We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic & beautiful Riad but the service was truly exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lorsya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Lorsya to your Saves list
Riad Lorsya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #333 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Authentic & beautiful Riad but the service was truly exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Well what can I say about the Riad Lorsya in Marrakech - we have just got back from a brilliant long weekend break where we celebrated our first wedding anniversary and it was simply perfect. The Riad is traditionally Moroccan in design with 2 floors plus a roof terrace and an open internal garden. Our room was the Sherazade suite, which was a split level suite with living room and bathroom on the bottom level and bedroom on a mezzanine floor above. The room was cool to prevent the heat getting in too much and was decorated in lovely colourful silks with local furniture and paintings etc. The location was ideal for a stay in the heart of the Medina and we walked everywhere we wanted to go in the city. We also booked a day trip to the Atlas mountain villages and this was a nice alternative to the hustle and bustle of the city (as was the great spa experience at Les Bains de Morocco).
There was a stand out characteristic of the Riad also - his name is Abdul, who was the daytime concierge I guess you might describe him as. Mustapha was the night time concierge and was also fantastic (including taking us and our bags to the taxi transfer for our return flight when the external porter was late) but I have to say a massive thank you in particular to Abdul who personified all that there is about great traditional hospitality and customer service. Nothing was too much trouble and he patiently explained and highlighted us some of the hotspots on the map, he recommended and booked all of our trips, restaurants, spas, etc. for us, carried an extra table up to the roof terrace so that we could have our breakfast there and he even took us personally to a local market trader to buy spices so that we didn't face the prospect of getting ripped off at tourist rates in the Souks.
Thank you to all at the Riad Lorsya as you ALL helped to make our trip so special and memorable.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite called the Sherazade Suite - a very good option here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garforth3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

2 girls in late twenties travelling end of September for 4 nights....

If like us two, your into clean and comfortable with a sprinkle of afforable luxury, right next to the mayhem but far enough to relax and enjoy some down time... then this is the Riad for you - we stayed in the Pearle D'Orient room and it was beautifully decorated - comfy bed, check - gorgeous soft furnishings, check - good wardrobe space with a safe, check - amazing traditionally decorated shower and bathroom, check check check !!

The rest of the rooms (as we had a good nosy round!!) - are all gorgeous too - including the dining area and roof top terrace - which on a sunny day is really nice to relax on (dont be alarmed by the prayer calls though!! you'l see what we mean when you arrive)

Zahidi, Mustapher and Abdul and the ladies who make breakfast and clean the rooms are ALL wonderful hosts - nothing is too much for them, they welcome you so happily and smilley after every outing and will organise anything your interested in - mountain climbs/local knowledge/dinner/spa treatments/religion/mint tea/directions/how much things should cost - literally anything!!!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this Riad to anyone looking for a good location within the Medina and afforable luxury - in fact you'd be crazy NOT to book this Riad.

(Special thanks to Abdul - he is a true gentleman !)

Gemma and Lauren from Liverpool

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank g_mchale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Three of us travelled together. Great location, our rooms were beautiful, the staff were helpful and friendly, and the chicken with preserved lemon + olives was the best dish I ate during the whole vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The riad is beautiful. Each room is decorated differently and a lot of thought has gone in to this. We stayed at Lorsya for a few days when we first arrived in Marrakech and then again at the end of our visit to Morocco. We found the Sheradze suite quite dark, even with lights on during the day, but other rooms ( we stayed in both suites and one room) were brighter.

All the staff were friendly and helpful, especially in helping us adjust to our new surroundings and navigate our way round the medina and further afield. We were given business cards with the contact numbers on and we knew we could ring for help at any time - and in fact we did need to for one altercation with a group of taxi drivers- and this was no problem and we really appreciated this help. Our meal in the riad was fantastic, one of our favourite of the whole trip.

A couple of suggestions - to improve (if possible) the wifi connection. We wanted to use the internet to help plan our days while there, but the signal strength varied a lot.
Another is to provide bottle of water in the room. I know we were given a bottle when we asked, but it's nice to not always have to ask, especially when it is so hot.


We didn't have a key for the front door and I wonder how this would change the experience for guests. I can see both positives and negatives to changing this. Some times the door was unlocked and we could enter without ringing, other times (particularly at night) it was locked but always answered quickly. With this system, we felt very looked after, as there was always someone there to welcome us back, ask how we are and if we needed anything. But some times, after the hustle and bustle of Marrakech, we sometimes missed the anonymity of a larger hotel where we could come and go unnoticed.

A fantastic place, great location and very helpful staff. Would stay there again for another visit to Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baileybops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My partner and I have just recently come back from a 7 night stay at the Riad Lorysa. The Riad is beautiful and is located perfectly to see the main highlights in Marrakech and it is just a 5 minute walk from the main square, Djemaa el Fna. The staff were incredibly friendly and made us feel very welcome throughout our stay. Special thanks go out to Abdul and Mustapha who supplied us with copious amounts of mint tea and coffee while we were there. They were also an enormous help by offering us maps, directions and general advice. They also kindly booked all of our excursions and treatments during our stay. I would highly recommend that you book any trips/spa treatments once you get to Marrakech. The Riad itself is spacious and the photos on here really don't do it justice. Our room was lavishly decorated and the roof terrace is the perfect place to relax in the evening.

Truly a home away from home, if you are looking for a place to stay in Marrakech you would be mad not to pick this one!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatLikes2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Beautiful riad with a perfect location five minutes' walk from the Jemaa El Fna. Staff are extremely accommodating and could not have been nicer. Abdou sat with us over mint tea to explain how to get around, what the best places to visit are and how to get there, and helpful tips. All of the staff were always happy to help with all kinds of things, including walking us to the nearby public hammam. Rooms are even nicer than they appear on tripadvisor photos. Breakfast was always good & we particularly liked the Morroccan and French crepes. You will almost certainly get lost in the medina, but that's part of the experience. Note the riad service to take you from the airport is on the pricey side, but if you have a lot of luggage, it's good because a cab will have to drop you off outside the medina, whereas the riad service has someone cart your bags the last part of the way from the medina entrance to the riad. We were there in early July 2012.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jemMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My girlfriend took me here for a surprise birthday present and it was amazing!

The riad is beautiful, the staff are great, and you're slap bang in the centre of where you need to be. The square is less than 5 mins away (though my map reading skills let me down on the way back from the square on our first day. Took me an hour! I got us back eventually though, and I challenge anyone not to take at least one wrong turn in the medina maze.....anyway, getting lost is part of the fun!) and decent bars, like Cafe Arabe, are even closer.

Something you absolutely must do is eat at one of the street food vendors in the square (they start about 7ish). We recommend stall no 14. It's always packed with locals (a good sign) and serves fresh fish. We ate and drank our fill here for just D60 - about £4.50. No tummy problems to report either....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
4.0 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#163 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#7 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#110 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#67 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Lorsya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lorsya

Address: 61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#168 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lorsya 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Lorsya is situated at 2 minutes walk from the Jamaa El Fna square, in the heart of the antiques market souk. It has been renovated with care in the pure Morrocan tradition and retains all the charm of the old Marrakech riads. Our professional team invites you to discover the serenity, the comfortable lifestyle and the quality services offered to you in this wonderful riad. A free dinner is offered for any booking of 4 nights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Lorsya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lorsya Marrakech
Riad Lorsya Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing