We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly charming and meticulous attnetion to your every need” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lorsya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Lorsya to your Saves list
Riad Lorsya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 469 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maui Hi
1 review
“Incredibly charming and meticulous attnetion to your every need”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

The Riad Lorsya is the quintessential romantic place to stay in the Medina of Marrakesh.Fatima and staff happily attended to our every request. The meals were great and the rooms were very comfortable and charming. Fatima even helped with my wife's graduate school program with internet service and typing. What a truely great place to stay!!!! Bil

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    32
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
75
281
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

I would gladly recommend Riad Lorsya and hope to stay there again. This is not your usual big hotel which all feel pretty much the same all over the world. It’s more than simple accommodation; with only four or five rooms you feel as if you’re staying in someone’s home rather than in a hotel. Fatima and the rest of the staff certainly help you feel that way and nothing seems to be too much trouble for them. For me the location was not ideal because taxis cannot drive to the riad and I had to walk more than I wanted to with my bad knee. Apart from that I can hardly complain about anything else: the room spacious and comfortable and the food delicious (we loved the breakfast). I did not expect Marrakech to be so hot in June and next time we visit we would probably choose March or April.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

My partner and myself spent a fantastic week at the Riad Lorsya. How glad we were that we were not there for only a short stay. The rooms are very authentic, food wonderful and the staff made you feel as if you were a family member. The roof terrace is great for a spot of sunbathing then a dip in the fantastic plunge pool. Breafast is wonderful, freshly squeezed orange juice, pancakes, breads, jams and fresh coffee. Fatima, Abdullah and the rest of the staff could not do enough for you. A fantastic holiday after a very stressful year.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

Riad Lorsya and its staff is absolutely amazing. The riad is beautifully decorated in authentic Moroccan decor. What's more wonderful than the beautiful riad is the staff. Fatima could not be more helpful. She arranged everything we needed on request. Abdullah was also wonderful. He actually walked us to the hammam that Fatima had booked for my family! It was great to see his smiley face every day. The first night we were served a delicious Moroccan dinner (free of charge). That first night, my daughter and I were also able to sit in the kitchen while the chef prepared our meal and Fatima talked us through the steps. It was like our own little Moroccan cooking show! I can't say enough about our great experience in Morocco. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

Marrakech was our last stop during our trip around Morocco. It turned out to be a good decision since Marrakech is by far the most beautiful and interesting city we visited during this trip. Too bad we only planned to stay three nights. We will certainly return and we will try to stay again and Riad Lorsya. We stayed at different accommodations throughout our trip and our favorite is Lorsya. It's true that it's not luxurious but it's good value, very clean, well located and most important the staff makes you feel like you're staying with family or with old friends. The food is also delicious and it didn't hurt that our first dinner was offered free of charge.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

We spent three nights in Riad Lorsya in May, finishing off a beautiful road trip which started in Fes.
Once we arrived in the hectics of Marrakech, we had to return our rental car at the airport and had agreed with Fatima that we would call her when we would be close to the airport so she could send a taxi to pick us up. Unfortunately, somehow, we got lost and had to search for the way to the airport. Once we found the right way back, we got stuck in traffic. At that time, the poor taxi driver had been waiting for us for more than an hour (!).
Nevertheless, we were welcomed by a very friendly, smiling taxi driver who was very helpful.
Once we arrived to the riad, and having stayed in less comfortable accommodations during our trip, we didn't believe our eyes once we entered it. I thought I was in heaven! The place was spotless, inviting and absolutely gorgeous!
We stayed in the Samsara room, which was absolutely beautiful. The bed is perfect, the shower amazing, and the styling is somewhat 'kitsch' Moroccan, but well matched. There is a lot of attention paid to furnishing, lighting, etc.
Every day, the breafkfast was great; fresh oranje juice, fresh bread, pancakes and yoghurt. The dinners were wonderful as well. Very juicy chicken tanjine, healthy vegetables and cold drinks.
The staff is excellent too. Fatima is there to arrange anything you need; she can help with booking a hammam or reserving a restaurant. She'll arrange all in a heartbeat! Even if you need their laptop for anything, this is no problem. Abdulah is super friendly and smiles all the time. Whatever you need, he will get it for you. The cleaning lady is also very sweet and cleans everything thoroughly. Last but not least, the girl in the kitchen knows what she is doing. Food is great! One afternoon, we even got our own little cooking lesson from her as we were keen on seeing how she prepares the chicken tajine. Very nice!
It was great to finish off our holiday in Morocco in Riad Lorsya. We would definately recommend this to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

Word's cannot describe how perfect this Riad is. It became a home from home for us quite literally. My partner and I have never in any hotel, felt so welcome or at ease as we did at Riad Lorsya. Abdulah was always ready with anything we needed and spoiled us mercilessly the whole time we were there. As a first time visitor to Marrakech we were a little nervous when we arrived, but Fatimah took us through everything we needed to know going as far as giving us her personal mobile number to call at anytime of day or night.

The food on the first night was wonderful and very welcome after the journey, it perfectly summarises the whole attitude to your care during your stay. Every possible effort and tiny detail is thought about to make your stay as perfect, carefree and easy while you are with them.

We stayed in both Suite Samsara and the Eau de Rose room (both were stunning!!) and has to be the easiest room transfer we have ever done. All we had to do was leave our bags in the first room and they took care of everything for us. We've had to lurk around/come back to other hotels when we've needed to do this before, but no surprise, Fatimah made it straight-forward and simple.
The food was incredible and breakfast was very filling and tasty, with Abdulah bringing it up to us on the terrace on a couple of days, and even getting up at 5:30am on our last day to ensure we were fed before we went home.
The rooms are beautifully appointed with every last detail considered and with the highest quality fittings and furniture. I honestly couldn't list a single thing I would change about this hotel or our stay, other than I don't live there permanantly.

The terrace is also worth talking about... with comfy areas of shade for the midday heat and sun-loungers for the tan, it's a great place to top up your tan when the heat of the city gets too much and again it's furnished with style and comfort.

I can't rate this hotel highly enough, we will definatly be returning and I challenge any regular visitors to Marrakech to find a hotel more caring, friendly and just darn perfect than this one. We absolutley adored it and are already saving our pennies to go back again.

A heartfelt thankyou to all at Riad Lorsya and especially Abdulah for making our holiday perfect in everyway.... (a special thankyou for the flowers in our room - another little detail of perfection!!)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Lorsya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lorsya

Address: 61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#53 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lorsya 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Lorsya is situated at 2 minutes walk from the Jamaa El Fna square, in the heart of the antiques market souk. It has been renovated with care in the pure Morrocan tradition and retains all the charm of the old Marrakech riads. Our professional team invites you to discover the serenity, the comfortable lifestyle and the quality services offered to you in this wonderful riad. A free dinner is offered for any booking of 4 nights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Lorsya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lorsya Marrakech
Riad Lorsya Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Lorsya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.