We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take Me Back!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lorsya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Lorsya to your Saves list
Riad Lorsya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #367 of 473 Hotels in Marrakech
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Take Me Back!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stunning raid, tucked at the dead-end of a tangled maze of glorious and atmospheric tunnel-like paths. Wouldn't have minded never finding the way back as this quiet sanctuary is bliss. However when you tire of the excellent food, comfy sofa space, icy pool and roof-top sun beds, the delightful Mr Aziz, walking taxi personified, is on hand to escort you to your destination. And pick you up too, if you wish. Part of the aforementioned gals' celebratory getaway, we took 6 of the 7 rooms and all were large, and individually breath-taking. We were, however, relieved we hadn't opted to share as none of the en-suites has a door, though thankfully the loo is politely hidden from view. Substantial breakfast, whatever time you want it, includes fresh squeezed orange juice and excellent coffee. Abdul got whiff of my birthday celebration (the champagne he kindly chilled for us in the fridge may have given it away: 'my fridge is your fridge') and not only fashioned HB in flower petals on the dining room table for us that evening, but also presented me with a bunch of roses. Later Mr Aziz arrived with a gift. The kindness and helpfulness of all at the raid was quite overwhelming and I can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Even the smallest room, Eau de Rose, is a very good size with a large en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    37
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
246
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Welcome to Ryad Lorsya – once you find it!! Do not try and get there yourself – use the taxi service offered and you will be dropped at the walls and the lovely Aziz will meet you and take you and your bags through the maze of the Medina to the door. On arrival Abdul will take over – pay attention to the map and the tips he gives you because they are worth following!
The Ryad is a hidden gem (well hidden!) Clean, quiet, well-appointed and very welcoming and friendly.
Breakfast is a relaxed affair where fresh bread, pancakes, fruit and croissants are eaten at the large central table – you may strike up a conversation with other Ryad guests (though with only 5 rooms they become more like housemates than other guests). Swapping tales of discoveries is a part of the fun – or you can choose a quiet corner if you want to eat undisturbed. Top tip: English tea is available – just ask!
The optional evening dinner is well worth choosing – and Moustafa will be an attentive host and cheerful chef.
The rooms are very Moroccan – well appointed, unbelievably clean – and also quite dark! The lighting is somewhat authentic – make sure your phone has a torch for finding things dropped etc or even for reading in bed!
Top tip: always put the aircon on before you go out for the evening to bring the temperature down for when you return if, as we were, you are in one of those 40C periods. Set the machine to swing fan and turbo boost for maximum benefit!
The souks are marvellous, the experience of being lost in the Medina all part of it – but take the mini map for when you do want to find your way back home!
If going out in the evening ask Abdul or Moustafa for the tips on how to get to your restaurant. It is all largely safe but there are some areas which need extra caution – so take their insider knowledge to have a great time.
Top tip: if the heat of the midday gets too much – and the aircon around and about is generally either lame or non existent then grab you wallet, dig deep and go to Mamounia – great gardens but above all stunningly powerful aircon! A cool down with a beer here is really a powerful rejuvenation and escape in the middle of the day!
At the end of the stay Abdul will prepare a bill – be prepared to pay in either Euros or Dirham. You cannot use the Dirham outside the country so it is a great option for paying down your left over cash!
Top tip: at the airport you have to get your boarding pass stamped even if you have just hand luggage so you will have to queue at the check-in – that’s their rules!
Overall, Marrakech is a great destination and Ryad Lorsya helps to make the experience unforgettable. A great find – enjoy!

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We're 6 friends who were at university together decades ago and our mini- break was to celebrate a special birthday. Riad Lorsya was perfect for us. Abdul was a warm and welcoming host, ably helped by Mustapha. Delicious breakfasts of pancakes, fruit, eggs and coffee were served in the central, 'open - to- the- elements' atrium which also housed a small pool - perfect for refreshing dips after trekking through the souk. Don't be put off by the labyrinthine alleys that lead to this and other riads - after a few days we managed to find our way around. We did have some extra help from Mr Aziz who escorted us one evening to Le Foundouk & MK50, two excellent restaurants and transported our bags in his cart going to and from the airport. All the rooms are lovely and have air conditioning. Don't miss the excellent home-cooked meal provided by the riad on a table strewn with rose petals. Very romantic. We also visited a local Hammams - an experience not to be missed ( but possibly not for the faint hearted). One of the employes from the Riad took us and explained the procedure. This is an exceptional Riad - we'll be back.

Room Tip: Cooler rooms at the bottom, though darker. Upstairs lighter but can be warmer. Lovely rooftop terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went on a couples retreat to Marrakech, and found this Riad through reviews on trip advisor. I was not disappointed - simply wonderful place to stay - very authentic, minutes from the main square and souks, brilliantly friendly staff from the taxi driver, to Aziz who walked us from the taxi, to Abdul to the very nice man who worked nights (can't remember his name!!).

Abdul gave us excellent recommendations for things to do, and I would highly recommend a day trip out to the Atlas mountains. Beautiful scenery and good to get out of the hustle and bustle of the Medina. Take walking shoes!

We stayed in the Mamounia Suite which was lovely! Great features in the room, which was on the ground floor just off the main courtyard. You can hear other things going on in the Riad but it's very peaceful and quiet, you don't need to worry about this. This room was also very cool which I think was unlike other rooms. We barely used the air-con in April when it was actually very warm outside.
We also spent time on the sun terrace one afternoon which was lovely.
My only MINOR criticism is that the room is very open plan and the toilet is tucked behind a little wall. You can see the toilet if you are standing in certain parts of the room, so be comfortable with your travelling partner that there are no hidden toilet noises in this room!! However, this really was not a big issue and the room was stunning in general so DO NOT let this put you off!!

Cannot recommend this enough!

Room Tip: Mamounia Suite is on the ground floor, just off the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prenton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from a fabulous stay at Riad Lorsya. The staff are all incredibly kind and helpful and did all they could to ensure we had a great experience. From organising taxis to booking restaurants and negotiating in the local Hammam for us and Mr Aziz even escorted us to several of the restaurants so that we would not get lost. Breakfasts were all delicious and freshly made, as was the evening meal. I hope to return very soon.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned (May 2015) and couldn't have wished for a better place to stay. The rooms are all individual and very comfortable. While it would be difficult to find the location on one's own the staff will send a taxi and a guide with a hand cart for the luggage. Great breakfasts and the one evening meal we had there (after a long trip to the Atlas Mountains) was lovely Maroccan cuisine.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I just cannot emphasize enough how fascinating and thrilling my experience was at this Riad! The property is hidden in the heart of the old Medina, which made my experience full of Moroccan flavors. The staff were very welcoming and really did all what they could do to make me feel home.

Bottom line, this is where I am going to stay when I visit Marrakech next time.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Lorsya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lorsya

Address: 61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#177 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lorsya 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Lorsya is situated at 2 minutes walk from the Jamaa El Fna square, in the heart of the antiques market souk. It has been renovated with care in the pure Morrocan tradition and retains all the charm of the old Marrakech riads. Our professional team invites you to discover the serenity, the comfortable lifestyle and the quality services offered to you in this wonderful riad. A free dinner is offered for any booking of 4 nights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Lorsya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lorsya Marrakech
Riad Lorsya Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Lorsya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.