro, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
“An Oasis of Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I'd been living in Marrakech for about a month before I found Cafe du Livre, but six months later barely a week goes by without me returning. The food is very good, and utterly fantastic from time to time (in particular when owner Liz makes the special) and the atmosphere is warm and friendly. The highlight though is the weekly quiz night, every Monday at 7:00pm. Both regulars and passing travellers join in what can often be a very spirited game. Pie for the losers, wine for the winners and the chance of winning a couple hundred dirham means the evening is always fun and exciting. If you're in Marrakech on a Monday evening, then CDL is a must.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    31
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lavenham
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Beware - they keep your change”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I was incredibly disappointed when arriving at this cafe. No atmosphere, no welcome. The coffee was OK. BUT when it came to pay two of us were brought no change at all - the waitress assumed we were leaving her a 30% tip. When we asked for it back she gave us half with very bad grace.
Go somewhere else.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yassine M, Owner at Cafe du Livre, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
I would like to take a moment to apologize on behalf of my staff for the regrettable incident with your change! I can not apologize enough for this having occurred. I have spoken at length to my staff about promptly returning all change to the customers, and not assuming any part of the change left is a tip.

Again, I apologize for this unpleasant experience and will make sure such things do not occur again in the future. -Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Feeling at home in a foreign city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Cafe du livre is the perfect place to hang out at night in Marrakesh and have a beer. The staff is friendly, the room is beautiful. Go there!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bohemian hideaway....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Terrific for a quiet coffee/mint tea/beer in the middle of the day. Free wi-fi. Lots of English books to peruse or buy. Chess/Scrabble to borrow. Cheap. Largely young crowd of hipsters and students. Recommended.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Well worth finding.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This place is a gem hidden away behind the new Printemps store. We didn't eat there, just tea, but they do serve alcohol. Take in any old books and buy others. Most are English, a rare commodity in Marrakesh. Sit, read, relax and enjoy. Brilliant!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe du Livre also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Cafe du Livre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe du Livre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.