We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lorsya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Lorsya to your Saves list
Riad Lorsya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #372 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

Just spent 3 Magical nights at Riad Lorsya. I am a travel agent from Australia and can definitely recommend this Riad. I know why it's so popular with Aussies because it's simply gorgeous and in a fabulous location close to the souks and very close to the main square. We stayed on the first floor in a duplex suite which was lovely. It was very hot in Marrakech but the room stayed cool. We were very lucky that other people staying in the Riad checked out the day we arrived and we had the whole place to ourselves for 3 nights it was so romantic. The staff and manager are very polite and friendly and speak good English. The manager really likes Aussies and we had some nice chats over coffee he was very helpful giving us maps of the city what to see and do and recommended some good argan oil shops in the souk. They were happy to provide tea or coffee anytime and we enjoyed that on the balcony outside the suite. We swam in the pool everyday as the water was cool and refreshing after being out in the heat of Marrakech. We enjoyed the simple but ample breakfasts and really enjoyed our dinner at the Riad a delicious chicken with lemon targine with cous cous and Moroccan salads. Our room had the bedroom on a mezzanine level the bed was comfy and they made up our room everyday replacing our towels etc. please note no TV but we had free wifi and it was actually quite fast so we weren't to bothered without a TV. There was always plenty of hot water and they supplied lovely shampoo and conditioner with agan oil our hair was so soft. The roof top area was very nice with sun lounges and views over the medina. At night the Riad was gorgeous when its Moroccan lights came on it was so romantic. Would definitely recommend contacting the Riad to pre arrange airport transfers. We did this and they met us at the airport and then dropped us and our luggage at the entrance to the medina. In was really late at night and very funny following an old man pushing our luggage in a cart through the maze of streets to the riad. Please make sure you have the 20 dirhams to tip the poor man for having to carry your luggage all that way. The return transfer was easy too and remember to tip the lovely old man with your luggage on the return.
Would definitely recommend this Riad and can't wait to come back next year.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    38
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
248
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015 via mobile

Look no further when booking accommodation for Morocco. I'm a 25 year old lady and I stayed here with my best Australian friend for 5 nights. Riad Lorsya is exactualy the type of place you want to be when your on holidays, arty, peaceful, calming and tranquil ( a great place to chill after the hectic shopping souks) . The host Abdul for the Riad sets the mood on arrival with mint tea and biscuits ( he's so lovely and helpful) . He was AMAZING!!! He also cooked us a traditional Moroccan tagine meal for our first night free for guests.

He sat us down with a map and helped us get our bearings and book day trips for camel rides and the Atlas Mountains on the first day. The Riad itself is in a prime location SO conviently close to the main square where you want to be of a night time where the night food markets are on. The Riad itself is very clean,safe, made beds every day and YUM YUM free breakfast crepes, fruit, eggs, fresh bread, it has an amazing rooftop terrace.

The best thing about it is its location. I couldn't recommend this place enough when planning your travels to Marrakech. We absolutely loved it and can't wait to visit this place again some day! ;-))

Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

We had a very nice stay at Lorsya. Thank you very much.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. We were given an upgrade of the room, there were not many other tourists at the same time.
Booking was seamless and requests were promptly answered. Booking a transfer (also through booking.com) worked charmingly and is worth the 15EUR, because you at the same time learn the -- right -- way to the Riad... We booked a tour through them, and were offered by them that they would buy the bus tickets for us. You pay the bill no earlier than at checkout, in cash. I like that, excellent service.

The room was clean and nice as far as I can tell. Marrocan lamps are beautiful, but they don't emit too much light. The AC does its job. The bed in the upper veranda/floor was hard, but I missed to arrange for a better solution. My bad. The stairs to the upper floor are quite steep. The riad is extremely quiet, you can barely hear the muezzin and no traffic noise at all.

I give an honest rating of "Very good / 4 stars". IMHO "Excellent" would be deserved if some of the following points would go away:
- Breakfast takes some time until you are noticed and fully served, probably due to the cooking involved. A first quick coffee and bread would be nice. Breakfast does not vary.
- The house is in good, but not excellent, shape. Dripping plumbings, some spots in the shower where the smooth wall has been perforated for decoration purpose, the rusty roof door, bird remainings on the deck, and before I forget it: please thoroughly clean that glass-wooden-door table in the patio.

In the end, we have good memories of Lorsya and would recommend it as a nice accomodation in the heart of the Medina.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

Stunning raid, tucked at the dead-end of a tangled maze of glorious and atmospheric tunnel-like paths. Wouldn't have minded never finding the way back as this quiet sanctuary is bliss. However when you tire of the excellent food, comfy sofa space, icy pool and roof-top sun beds, the delightful Mr Aziz, walking taxi personified, is on hand to escort you to your destination. And pick you up too, if you wish. Part of the aforementioned gals' celebratory getaway, we took 6 of the 7 rooms and all were large, and individually breath-taking. We were, however, relieved we hadn't opted to share as none of the en-suites has a door, though thankfully the loo is politely hidden from view. Substantial breakfast, whatever time you want it, includes fresh squeezed orange juice and excellent coffee. Abdul got whiff of my birthday celebration (the champagne he kindly chilled for us in the fridge may have given it away: 'my fridge is your fridge') and not only fashioned HB in flower petals on the dining room table for us that evening, but also presented me with a bunch of roses. Later Mr Aziz arrived with a gift. The kindness and helpfulness of all at the raid was quite overwhelming and I can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Even the smallest room, Eau de Rose, is a very good size with a large en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

Welcome to Ryad Lorsya – once you find it!! Do not try and get there yourself – use the taxi service offered and you will be dropped at the walls and the lovely Aziz will meet you and take you and your bags through the maze of the Medina to the door. On arrival Abdul will take over – pay attention to the map and the tips he gives you because they are worth following!
The Ryad is a hidden gem (well hidden!) Clean, quiet, well-appointed and very welcoming and friendly.
Breakfast is a relaxed affair where fresh bread, pancakes, fruit and croissants are eaten at the large central table – you may strike up a conversation with other Ryad guests (though with only 5 rooms they become more like housemates than other guests). Swapping tales of discoveries is a part of the fun – or you can choose a quiet corner if you want to eat undisturbed. Top tip: English tea is available – just ask!
The optional evening dinner is well worth choosing – and Moustafa will be an attentive host and cheerful chef.
The rooms are very Moroccan – well appointed, unbelievably clean – and also quite dark! The lighting is somewhat authentic – make sure your phone has a torch for finding things dropped etc or even for reading in bed!
Top tip: always put the aircon on before you go out for the evening to bring the temperature down for when you return if, as we were, you are in one of those 40C periods. Set the machine to swing fan and turbo boost for maximum benefit!
The souks are marvellous, the experience of being lost in the Medina all part of it – but take the mini map for when you do want to find your way back home!
If going out in the evening ask Abdul or Moustafa for the tips on how to get to your restaurant. It is all largely safe but there are some areas which need extra caution – so take their insider knowledge to have a great time.
Top tip: if the heat of the midday gets too much – and the aircon around and about is generally either lame or non existent then grab you wallet, dig deep and go to Mamounia – great gardens but above all stunningly powerful aircon! A cool down with a beer here is really a powerful rejuvenation and escape in the middle of the day!
At the end of the stay Abdul will prepare a bill – be prepared to pay in either Euros or Dirham. You cannot use the Dirham outside the country so it is a great option for paying down your left over cash!
Top tip: at the airport you have to get your boarding pass stamped even if you have just hand luggage so you will have to queue at the check-in – that’s their rules!
Overall, Marrakech is a great destination and Ryad Lorsya helps to make the experience unforgettable. A great find – enjoy!

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

We're 6 friends who were at university together decades ago and our mini- break was to celebrate a special birthday. Riad Lorsya was perfect for us. Abdul was a warm and welcoming host, ably helped by Mustapha. Delicious breakfasts of pancakes, fruit, eggs and coffee were served in the central, 'open - to- the- elements' atrium which also housed a small pool - perfect for refreshing dips after trekking through the souk. Don't be put off by the labyrinthine alleys that lead to this and other riads - after a few days we managed to find our way around. We did have some extra help from Mr Aziz who escorted us one evening to Le Foundouk & MK50, two excellent restaurants and transported our bags in his cart going to and from the airport. All the rooms are lovely and have air conditioning. Don't miss the excellent home-cooked meal provided by the riad on a table strewn with rose petals. Very romantic. We also visited a local Hammams - an experience not to be missed ( but possibly not for the faint hearted). One of the employes from the Riad took us and explained the procedure. This is an exceptional Riad - we'll be back.

Room Tip: Cooler rooms at the bottom, though darker. Upstairs lighter but can be warmer. Lovely rooftop terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

We went on a couples retreat to Marrakech, and found this Riad through reviews on trip advisor. I was not disappointed - simply wonderful place to stay - very authentic, minutes from the main square and souks, brilliantly friendly staff from the taxi driver, to Aziz who walked us from the taxi, to Abdul to the very nice man who worked nights (can't remember his name!!).

Abdul gave us excellent recommendations for things to do, and I would highly recommend a day trip out to the Atlas mountains. Beautiful scenery and good to get out of the hustle and bustle of the Medina. Take walking shoes!

We stayed in the Mamounia Suite which was lovely! Great features in the room, which was on the ground floor just off the main courtyard. You can hear other things going on in the Riad but it's very peaceful and quiet, you don't need to worry about this. This room was also very cool which I think was unlike other rooms. We barely used the air-con in April when it was actually very warm outside.
We also spent time on the sun terrace one afternoon which was lovely.
My only MINOR criticism is that the room is very open plan and the toilet is tucked behind a little wall. You can see the toilet if you are standing in certain parts of the room, so be comfortable with your travelling partner that there are no hidden toilet noises in this room!! However, this really was not a big issue and the room was stunning in general so DO NOT let this put you off!!

Cannot recommend this enough!

Room Tip: Mamounia Suite is on the ground floor, just off the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#61 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#175 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#105 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#25 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 398 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad 58 Blu
Riad 58 Blu
#60 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palais Sebban
Palais Sebban
#145 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Lorsya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lorsya

Address: 61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#186 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lorsya 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Lorsya is situated at 2 minutes walk from the Jamaa El Fna square, in the heart of the antiques market souk. It has been renovated with care in the pure Morrocan tradition and retains all the charm of the old Marrakech riads. Our professional team invites you to discover the serenity, the comfortable lifestyle and the quality services offered to you in this wonderful riad. A free dinner is offered for any booking of 4 nights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Lorsya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lorsya Marrakech
Riad Lorsya Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Lorsya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.