We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lorsya

Save Saved
You added Riad Lorsya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Lorsya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Abdul, Moustafa and their team are lovely hosts. They offered us a yummy complimentary dinner on our first night, lovely breakfasts every morning, and mint tea at any time of day or night, in our rooms, in the cozy main room, or on the roof terrace. We really felt we were coming "home" at the end of each long, hectic day in Marrakesh. Abdul went above and beyond by going to the bus station outside the Medina to purchase our bus tickets to Essaouira for an early departure the following morning--no other riad proprietor offered to assist us in this manner. Riad Lorsya is also wonderfully appointed: great location in the center of the Old Medina, and the rooms are lavish, spacious, and quiet. The beds were very comfortable, which is rare in Moroccan riads and dars. Even though there were other guests staying at the same time as us, we felt it was our private riad since it was so quiet and spacious. The roof terrace is a great place to relax and escape. I'd definitely stay at Lorsya again if ever back in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    31
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
68
268
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I have just returned from the Riad Lorsya after a trip with my two daughters and we had a great time in Morocco, partly due to the helpfulness of Abdul and the staff at the Riad Lorsya. The Riad has a nice relaxing feel after a busy day out in the city and Abdul makes sure that all the information, bookings and directions you need are at hand. His calm and helpful manner made our days easy to organize and we were able to feel comfortable going out as three women on our own. One night Moustaffa, the night manager, offered to organize someone to take us to the taxis in the square as we were dressed to go up to the new part of the city to an upmarket hotel for dinner. We accepted this offer and tipped the guide for his help although it would have probably been fine to go on our own in retrospect. We were just more dressed up than on usual outings. At all other times we were out and about day and night in the city feeling safe.
We had the ground floor suite which was lovely and traditional and we did not really find it very noisy as most people were not out late and respectful of noise when they came in. This may be different however if you have a child and want to remain in the room more at night when people are coming and going so it might be better to go for one of the upstairs rooms if that is the case. One reservation was that we were three adults and the second bed was a put you up bed more suitable to a child than an adult but my daughter managed okay. However a more suitable sized bed would have been better for her.
We enjoyed the breakfasts and the food was lovely. We had yogurts, fruit, bread and jams, and pancakes of two different traditional types, with fresh orange juice and coffee and tea. We could choose to eat on the ground floor dining area or up on the Terrace rooftop. The Riad was cleaned regularly and we were offered towels whenever we wanted to sunbathe. We ate dinner there on the first night as we had been on an early flight and again, this was well prepared and presented and very tasty.
We ate out twice in the new town but did not go there during the daytime as we preferred the old town and visited the square at night for the local storytelling and other activities. We were not harassed about the monkeys or snakes by the vendors and were left alone most of the time which was reassuring as I have been to other North African countries and found it much worse on going out during the day/night. We shopped in the souks and again bargained for our purchases but were treated with respect and felt comfortable most of the time.
We ate at Comptoir Darna Marrakech one night as it seemed to be one of the highlights in most trip books and found it to be exactly what we expected - more touristy with women, both local and foreign, in more glamourous dresses as well as those casually dressed for the night. It was a nice evening and the food was okay but it did feel that we had stepped into the tourist route. There is a bar on the top floor and people were drinking alcohol as well as eating as diners so I think it works as a bar and restaurant. The atmosphere seemed fun and relaxed.
We arranged a hammam through Abdul but had the choice of several, so the choice was entirely our own. We took a taxi as it was a little way from the Square and I was a bit disappointed at the grubby gowns and slippers but the massage was good and the pedicures were great. It was very busy with tourists so is well known and used. I think the price reflected the area and the facilities - probably should have paid more but It was fun for us as the girls in the family to go together and again, staff were polite and friendly.
We bought dresses from the pop up shop by Norya Ayron which were lovely - more than you would pay in the souks but we liked the syles and material - its worth a visit and you can check it out on Facebook. She has dresses in a variety of fabrics but only stocks a couple of each. The shop is located above Restaurant le Jardin, which is nice place for lunch if you are in the souks. We also had lunch at the Cafe Arabe which is on the top floor of a building in the souk and has nice views. Both restaurants also serve alcohol if you want to purchase drinks with lunch.
So a huge thank you to Abdul, Moustafa and all the staff at the Riad Lorsya. We had a great Marrakech trip and would not hesitate to enjoy their hospitality again.

Room Tip: A room not on the ground floor would be quieter, especially if you have children
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in August in Rose Room. A little tricky to find 1st time we went out, but just our luck the paths around were getting dug up to re-pave the day we went out so we didn't recognize them when we came back. After that it was fine, just pay attention to the turns 1st time you head out ! - re-paving should be done by now. Location was ideal, on edge of the Souk and only 5-10 mins from the main square.

Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and really made it like a home from home, nothing was too much for them. We got them to arrange airport pick-up which we'd recommend as its door to door service, with luggage, which is really important to arrive totally stress-free.

The place was spotless clean, room was nice with AC which was important in August especially. Shower was great. Pool was a bit chilly but if you wanted a quick refresh fine, and would probably get used to it.

There is a roof terrace with loungers and sunshades.

Breakfast was typical Moroccan, good selection of bread/pancakes, yogurt, fruit (and eggs if you asked).

A very pleasant stay, well located and really nothing could fault.

Final tip for an easy stay in Marrakech, watch your pockets and stuff in the main square in the evening especially, had a guy try mine for me - he wasn't slick enough that time but it was the slightest of brush by, so they are good. Also pleading to taxi drivers, just go where you're asked and leave it at that, or people just won't bother with you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were a family of 5 and stayed in this hotel for 6 nights. The staff are very accommodating and trying their best to provide you with comfort. It was a pleasant stay, but somehow staying here during Ramadan time might not be a good idea and 6 nights was very long because there is not a lot to do within the city other than a few spots like the gardens and water spa. The breakfast was great, aside from one morning when we have only 1 piece of bread and a piece of pancake which definitely not enough if you are planning for a long day trip with growing kids.
The last 6 nights we stayed, they tidy our room everyday but the bed sheets had not been changed. A little bit uncomfortable amidst the outer temperature of 50 degrees centigrade. The free dinner they offered us was amazing, one of the best meal we had in the area.
The hotel is in central location, walking distance from the main market area. It is very useful to use the taxi service that the hotel is providing form the airport (5 euros/person) because the Riad location is like a maze and would be impossible to find it on your own. Be prepare with your haggling skills because the locals tend to multiply 1000 more of the price of their goods to the tourist. Have the changed ready, most of the market stalls has no change. Check your restaurant bill all the time, we experience that most of the time there was 5-20 dirhams added to the actual price. The restaurant if confronted with this gives in if you showed to them that you are aware of the price (unfortunately this happens in almost all the restaurant except those restaurant that are more expensive or big hotel restaurant where they provide you with official type written receipt).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is an absolutely charming Riad at the heart of Marrakech with the kindest, service-oriented, knowledgeable, and helpful staff led by Abdou. Delicious and sumptuous breakfasts and dinners are offered in the open court or on the stylishly decorated terrace overlooking the roof tops of the neighborhood. We indulged in this quiet oasis in the busy center of the Medina and found this peaceful sanctuary a place to visit again!

With the highest recommendation to all future guests,

Dieter & Bea

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We were a family of four. The team at the Riad organised pick-up at the airport, greeted us at the edge of the Medina to help with luggage and took care of us the time we were there. The surroundings were peaceful and the view from the roof worth the climb. We had an excellent time in Marrakech and our experience at Riad Lorsya as a major part of that.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

arrived late,met by Riad Lorsya taxi at airport and ferried last part by barrow man taking cases as car free zone-never would have found it without them.Once inside Riad the whole place is so stylish,quiet and tasteful.Room was even better,for romantics.Even though late the staff had prepared a pre arranged meal,which was a great introduction to morrocan cuisine.Abdul,the manager was always checking if he could help us enjoy our stay better,so attentive.He recommended three possible day trips,we took one to the Altas mountains with an organised guide-excellent trip.He also organised a trip to a Hamman(sauna/massage) on our last day.I could not fault our wonderful three day trip-shame it was so short!!
Main tip -organise taxi to collect you from airport- the Medina is very tricky to find your way about,We were just getting the hang of it after two days.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed excellent-use their web site to admire them
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Lorsya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lorsya

Address: 61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#24 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#45 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lorsya 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Lorsya is situated at 2 minutes walk from the Jamaa El Fna square, in the heart of the antiques market souk. It has been renovated with care in the pure Morrocan tradition and retains all the charm of the old Marrakech riads. Our professional team invites you to discover the serenity, the comfortable lifestyle and the quality services offered to you in this wonderful riad. A free dinner is offered for any booking of 4 nights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad Lorsya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lorsya Marrakech
Riad Lorsya Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Lorsya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.