We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrific service, rooms and excellent dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lorsya

Save Saved
You added Riad Lorsya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Lorsya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“terrific service, rooms and excellent dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Three of us travelled together. Great location, our rooms were beautiful, the staff were helpful and friendly, and the chicken with preserved lemon + olives was the best dish I ate during the whole vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    385
    32
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
68
265
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The riad is beautiful. Each room is decorated differently and a lot of thought has gone in to this. We stayed at Lorsya for a few days when we first arrived in Marrakech and then again at the end of our visit to Morocco. We found the Sheradze suite quite dark, even with lights on during the day, but other rooms ( we stayed in both suites and one room) were brighter.

All the staff were friendly and helpful, especially in helping us adjust to our new surroundings and navigate our way round the medina and further afield. We were given business cards with the contact numbers on and we knew we could ring for help at any time - and in fact we did need to for one altercation with a group of taxi drivers- and this was no problem and we really appreciated this help. Our meal in the riad was fantastic, one of our favourite of the whole trip.

A couple of suggestions - to improve (if possible) the wifi connection. We wanted to use the internet to help plan our days while there, but the signal strength varied a lot.
Another is to provide bottle of water in the room. I know we were given a bottle when we asked, but it's nice to not always have to ask, especially when it is so hot.


We didn't have a key for the front door and I wonder how this would change the experience for guests. I can see both positives and negatives to changing this. Some times the door was unlocked and we could enter without ringing, other times (particularly at night) it was locked but always answered quickly. With this system, we felt very looked after, as there was always someone there to welcome us back, ask how we are and if we needed anything. But some times, after the hustle and bustle of Marrakech, we sometimes missed the anonymity of a larger hotel where we could come and go unnoticed.

A fantastic place, great location and very helpful staff. Would stay there again for another visit to Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My partner and I have just recently come back from a 7 night stay at the Riad Lorysa. The Riad is beautiful and is located perfectly to see the main highlights in Marrakech and it is just a 5 minute walk from the main square, Djemaa el Fna. The staff were incredibly friendly and made us feel very welcome throughout our stay. Special thanks go out to Abdul and Mustapha who supplied us with copious amounts of mint tea and coffee while we were there. They were also an enormous help by offering us maps, directions and general advice. They also kindly booked all of our excursions and treatments during our stay. I would highly recommend that you book any trips/spa treatments once you get to Marrakech. The Riad itself is spacious and the photos on here really don't do it justice. Our room was lavishly decorated and the roof terrace is the perfect place to relax in the evening.

Truly a home away from home, if you are looking for a place to stay in Marrakech you would be mad not to pick this one!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Beautiful riad with a perfect location five minutes' walk from the Jemaa El Fna. Staff are extremely accommodating and could not have been nicer. Abdou sat with us over mint tea to explain how to get around, what the best places to visit are and how to get there, and helpful tips. All of the staff were always happy to help with all kinds of things, including walking us to the nearby public hammam. Rooms are even nicer than they appear on tripadvisor photos. Breakfast was always good & we particularly liked the Morroccan and French crepes. You will almost certainly get lost in the medina, but that's part of the experience. Note the riad service to take you from the airport is on the pricey side, but if you have a lot of luggage, it's good because a cab will have to drop you off outside the medina, whereas the riad service has someone cart your bags the last part of the way from the medina entrance to the riad. We were there in early July 2012.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My girlfriend took me here for a surprise birthday present and it was amazing!

The riad is beautiful, the staff are great, and you're slap bang in the centre of where you need to be. The square is less than 5 mins away (though my map reading skills let me down on the way back from the square on our first day. Took me an hour! I got us back eventually though, and I challenge anyone not to take at least one wrong turn in the medina maze.....anyway, getting lost is part of the fun!) and decent bars, like Cafe Arabe, are even closer.

Something you absolutely must do is eat at one of the street food vendors in the square (they start about 7ish). We recommend stall no 14. It's always packed with locals (a good sign) and serves fresh fish. We ate and drank our fill here for just D60 - about £4.50. No tummy problems to report either....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This Riad exceeded our expectations from the first moment. Email communication beforehand was professional and very helpful. Our airport transfer (€15) was waiting for us and the porter wheeled the bags in a trolley (note: aim to have small notes/coins from the airport otherwise you'll end up tipping 100 Dirhams / €9 like we had to!). The Riad is in a very quiet alley, 5 mins from the main square and easy to find once you've learned the way. Abdul and Mustafa looked after everything 24/7 for our whole stay. Nothing was too much trouble, and I would recommend letting them book all your trips, restaurants, massages, etc as we couldn't spot any price increases. Our room was two levels with a lovely rain shower and comfy four poster bed. The room had aircon, too. Mint tea, orange juice, bottled water, etc were all on offer at no extra charge. Wifi was free and consistent. Breakfast was fresh (bread, fruit, yoghurt, pancake) and dinner was very tasty (homemade dips, lemon chicken tagine, orange with cinnamon). They were even happy to serve us at 6.30 am and 10.00 pm to fit around our tour. We had an amazing time in Marrakech and this Riad, its location and even more so, it's people, was a big part of that. Highly recommend!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed at Ryad Lorsya last month for 4 nights. We had a really lovely time: our room was clean and full furnished even if it wasn't one of the 2 suites. The ryad is strategically located in the middle of the medina, and the staff is absolutely helpful if you lost your way back.
We had the first night dinner offered at the ryad and the food was really good, much better than in a lot of restaurants recommented by the Lonley Planet. If I ever get the chance to go back to Marrakech I'll stay at the Ryad Lorsya again!

Room Tip: Perle D'orient Room is the smallest but the brighter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Lorsya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lorsya

Address: 61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lorsya 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Lorsya is situated at 2 minutes walk from the Jamaa El Fna square, in the heart of the antiques market souk. It has been renovated with care in the pure Morrocan tradition and retains all the charm of the old Marrakech riads. Our professional team invites you to discover the serenity, the comfortable lifestyle and the quality services offered to you in this wonderful riad. A free dinner is offered for any booking of 4 nights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Lorsya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lorsya Marrakech
Riad Lorsya Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Lorsya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.