We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly place to go.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe du Livre

Cafe du Livre
44 Rue Tariq Ibn Ziad | Off to one side of the entrance to Hotel Toulousain, Ville Nouvelle, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-32149
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 547 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Continental, Café, Bistro, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Marrakech
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A friendly place to go.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I attend the quiz which is held regularly on a Monday night. The first time I showed up with a friend we were welcomed and paired up with two others to make a team. It was a friendly and fun evening. The next time I went on my own and was slotted into a team. Now I am a regular there. The quiz is in English and not too easy or hard. The staff are circulating all the time to serve you with good food and drinks at a reasonable price. There is an extensive menu and a wide variety of drinks, both alcoholic and non alcoholic.
The place has a homely atmosphere, not wild or formal at all.
There is also a library where you can sit and read for as long as you like. Some of the books are for sale.
It is a little tricky to find, being at the back of the main shops in the street, but there is a pavement sign pointing the way. Once you know where it is it is hard to stay away.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    24
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“English language hub with living room feel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Cafe du Livre is a fantastic place! I live in Marrakech and this is my favorite place!
It has great food at very good prices. The menu has lots of great sandwiches, salads and pastas, as well as the BEST hamburger in Marrakech and an awesome Chili!
The cafe has a relaxed vibe. You can relax with a coffee while using the free Wifi, browse the library section, take a french class or join in one of the many activities. Monday night there is an English quiz which rocks, and there's also movie night on Thursday and Live music on Friday/Saturday nights. They also show football matches, projected on a whole wall!
All this great stuff means there a nice crowd any night of the week, with lots of expats, locals and tourists mingling together. I can not recommend Cafe du Livre more!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My favorite place in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Café du Livre is definitly my favorite place in Marrakech.. It's nice no matter at time u wanna go to and for how long time you wanna stay in.. It offers nice drinks (chocolate, wine, etc) and food (french, moroccan, american and italian) and is opened til 11pm, which is rare for a coffee restaurant..
There is a nice library which contains wonderful and rare books in many language: french, english, arabic, japanse, spanish, etc.
During the week end a good croner comes and sing legendaries songs with playing guitare, meanwhile people eating, drinking, discussing or just have fun..
It's also a great place for work, study or do some professional meetings.. I recommanded to Marrakchis and foreigners, cause it's definitly deserve to be visited even once.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Wales
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“a cool place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We went here early afternoon and sat reading from their selectio0n of 2nd hand books - really nice.
Nice music playing but it did lack a little atmosphere the time we were there - I think when it livens up later in the day its likely way better. You really could just chill out all afternoon here reading though.

NOT that easy to find but worth it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gueliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Relaxed friendly atmosphere and excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

This cafe has a welcoming laid back pace yet excellent service. The food is always of a high standard made from fresh ingredients. A nice break from the standard moroccan cafe menu. I'm an expat in marrakech and love nothing more than hanging out here with friends. Definitely worth stopping in for a coffee or a relaxed meal.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe du Livre also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Cafe du Livre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe du Livre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.