We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'very good customer service'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lorsya

Save Saved
You added Riad Lorsya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Lorsya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Oxford
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“'very good customer service'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were a family of 5 and stayed in this hotel for 6 nights. The staff are very accommodating and trying their best to provide you with comfort. It was a pleasant stay, but somehow staying here during Ramadan time might not be a good idea and 6 nights was very long because there is not a lot to do within the city other than a few spots like the gardens and water spa. The breakfast was great, aside from one morning when we have only 1 piece of bread and a piece of pancake which definitely not enough if you are planning for a long day trip with growing kids.
The last 6 nights we stayed, they tidy our room everyday but the bed sheets had not been changed. A little bit uncomfortable amidst the outer temperature of 50 degrees centigrade. The free dinner they offered us was amazing, one of the best meal we had in the area.
The hotel is in central location, walking distance from the main market area. It is very useful to use the taxi service that the hotel is providing form the airport (5 euros/person) because the Riad location is like a maze and would be impossible to find it on your own. Be prepare with your haggling skills because the locals tend to multiply 1000 more of the price of their goods to the tourist. Have the changed ready, most of the market stalls has no change. Check your restaurant bill all the time, we experience that most of the time there was 5-20 dirhams added to the actual price. The restaurant if confronted with this gives in if you showed to them that you are aware of the price (unfortunately this happens in almost all the restaurant except those restaurant that are more expensive or big hotel restaurant where they provide you with official type written receipt).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    384
    32
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
68
264
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is an absolutely charming Riad at the heart of Marrakech with the kindest, service-oriented, knowledgeable, and helpful staff led by Abdou. Delicious and sumptuous breakfasts and dinners are offered in the open court or on the stylishly decorated terrace overlooking the roof tops of the neighborhood. We indulged in this quiet oasis in the busy center of the Medina and found this peaceful sanctuary a place to visit again!

With the highest recommendation to all future guests,

Dieter & Bea

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We were a family of four. The team at the Riad organised pick-up at the airport, greeted us at the edge of the Medina to help with luggage and took care of us the time we were there. The surroundings were peaceful and the view from the roof worth the climb. We had an excellent time in Marrakech and our experience at Riad Lorsya as a major part of that.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

arrived late,met by Riad Lorsya taxi at airport and ferried last part by barrow man taking cases as car free zone-never would have found it without them.Once inside Riad the whole place is so stylish,quiet and tasteful.Room was even better,for romantics.Even though late the staff had prepared a pre arranged meal,which was a great introduction to morrocan cuisine.Abdul,the manager was always checking if he could help us enjoy our stay better,so attentive.He recommended three possible day trips,we took one to the Altas mountains with an organised guide-excellent trip.He also organised a trip to a Hamman(sauna/massage) on our last day.I could not fault our wonderful three day trip-shame it was so short!!
Main tip -organise taxi to collect you from airport- the Medina is very tricky to find your way about,We were just getting the hang of it after two days.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed excellent-use their web site to admire them
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife for a long weekend and was looking forward to the Riad having read a lot of the reviews.

After walking through a lot of dark alleys on our arrival, we were put at ease once the door to the Riad was opened. Comfortable surroundings and polite staff, tucked away behind the madness of the souks.

Free green tea served in the hotel if you ask Abdul nicely. You could have this in your room, on the terrace, wherever you choose to have a little rest.

Use the staff for their knowledge and listen to their tips, they helped us out a great deal.

My main tip would be to take some small change for your arrival. You'll not find the Riad without the help of someone to carry your luggage a long way in a little wheelbarrow. It sounds crazy, but it's not.

Would definitely stay here again if I was visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zahilo, Manager at Riad Lorsya, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, we hope see you again with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was just the perfect little riad in the Medina and so close to Jemma El-fna and souks. The team at Riad Lorsya were so nice and made us feel at home. Abdul organised a tour for us to visit the Beber village and Atlas mountain. He arranged for airport pickup and drop off as well. We got lost the first day trying to find our own way to the riad after a day out exploring the Medina, but soon found our way back. At night the alley ways are well lit up. The room where we stayed was amazing! Shower is strong pressured and room is cleaned every day. We had breakfast anywhere we liked, on the rooftop, dinning table or even in our room if we liked. Food is also really good, even better than outside in the markets and other restaurants outside. We would not hesitate to stay here again. The team made our stay very memorable...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Our first trip to Marrakech was made memorable thanks to the staff at Riad Lorsya. Abdul, Mustafa and the girls treated us like members of their family, making the 5 night stay for our daughter a highlight of our 5 week holiday. The riad is in a fabulous location, providing serenity and comfort - a contrast to the brilliant craziness that is Marrakech and which confronts you when you reach the square or the souks. The food was fabulous - every meal was a feast, our room felt like Aladdin's Cave with its jewelled colours and authentic style and the staff were extremely helpful in helping us organise whatever we wanted to do. The walk to the riad is a little disconcerting the first time but it doesn't take long to get your bearings and realise that you are perfectly safe. We would NEVER choose a western-style hotel over an experience like the one we had at Riad Lorsya. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We had one of the rooms on the first level and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Lorsya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lorsya

Address: 61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#49 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lorsya 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Lorsya is situated at 2 minutes walk from the Jamaa El Fna square, in the heart of the antiques market souk. It has been renovated with care in the pure Morrocan tradition and retains all the charm of the old Marrakech riads. Our professional team invites you to discover the serenity, the comfortable lifestyle and the quality services offered to you in this wonderful riad. A free dinner is offered for any booking of 4 nights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Lorsya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lorsya Marrakech
Riad Lorsya Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Lorsya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.