We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lorsya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Lorsya to your Saves list
Riad Lorsya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #368 of 477 Hotels in Marrakech
Croydon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Lovely riad very close to the medina and easy to find once shown the way! The biggest plus point is the staff - very welcoming and could not do enough for us. Nothing was too much trouble. The only slight negative was that our beautiful suite was a little too dark for us - we were glad of the torch we brought with us to find our way round the wardrobe/safe! That said, there were plenty of public places to sit outside.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely - but the suites are the darkest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    38
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
248
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We really found again riad Lorsya a magical home to stay with our friends in the heart of Marrakech medina, it is a beautiful riad, brilliantly decorated, spacious and cozy, with a great view from the rooftop terrace.
On our arrival we were very impressed by the warm welcome, and the excellent service, the staff were professional, helpful and friendly, nothing it's too much trouble, information about restaurants hammam and excursions, breakfast and dinner on terrace.
Furthermore, with its ideal location at the medina, we were able to visit all the historical sites, gardens and the souks.
It was our second time staying with our friends at Lorsya, we loved everything about it, and certainly we will be back and recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Samsara suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Riad Lorsya was an excellent place to stay in the heart of the souks. Abdul was a great host, doing everything possible to make our visit comfortable. He made arrangements for our day tour of Ourika, one on the highlights of our trip, with another Abdul, who had the most warm and inviting personality, despite our language difficulties. Abdul personally walked us to different destinations, made a trip to the supermarket to pick up supplies for us, and made great recommendations to insure that we had a great time.

Mustafa was also a pleasure to meeet. He was so helpful and made us feel that we were in the home of friends. The Riad was both beautiful and soothing. You wouldn't have to leave the riad to feel that you were truly experiencing a wonderful part of the scenes and people of Marrakesh. Great place to stay.

David and Susan, Charleston, SC, USA

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Well what can I say about the Riad Lorsya in Marrakech - we have just got back from a brilliant long weekend break where we celebrated our first wedding anniversary and it was simply perfect. The Riad is traditionally Moroccan in design with 2 floors plus a roof terrace and an open internal garden. Our room was the Sherazade suite, which was a split level suite with living room and bathroom on the bottom level and bedroom on a mezzanine floor above. The room was cool to prevent the heat getting in too much and was decorated in lovely colourful silks with local furniture and paintings etc. The location was ideal for a stay in the heart of the Medina and we walked everywhere we wanted to go in the city. We also booked a day trip to the Atlas mountain villages and this was a nice alternative to the hustle and bustle of the city (as was the great spa experience at Les Bains de Morocco).
There was a stand out characteristic of the Riad also - his name is Abdul, who was the daytime concierge I guess you might describe him as. Mustapha was the night time concierge and was also fantastic (including taking us and our bags to the taxi transfer for our return flight when the external porter was late) but I have to say a massive thank you in particular to Abdul who personified all that there is about great traditional hospitality and customer service. Nothing was too much trouble and he patiently explained and highlighted us some of the hotspots on the map, he recommended and booked all of our trips, restaurants, spas, etc. for us, carried an extra table up to the roof terrace so that we could have our breakfast there and he even took us personally to a local market trader to buy spices so that we didn't face the prospect of getting ripped off at tourist rates in the Souks.
Thank you to all at the Riad Lorsya as you ALL helped to make our trip so special and memorable.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite called the Sherazade Suite - a very good option here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

2 girls in late twenties travelling end of September for 4 nights....

If like us two, your into clean and comfortable with a sprinkle of afforable luxury, right next to the mayhem but far enough to relax and enjoy some down time... then this is the Riad for you - we stayed in the Pearle D'Orient room and it was beautifully decorated - comfy bed, check - gorgeous soft furnishings, check - good wardrobe space with a safe, check - amazing traditionally decorated shower and bathroom, check check check !!

The rest of the rooms (as we had a good nosy round!!) - are all gorgeous too - including the dining area and roof top terrace - which on a sunny day is really nice to relax on (dont be alarmed by the prayer calls though!! you'l see what we mean when you arrive)

Zahidi, Mustapher and Abdul and the ladies who make breakfast and clean the rooms are ALL wonderful hosts - nothing is too much for them, they welcome you so happily and smilley after every outing and will organise anything your interested in - mountain climbs/local knowledge/dinner/spa treatments/religion/mint tea/directions/how much things should cost - literally anything!!!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this Riad to anyone looking for a good location within the Medina and afforable luxury - in fact you'd be crazy NOT to book this Riad.

(Special thanks to Abdul - he is a true gentleman !)

Gemma and Lauren from Liverpool

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Three of us travelled together. Great location, our rooms were beautiful, the staff were helpful and friendly, and the chicken with preserved lemon + olives was the best dish I ate during the whole vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The riad is beautiful. Each room is decorated differently and a lot of thought has gone in to this. We stayed at Lorsya for a few days when we first arrived in Marrakech and then again at the end of our visit to Morocco. We found the Sheradze suite quite dark, even with lights on during the day, but other rooms ( we stayed in both suites and one room) were brighter.

All the staff were friendly and helpful, especially in helping us adjust to our new surroundings and navigate our way round the medina and further afield. We were given business cards with the contact numbers on and we knew we could ring for help at any time - and in fact we did need to for one altercation with a group of taxi drivers- and this was no problem and we really appreciated this help. Our meal in the riad was fantastic, one of our favourite of the whole trip.

A couple of suggestions - to improve (if possible) the wifi connection. We wanted to use the internet to help plan our days while there, but the signal strength varied a lot.
Another is to provide bottle of water in the room. I know we were given a bottle when we asked, but it's nice to not always have to ask, especially when it is so hot.


We didn't have a key for the front door and I wonder how this would change the experience for guests. I can see both positives and negatives to changing this. Some times the door was unlocked and we could enter without ringing, other times (particularly at night) it was locked but always answered quickly. With this system, we felt very looked after, as there was always someone there to welcome us back, ask how we are and if we needed anything. But some times, after the hustle and bustle of Marrakech, we sometimes missed the anonymity of a larger hotel where we could come and go unnoticed.

A fantastic place, great location and very helpful staff. Would stay there again for another visit to Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Lorsya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lorsya

Address: 61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#182 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lorsya 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Lorsya is situated at 2 minutes walk from the Jamaa El Fna square, in the heart of the antiques market souk. It has been renovated with care in the pure Morrocan tradition and retains all the charm of the old Marrakech riads. Our professional team invites you to discover the serenity, the comfortable lifestyle and the quality services offered to you in this wonderful riad. A free dinner is offered for any booking of 4 nights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Lorsya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lorsya Marrakech
Riad Lorsya Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Lorsya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.