We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm, oodles of character, an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lorsya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Lorsya to your Saves list
Riad Lorsya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #382 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
Surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Charm, oodles of character, an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

I took my wide to Marrakech as a surprise (well up to the night before) birthday present. I chose Riad Lorsya because I wanted a place that had authentic charm and character and wasn't over styled. It did not disappoint.

Riad Lorsya is slap bang in the middle of the Medina and a couple of minutes stroll through the Souks to the Jemaa Al Fna (main square).
Riad Lorsya is based round a small courtyard. On the ground floor are the indoor kitchen and dining room. There is also a further dining and seating area that is open plan to the courtyard. To the side of the court yard is a small pool. 2 x rooms and 2 x suits on the first floor. All accommodation is furnished in the same authentic (to my eyes) Moroccan style. Wes stayed in on of the suits and thought the level of accommodation was excellent.
Go up the stairs again and you come out onto extensive roof terraces with sun bathing, seating and dining areas.

Alyas, the manager and Abdul, his assistant were incredibly helpful and friendly. Ilyas recommended places of interest, gave recommendations and made reservations for excursions, restaurants and hammans.
Abdul prepared our fitst evenings meal, our breakfasts, snacks and numerous requests for mint tea. He even escorted us to waiting taxi's and restaurants so that we did not get lost in the myriad of alleyways and narrow streets that make up the Medina.

All in all Riad Lorsya made the trip

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    35
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
243
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

We spent two nights at this riad and were overwhelmed by the beauty and service offered here. It is a gorgeous, small riad which is both comfortable and intimate as well as being luxurious. a PERFECT location right near the main square. The hotel is run by extremely kind and helpful staff, all very personable and genuinely concerned with ensuring the highest quality of your stay. It gives off all the senses of a traditional Moroccan home and makes your experience insightful and authentic. We can't thank this riad enough for our delightful visit.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

The Riad is really nice, exactly as it looks in the photo's. We had a big room over two floors which was terribly grand but a little bit dark, which is to be expected in a building with no external windows. That's the nature of a Riad.

I did have a nap on the afternoon we arrived because I had an awful cold and it can be a little noisy with the staff chatting in the kitchen below but, again, this is all part of the experience.

Their wifi is available for free on the ground floor and is pretty quick.

We were made to feel very welcome and will definitely go again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

This 4 night break for Claire's birthday perfectly highlighted the differing experiences within Marrakesh. The location of the Riad Lorsya in the middle of a labyrinth of alleys, cul de sacs and wrong turns is either exasperating or exhilerating depending on your mood.

Once inside, the Riad is lovely, decorated in typical Moroccan stlye and our room with a separate mezzanine floor for the bedroom area seemed lovely too but when actually lived in proved tricky as the toilet was downstairs, the steps were tiny and narrow and a fall seemingly inevitable in the dark of night, and it was pretty dark during the day too with the windows opening into the internal courtyard, even with all the lights on, atmospheric yes but also duff when trying to read a book or a map or find something in your suitcase!

We were unfortunate to have rain on 2 of the days, which made it quite cool and exposed the issues that arise when it does eventually rain in a predominantly dry city; our roof leaked badly, drenching our duvet and also making those alleyways very slippery and treacherous under foot and the weather cold enough for coats and jumpers in the day.

If all this seems a little negative then the plusses also need stressing; the reaction of the staff and management to our leak was excellent, they were truly horrified and did everything possible to sort the problem both financially and practically. they were always helpful with directions and advice and the roof terrace was a lovely place to start the day with a breakfast of pancakes, coffee and fruit.

We loved the main square and its teeming activity, where else could you be be run over by a moped with no lights driven by a seemingly blind man transporting a live sheep and 2 small children whilst watching snake charmers compete with jugglers for your dirhams? Sitting on the edge of the square with a coffee watching the world go by was excellent too even if you were approached by shoes cleaners, acrobats and everyone else exceot the bloke to serve the coffee!!

We realised was that perhaps we are turning into those people who like to travel the world but like to stay in that posh new town area with the nice bars, pools and restaurants and visit the souk rather than stay in it. That is our problem, not Marrakesh's. For people seeking the authentic Riad experience they will love the Riad Lorsya and it's location too.

To sum up, if you love immersing yourself in local culture, going native, that sort of thing then this is for you, if you are more gin and tonic by the pool then try elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

We booked the whole riad for a short break, the staff couldn't have done any more to make our stay memorable. They booked airport transfers, restaurants, guides and a trip to the Atlas Mountains. The food was great and although the riad does not serve alcohol Fatima had bought in some wine for us because she knew it was a special celebration. Abdul was always on hand to provide anything we needed and offered to guide us to restaurants at night. We had a great time and would recommend the riad to others.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

We hired both the Riad Lorysa and Riad El Zohar ( which is just across the alley) to celebrate our wedding with our friends Having had the civil ceremony of our marriage in England [To keep it legal ] We had a Moroccan ceremony in the riads . You may think what madness trying to arrange a ceremony from England but the owner of El Zohar Alan was in constant touch advising and making sure everything was in place from a French patisserie cake with sugar spun ribbons to the incredible flowers. What an experience, the staff at both raids were fantastic and imagine champagne and canapes on the roof of Lorysa as the sun set over Marrakech with the haunting call of prayer echoing over the city, to the amazing party and feast in El Zohar .With the must have band of 6 ladies from the desert and the belly dancers we really rocked the Kasbah !!! The staff all joined in the celebration with gusto which really contributed to the event, the mixture of both cultures really made the day and I with never forget the arabic calls from the women of the raid lead by the ever attentive Naima as they announced my arrival at the ceremony. A memorable time for us and all our friends.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southend-on-sea
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

What a shock to walk through the shabby labyrinths of Marrakech and then go through the big wooden door of Riad Lorsya and walk into such a beautiful oasis. The Riad itself was fantastic and so were the staff, couldn't be friendlier. Lovely roof terrace where you can enjoy the winter sunshine. However, if you have not been to Marrakech before please be warned that this will by no way be a relaxing holiday, from the moment you leave the front door you will be harrassed by people trying to sell you stuff or people trying to 'help' you (at a price of course). I only stayed for 3 days and by the end was beginning to get used to this so if I had stayed longer it probably would have been better. Marrakech is a very beautiful, colourful place and if you can ignore the constant badgering it should be an ideal holiday.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Lorsya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lorsya

Address: 61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lorsya 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Lorsya is situated at 2 minutes walk from the Jamaa El Fna square, in the heart of the antiques market souk. It has been renovated with care in the pure Morrocan tradition and retains all the charm of the old Marrakech riads. Our professional team invites you to discover the serenity, the comfortable lifestyle and the quality services offered to you in this wonderful riad. A free dinner is offered for any booking of 4 nights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Lorsya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lorsya Marrakech
Riad Lorsya Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Lorsya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.