We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lorsya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Lorsya to your Saves list
Riad Lorsya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #373 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was a amazing place, really welcoming staff and it had great decor great tagines great everything wish i could go back now. Morocco is a wonderful country and this is a excellent choice to stay if you visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    38
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
248
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Thank you to Abdula, Mustafa and all the staff at the Riad Lorsya - we had an amazing Holiday. This was our first trip and we loved the place, people, weather,food everything about our trip exceeded our expectations.

A special thank you to all at the Lorsya for looking after me and my dietary requests. We stayed in the Samsara Suite which was great - lovely hot shower, relaxing the whole experience felt like a home from home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Right in the heat of the souks lies the most welcoming retreat you could hope to stay in. Our host, Abdul, could not do enough for us. We stayed in Suite Samsara which really was amazing. Great decor. We had the tagine avec legumes on the first night and tucked into the hearty, fresh breakfast. Got well lost on the first evening as it really is tucked away!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
137 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights, it's a good Riad, nice decoration, good condition and near the central square. The service is excellent, very friendly and always available to help.
There are a few negatives tho, the room isn't cleaned that often, it had some dust and hairs that were not cleaned, the sheets on the bed are quite old and should be replaced.
They suggested a day trip to the Atlas which was ok enough but nothing special and other people bought the same trip on the streets for almost half the price.
Finally, the there is a problem with the location, you have to go through a maze of tight alleys until you reach the Riad, even after 2 days staying there i still had some doubts about the right path.
Note: there is no TV in the rooms or the Riad, this was ok for us tho.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Riad Lorsya is quite a little gem tucked away as it is in the alleyways of the Medina. It is ideally positioned for getting to the souks and the main square and all they have to offer. Similarly, it is an easy walk to many of the local sites of interest and a number of restaurants. Most importantly, you feel safe when you walk back down the alleyways to the Riad in the dead of night.

The staff are what make Riad Lorsya what it is. They are very friendly and will do anything to make your stay comfortable, hassle free, interesting and enjoyable. In essence, nothing is too much trouble, they will even escort you to various venues so that you do not get lost etc. A great crew and the owners should be very proud of their greatest asset - the staff.

As for the Riad, "shabby chic" is the kindest way to describe it, but regardless, it is a great experience. The breakfast is very good for this part of the world and the optional dinner is really very good value and better than most of the local restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Went in Jan 2012, stunning Riad best by far in Marrakech, staff couldn't do enough for you so helpful super friendly.

Book a suite the normal rooms nice but the suites gorgeous, wouldn't stay anywhere else in Marrakech thats for sure

One tip though if going to the Souks don't tell the stall holders that you stay at the Lorsya when they ask where you are staying as the price rockets

Room Tip: All rooms amazing but suites extra special
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and were incredibly impressed. The Riad is well located about 5 mins walk from the main square. I would definitely recommend organising a transfer with the Riad as it is not accessible by car. They will organise a car to collect you form the airport and bring you to a point 5 min walk from the Riad. A porter will meet you to carry your luggage. It is a bit daunting the first time you do this walk but you very soon remember the main routes.

From the minute you arrive the service is excellent. Mustafa and Abdul looked after us incredibly well. Nothing was too much trouble and they organised everything we needed. The complimentary dinner on the first night was absolutely delicious! It was my birthday when we were there and Abdul helped my wife organise a delicious surprise cake. Special mention must be made of the breakfasts! They are fantastic and will tide you over until at least mid afternoon! The ladies who do the cooking are really friendly and do a great job, making the breakfasts a little different each day for variety. They will also provide a cooking lesson for a modest charge.

In terms of accommodation the Riad is comfortable. Our suite was quite dark but from experience this is not unusual for Riads. The facilities in the room are good though you need to accept that it is a Riad and not what you'd get in a 4 star European hotel.There was an AC unit in the room that does an effective job of providing heating when needed.

In summary I would totally recommend this Riad for the great service, delicious food and wonderful service! A big thank you to Abdul and the team!

Room Tip: I did not see the regular rooms but I think they may have more light than the suites. I would avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#61 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#173 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#104 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#25 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 398 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad 58 Blu
Riad 58 Blu
#63 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palais Sebban
Palais Sebban
#144 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Lorsya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lorsya

Address: 61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#186 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lorsya 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Lorsya is situated at 2 minutes walk from the Jamaa El Fna square, in the heart of the antiques market souk. It has been renovated with care in the pure Morrocan tradition and retains all the charm of the old Marrakech riads. Our professional team invites you to discover the serenity, the comfortable lifestyle and the quality services offered to you in this wonderful riad. A free dinner is offered for any booking of 4 nights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad Lorsya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lorsya Marrakech
Riad Lorsya Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Lorsya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.