We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Riad in Central Marrakech (Medina)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lorsya

Save Saved
You added Riad Lorsya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Lorsya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Charming Riad in Central Marrakech (Medina)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Riad Lorsya this month on our first trip to Morocco. We were warmly welcomed by the staff when we arrived at this charming oasis very close to the chaos of the central plaza (Jemaa El Fna). Abdul and Mohammed were so helpful with making recommendations, providing us directions in a complicated maze of streets and scheduling a tour to the desert. Each day they welcomed us with tea, water and anything else we requested. 5 Stars for service of this level!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    384
    31
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
68
265
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Really close to the main square, but very quiet and tucked away - take your ball of wool to find your way back! Was a little apprehensive at first as the streets leading to the Riad are not great and it makes you wonder where you're going to end up when you're taken to the door at the end of a dark alley. Once the door is opened though its a different story and the welcome from Abdul and Mustafa and the ladies that do the cooking is second to none. We stayed in The Mamounia suite - wasn't all that impressed with the location of the room as it was on the ground floor and when you opened the rather ill fitting doors you walked straight out on to everybody eating their breakfast, plus you were right next to the kitchen so it was quite noisy in the morning. Nice little roof terrace for resting weary legs and enjoying mint tea in the afternoon! can't praise Abdul and Mustafa enough - they are a real asset to this place and really helpful - nothing too much trouble, they even came out to one of the stalls to show us where to buy something!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our stay at Riad Lorsya was excellent and in a great location - only a few minutes walk for the Jemaa-el-fna. The service was very personalised right from our arrival. Our whole stay was a pleasure, made possible by the helpfulness of the staff. Abdul was brilliant, he organised trips for us, nothing was too much trouble. It is well worth trying the food at the Riad as we ate there and it was was just lovely. We thought they served a very good breakfast, from eggs through to pancakes to fruit. There was endless supplies of tea and coffee brought to your room or wherever you wanted it. We would recommend breakfast on the roof terrace and a cup of tea in the afternoon watching the sun go down. The room was very comfortable and was cleaned and tided each day. Mustafa and Ilias were also very helpful and friendly too.
The only slight inconvenience we had, was that whilst the lighting in the room gave a lovely ambiance, it did make it difficult for reading or even looking in the wardrobe for clothes. Abdul had said to us on our arrival that they wanted us to feel like the Riad was home from home and he was right - it was! We would definitely recommend Riad Lorsya to our friends, without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Overall we really enjoyed our stay in the Riad. Centrally located which means you are in the middle of the maze of alleyways. This obviously creates its own challenges - the first day we struggled to find our way home, but there are always helpful locals to take you back for a fee.

The room was beautiful and authentic looking, very atmospheric which we were looking for however, I would recommend taking a torch because the lights are very muted and its hard to see in cupboards and wardrobes.

The pool isn't really big enough to swim in but am sure it's refreshing to have a dip in the summer heat.

The staff were super helpful, booked restaurants. They recommended places to eat but they were very touristy and expensive and the hammam they recommended again wasn't a traditional one. We very much paid a premium for it.

I was also disappointed by the trip they arranged. This was into the mountains, we were given a price for the driver for the day which we thought reasonable. What they didn't say was that we would need to separately pay the tour guide to take us up the mountain, and would be taken to several tourist stops where we were expected to buy their wares. They also didn't mention that sensible shoes were a 'must'. We had been under the impression that we were driving into the mountains however the road does run out and you have a rather hair raising scramble up the slippery rocks to see the views so the sandals and trainers we had, were at from ideal.

The only other thing that would have improved our trip is if they could have changed some of our larger notes for tipping. We struggled to break out cash out so regularly had to tip heavily because we had no change

Other than that, a really hospitable, well maintained and well located Riad....the less well oriented may be well advised to leave a trail of breadcrumbs the first time they venture out!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ealing, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

One of the best hotels I've ever stayed! I would not hesitate to recommend it to others! Abdul and Mustafa were fantastic! Their hospitality throughout the stay was second to none. That is the benefit of staying at a smaller hotel, feels more like home.

Room Tip: I'd highly recommend to go for a suite, you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed here with my cousin in September 2010 and I can't say anything bad about this Riad! The staff are overly friendly ESPECIALLY Abdul and Mustafa. We stayed in the Sherazade suite for most of the time and then moved into a second room because someone else requested that room on that date- so the staff moved all of our luggage for us when we were out and about, no problem!

The breakfast was great every morning, and the free dinner was also amazing!

You always felt welcomed and at home- you get to know everyone staying at the Riad so it’s almost like your own little vacation home because everyone is so nice.
They were very accommodating and very thoughtful- they knew I liked the mint tea so they would always have it ready for me when I was there and they would go out to the market to get my cousin coke light because they didn't have it on the premises (without asking!)

My cousin and I moved Riads the last day because Riad Lorsya was already booked for that day (they also moved all of our stuff to the other Riad as well)
We did not like it at all! I wish I remembered the name of it but it was nothing like Riad Lorsya.

I can’t wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was a amazing place, really welcoming staff and it had great decor great tagines great everything wish i could go back now. Morocco is a wonderful country and this is a excellent choice to stay if you visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Lorsya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lorsya

Address: 61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lorsya 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Lorsya is situated at 2 minutes walk from the Jamaa El Fna square, in the heart of the antiques market souk. It has been renovated with care in the pure Morrocan tradition and retains all the charm of the old Marrakech riads. Our professional team invites you to discover the serenity, the comfortable lifestyle and the quality services offered to you in this wonderful riad. A free dinner is offered for any booking of 4 nights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Lorsya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lorsya Marrakech
Riad Lorsya Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Lorsya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.