We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice riad in a terrible setting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lorsya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Lorsya to your Saves list
Riad Lorsya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“nice riad in a terrible setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The riad is OK but a little basic. The riad location is terrible. It is in the middle of dank smelly small narrow alleyways. Leaving the riad and coming back was a struggle as you need compass. the food on the riad was basic but fine. friendly staff. the shower was faulty as was the toilet cistern.

Room Tip: Try another riad, lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    32
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
73
275
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Riad is placed a short walk from the main square, so position is great.
Decor inside is wonderful, roof terrace is great.
Rooms were clean and comfortable, management were really helpful, organised everything we needed.
I would recommend this to anyone

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

First of all make sure you know about this city before you go, it's not for the faint hearted, scared the life out of me! As far as the Riad is concerned we absolutely loved it, Abdul who runs the place is very nice and very helpful, the food, especially breakfast is great and when you walk through the front door you leave the crazy medina behind and can relax in absolute peace and quiet.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odivelas, Portugal
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had a really good time on this riad. The staff and the manager couldn’t be more friendly and helpful. My husband and I went with our 2,5, year old daughter, so we always have special requests which were promptly attended we had fresh soup every day, wash the thermos, storage the yogurts. We couldn’t ask for a better service! We ate at the riad several days and the food is fabulous! The best we ate in Marrakesh, so don’t miss it. We also strongly advise you to book the transportation from the airport with the riad. It costs 15€ and saves you a lot of work in trying to find the riad in the very streets of the medina.
The wi-fi is not very strong in the rooms but you can use it in common areas. The bathroom is inside the room (no door), but it seems that is very usual in all the riads, anyway, it didn’t influence the quality of our stay.

Room Tip: all rooms are very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed in several hotels on our tour of Morocco, but in Marrakech Riad lorsya was a very nice and cozy place, with nice decoration and friendly service, the staff here really were helpful, they are always good, but here they were excellent. Wether it be helping us to get to the Riad , or giving us advice about sights in Marrakech, or suggesting where we could go for a meal, or booking a trip to Ourika valley with a good price, we found them responsive and helpful.
The rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated, and the internal courtyard of the riadbwas an absolute pleasure to be in.
In general this fabulous Riad is in a centre location perfect for whom visiting Marrakech for the first time and strategically close to the Main Square and the souks.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

After one month travelling around Europe this is our absolute favourite hotel. All we can say, is fantastic!!! We stayed here for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The door to the Riad is very unassuming and easy to miss, but once you go inside it has the most fantastic atmosphere about it. There is a beautiful courtyard where you can sit and enjoy a mint tea or a meal, it is very relaxing. The staff are just fantastic, helpful and speak good english. The breakfast is traditional Moroccan and enjoyable. You should also have a dinner at the Riad at least once as it is just fantastic.
I will highly recommend this luxury Riad to all my friends, and sure we will be back with them.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My brother has booked this Riad for us based on the amazing reviews on tripadvisor, and we found later on that, all the comments are true and guinine. The location is just a few minutes from the souks and the main place jma fna.
Rooms are spacious and very clean, with a very nice bathrooms equipped with hair dryer, towels, shampoo, shower gel and bathrobes.
The staff paid attention to everything and they provide us with tea, coffee, and uncounted numbers of bottles of water daily for free.
Concerning breakfast was always at the top, during this amazing days we had mixed up foods and fruits and I really admired. Service was excellent
Personally, I really thank you for This memorable stay in Marrakech, I can't wait to come back again to this little luxury palace.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Lorsya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lorsya

Address: 61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#35 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#60 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lorsya 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Lorsya is situated at 2 minutes walk from the Jamaa El Fna square, in the heart of the antiques market souk. It has been renovated with care in the pure Morrocan tradition and retains all the charm of the old Marrakech riads. Our professional team invites you to discover the serenity, the comfortable lifestyle and the quality services offered to you in this wonderful riad. A free dinner is offered for any booking of 4 nights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Lorsya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lorsya Marrakech
Riad Lorsya Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Lorsya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.