We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Alwachma - A haven in the Medina - Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Alwachma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Alwachma to your Saves list
Ranked #95 of 1,057 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Riad Alwachma - A haven in the Medina - Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Tucked away in a small quiet laneway, but easy to find, and close to the souks and artisan centre, the Riad Alwachma was a sympathetically renovated Moroccan family residence that had been transformed into a small and intimate hotel ..... If you are wanting a Moroccan experience in a traditional and charming setting, with delicious traditional (or western food), a warm reception, and very attentive and courteous staff, then this is the place for you .... Take breakfast or dinner on the roof garden, in your room, or in the intimate and romantic dining room .... The open wood fire in the dining room was a special delight on the cool nights in early February

We stayed here for 7 nights and would recommend it to travelers looking for simplicity, authenticity and good service with a smile, then this is the place for you.

.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    40
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
146
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Riad Alwachma is not what the pictures and description make you believe. The riad and terrace are very small. The room we occupied was tiny with barely enough room between the walls and the bed. The bathroom was also very small, very dark and uninviting. Our 2 day/3 night trip to Marrakech was a last-minute excursion from the Riviera where we were vacationing from the US. We had exchanged emails with the manager a few days before our arrival to find out availability and told her we were planning to spend the last two nights of our stay in her riad. When we told the manager, we would not be staying the second night (a Sunday night), she became very unpleasant which confirmed our initial bad impression. Because we did not want more recrimination, we paid for another night and left as fast as we could. With French school vacation over and on a Sunday night, It was easy to find an elegant riad, spacious, with a big beautiful terrace. We speak from experience. One of us spent 2 years in Morroco with Peace Corps some years ago in a small village near Marrakech and is very familiar with riads.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadalwachma, Gérant at Riad Alwachma, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Danielle,

The room sizes are given on the site as well as the description of the riad.

You want to come when we were full, you forget to write that we have found another riad ...
We have offered a room upstairs bigger you do not want!
We do our best for our customers, and I think that reversing a reservation at 11am the same day it is normal that we do pay ...
My husband and I have done everything to make you feel better.
I think it is normal that the same day or you want to leave, we do pay the continuity of day.
We were listening to you.

We are not a hotel and do our best to make our guests is satifaits.
You feel as if we had proposed a 5 star for 49 euros ... I do not think we pretend to do so.

Anne Hélène
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a really nice little Riad in a great location in the medina. After a day out seeing the city, the pretty interior courtyard and friendly staff make you feel like you're coming home. The rooms are very well decorated, and also comfy and spacious, with lovely bathrooms. We ate dinner twice in the dining room. You order your meal in the morning, the tajines were very good, and they had the best harira soup that I tried in Morocco. The wine was also nice. Parts of the medina can be really hectic, but there are some neat streets near the Riad with nicer little stores than the crowed area of booths behind the Jemaa el-Fnaa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a very welcoming Riad in the heart of the Medina. The staff were all very attentive and could not do enough for us to make our stay an enjoyable one. The courtyard and terrace were lovely and breakfast was excellent, setting s up well for the day ahead. The owners were charming and have done a great job to create a veritable oasis of peace and calm amidst the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. It's about a 10 to 15 minute walk to the main square where everything seems to happen in Marrakech. If you've never been there before, be prepared for a a lot of pushy locals trying to get you to part with your money. Once you get over that and become immune to it then you will enjoy your time in the city. However, do get the Raid to arrange a trip into the Atlas Mountains. It's not far and very reasonably priced. We had a great driver who was very informative and helpful. If you're thinking of Marrakech then you can't go far wrong if you stay at Riad Alwachma.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I wanted to thank everyone at Riad Alwachma for a truly wonderful holiday. The Riad is beautiful, with comfortable bedrooms, a delightful terrace, excellent breakfasts, but most importantly, exceptionally friendly and welcoming service. All the staff worked hard to help us have a memorable stay, which we did, and I will certainly recommend it to everyone. Thank you so much. Au revoir.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Liked the location.
Really like the rooms.
Great common sitting area with fireplace.
Best Reception.
Location was perfect for me but might turn off those used to chic neighbourhoods. For us, it was a perfect place as we walked to most places recommended by friends and by guide books.

Room Tip: See 6 rooms in total with my friends and all of them are highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here as a goup in February and the service was great. We really enjoyed the food and would reccomend booking the aiport transfers. The rooms were lovely with everything you could want. The roof terrace has some sunbeds which you can use and a lovely shaded area. I would definatley stay here again.
I would also reccomend the cooking lessons in the Maison Arabe which is just next door - a highlight of our trip.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the upper floor as I would imagine the ground floor rooms could get a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Alwachma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alwachma

Address: 21 derb Sebh | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 1,057 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the ground floor of the riad built around a large patio with columns a Moroccan living room, steam room, a lounge and two bedrooms. Upstairs, they offer six rooms / suites. All rooms in the riad are coated with tadelakt and zelliges, they also have heating and air conditioning, satellite TV and wi-fi. Finally, to eat or just enjoy in peace the views of the Koutoubia and the High Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Alwachma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Alwachma Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Alwachma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.