We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice riad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Alwachma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Alwachma to your Saves list
Riad Alwachma
21 derb Sebh | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 1,072 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Roma
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice riad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Nice riad in Marrakesh Medina but nothing special. Quiter area but close to Djemaa el-fna with free parking in the nearby. The room was clean and confortable with air conditioned. Good breakfasts in beautiful moroccan courtyards.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    45
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
153
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at riad alwachma as a couple in the first week of July for a few days of experiencing the city before we went off to a large hotel complex outside the city. Riad alwachma was the perfect choice of riad as it is close to the road so easy to get a taxi but we heard no traffic noise whilst there. We had the chance to stay in two rooms, both were lovely although we found the larger room too be a little too warm and quite dark. The first night we dined at the riad and it was probably the best meal we had in Marrakech. The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful without being intrusive. We would definitely love to stay again on a future trip to Marrakech.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I highly suggest anyone going to Marrakech to stay at this riad. I've never had better service. The staff were very welcoming and were always there to help you. The room was small but clean and cozy (Chebba). The dinner they served to us was very good. Always freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast. The location was perfect. It was about 10 min walk to Jemaa el-Fnaa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

This riad is perfect. It is beautiful and relaxing, a great escape from the hustle and bustle.
We ate at the riad on our first night, it was lovely, great first morrocan meal and introduction to marrakech. The riad is a short walk to the main square (approx 5-10 mins) and very easy to find.
The room (amal) was perfect. Great size and nice and cool despite the heat outside.
Breakfast varied slightly each day and set us up well for the day.
The staff at this riad are very friendly and attentive, they made us feel right at home.
If i was going back to marrakech i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We've stayed in Marrakech many times and had the chance to try many riads and other larger hotels in the "Hivernage" and "Palmeraie" areas. Our conclusion is that Riad Alwachma probably offers one of the best value for money in Marrakech and it has become our home whenever we visit the city. The riad offers the traditional Moroccan architecture and deco which visitors typically want to experience in Marrakech. The rooms are large enough, clean and comfortable. You can rest on the quiet terrace and benefit from a view of the Koutoubia minaret. The owners and the staff are very nice, welcoming and helpful. But the biggest appeal of riad Alwachma in our opinion is its location, just a few minutes walk away from the main tourist attractions such as the Place Jemaa el Fnaa and the souks, yet very easy to find (next to Maison Arabe which most taxi drivers know) since it is located on the edge of the madina. You don't have to get lost in the narrow streets of the madinah and deal with touts to go back to your room after a late dinner, which is a luxury compared to most other riads, especially for first time visitors (but also for people who know Marrakech well). Finally, it's really easy to park safely a few minutes away form the riad, which is not so common in Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Did a tour through this riad today to the high Atlas Mountains and were bone tired after the trip. Luckily we're booked in for a Hammam which is what I want to review here. Walked in with the bathrobes provided. A woman took our robes and we were left in our underwear. She started with my wife. Was a massage and an exfoliation of the skin and cleansing. It was a fantastic experience. After about 1hr we moved into the massage room were waiting for us. Best massage I've ever had. We paid 100 euro and were so happy we paid another 20 MAD to each of the women. Were told it would take 1hr 45 mins but were there for over 2 hrs. We both felt wonderful afterwards.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Being regular visitors to Morocco and Marrakech, we chose Riad Alwachma for our recent stay due to it being extremely conveniently located near a road suitable for cars. Having stayed all over the rabbit warren of the medina, we are well aware that some riads are a good ten minute walk from the nearest vehicle access. We were only spending two nights in Marrakech before being collected by car for a trip down to Merzouga and we wanted to be able to quickly nip out on the day we left and get our luggage into the vehicle without a fuss. Riad Alwachma is in a perfect location for this and also for first-timers to Marrakech who might find the city a little complicated to navigate. Taxis can easily drop you off more or less at the door here, so you won't have the hassle from faux guides or shopkeepers as you make your way back.

The riad is also located a very short walk from the main square - you simply have to follow one road in a straight line and you are there! I'm not sure how previous reviewers managed to get lost whilst walking down Rue Fatima Zohra to be honest. I popped out by myself for something to eat one evening whilst my husband had an early night. There are plenty of food shops selling brochettes etc on Rue Fatima Zohra as well as carts selling harira, bread, cakes, sweets etc. I ended up at Djemma El Fnaa anyway because I wanted to change some more money at Hotel Ali.

The riad itself is beautifully decorated and the gentle scent of neroli leaves you feeling uplifted and invigorated. We had booked a meal on the night of our arrival as our flight didn't get in to Menara until 9pm. The tagines were delicious, the harira authentic and filling and the pastries perfect for my sweet tooth.

We stayed in the Dounia suite and found it large, comfortable and decorated as perfectly as the rest of the building. The interesting thing about the Dounia room is that there is a window to the street outside - something very rare in a modern Marrakech riad. Some people may find it a little noisy but we enjoy hearing all the sounds of the city so it didn't bother us at all.

All the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and it was lovely to finally meet Anne-Helene after exchanging many emails over the months.

We are already planning our next trip to Marrakech and there is no doubt at all that we will be booking in to Riad Alwachma.

Room Tip: Although Riad Alwachma is extremely quiet and placed away from the main sounds of the square, all ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Alwachma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alwachma

Address: 21 derb Sebh | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 1,072 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the ground floor of the riad built around a large patio with columns a Moroccan living room, steam room, a lounge and two bedrooms. Upstairs, they offer six rooms / suites. All rooms in the riad are coated with tadelakt and zelliges, they also have heating and air conditioning, satellite TV and wi-fi. Finally, to eat or just enjoy in peace the views of the Koutoubia and the High Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Alwachma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Alwachma Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Alwachma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.