We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely riad in the heart of the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lorsya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Lorsya to your Saves list
Riad Lorsya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely riad in the heart of the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Beautiful riad with a perfect location five minutes' walk from the Jemaa El Fna. Staff are extremely accommodating and could not have been nicer. Abdou sat with us over mint tea to explain how to get around, what the best places to visit are and how to get there, and helpful tips. All of the staff were always happy to help with all kinds of things, including walking us to the nearby public hammam. Rooms are even nicer than they appear on tripadvisor photos. Breakfast was always good & we particularly liked the Morroccan and French crepes. You will almost certainly get lost in the medina, but that's part of the experience. Note the riad service to take you from the airport is on the pricey side, but if you have a lot of luggage, it's good because a cab will have to drop you off outside the medina, whereas the riad service has someone cart your bags the last part of the way from the medina entrance to the riad. We were there in early July 2012.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    32
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
72
275
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My girlfriend took me here for a surprise birthday present and it was amazing!

The riad is beautiful, the staff are great, and you're slap bang in the centre of where you need to be. The square is less than 5 mins away (though my map reading skills let me down on the way back from the square on our first day. Took me an hour! I got us back eventually though, and I challenge anyone not to take at least one wrong turn in the medina maze.....anyway, getting lost is part of the fun!) and decent bars, like Cafe Arabe, are even closer.

Something you absolutely must do is eat at one of the street food vendors in the square (they start about 7ish). We recommend stall no 14. It's always packed with locals (a good sign) and serves fresh fish. We ate and drank our fill here for just D60 - about £4.50. No tummy problems to report either....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This Riad exceeded our expectations from the first moment. Email communication beforehand was professional and very helpful. Our airport transfer (€15) was waiting for us and the porter wheeled the bags in a trolley (note: aim to have small notes/coins from the airport otherwise you'll end up tipping 100 Dirhams / €9 like we had to!). The Riad is in a very quiet alley, 5 mins from the main square and easy to find once you've learned the way. Abdul and Mustafa looked after everything 24/7 for our whole stay. Nothing was too much trouble, and I would recommend letting them book all your trips, restaurants, massages, etc as we couldn't spot any price increases. Our room was two levels with a lovely rain shower and comfy four poster bed. The room had aircon, too. Mint tea, orange juice, bottled water, etc were all on offer at no extra charge. Wifi was free and consistent. Breakfast was fresh (bread, fruit, yoghurt, pancake) and dinner was very tasty (homemade dips, lemon chicken tagine, orange with cinnamon). They were even happy to serve us at 6.30 am and 10.00 pm to fit around our tour. We had an amazing time in Marrakech and this Riad, its location and even more so, it's people, was a big part of that. Highly recommend!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed at Ryad Lorsya last month for 4 nights. We had a really lovely time: our room was clean and full furnished even if it wasn't one of the 2 suites. The ryad is strategically located in the middle of the medina, and the staff is absolutely helpful if you lost your way back.
We had the first night dinner offered at the ryad and the food was really good, much better than in a lot of restaurants recommented by the Lonley Planet. If I ever get the chance to go back to Marrakech I'll stay at the Ryad Lorsya again!

Room Tip: Perle D'orient Room is the smallest but the brighter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torre delle Stelle, Italy
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in marrakech. At our arrival they organized trhe transfer from airport for 15 eur and the first night the dinner was offered. The staff is very friendly and they organized for you everything you want froma trip to hamam to dinner in the city. The rooms are beautiful, we choose the "pearl d'orient" and it was very clean and every day set up. If you want to relax on the terrace they offers to you a mint tea for free every time you want. I dont know what to say: only thank you!! We felt at home!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford Green, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We have recently returned from a trip to Marrakech to celebrate our engagement which my new fiance booked as a surprise for me. Not only did we love Marrakech, we both loved staying at Riad Lorsya. We recieved such a lovely welcome to "our home is your home" by Mustapha who offered us some delicious Mint tea on arrival (something we drank plenty of during our stay). Abdul spent some time with us explaining key areas on a map and arranging our tour of the Atlas Mountains the next day. Both Mustapha and Abdul were the most wonderfully attentive, without being intrusive, managers who made our stay very pleasant and relaxing. The Riad itself is stunning and so peaceful despite being so close to the main square. We stayed in the Sherazade suite and I have to say one of my favourite places I have stayed in a long while. Very clean, comfortable, authentic and like the rest of the Riad peaceful, relaxing and gorgeous! We decided to eat at the Riad on our first night as we knew it would be the end of a long day of travelling and exploring the city. The meal was delicious and very filling as were the continental style breakfasts each morning. It was wonderful to have the flexibility to have our meals or mint teas/coffees wherever suited us, be it on the suntrap roof terrace, the courtyard or one of the lounge areas.

Without a shadow of a doubt should we visit Marrakech again we will most definately be staying at Riad Lorsya and we will be (and already have) recommending this jewel in the Medina to all our friends and family.

Our thanks are extended to Abdul, Mustapha and the other staff at the Riad.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

This Riad was beautifully furnished and the service was exemplary. The two managers Ahmed (day time) and Mustafa (night time) were so welcoming and kind and served us generously and always with a smile. We were greeted with some mint tea when we arrived and had our bags taken up to our room. The breakfast was lovely and Ahmed showed us the way to the main square in the town. He also gave us some useful tips on how much to pay for things in the souks... definitely worth asking! When we got back from our camel-trekking we realised we had failed to get some bus tickets to go to Essaouira. Ahmed went and got some first thing the following morning for us and managed to get the last two on the 10.30am bus which was so kind of him and well beyond the call of duty. The decoration of the riad was beautiful, although our room was a little dim on the lighting front (I think that's quite common though). We also stayed one night in their sister Riad just around the corner which was equally lovely. I'd definitely recommend these guys.

Room Tip: Probably ask for one of the rooms over reception as they're a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorsya, Manager at Riad Lorsya, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Many thanks for your comment and for this review, and we hope see you another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Lorsya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lorsya

Address: 61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#33 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#59 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lorsya 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Lorsya is situated at 2 minutes walk from the Jamaa El Fna square, in the heart of the antiques market souk. It has been renovated with care in the pure Morrocan tradition and retains all the charm of the old Marrakech riads. Our professional team invites you to discover the serenity, the comfortable lifestyle and the quality services offered to you in this wonderful riad. A free dinner is offered for any booking of 4 nights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Lorsya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lorsya Marrakech
Riad Lorsya Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Lorsya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.