We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and peaceful home from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lorsya

Save Saved
You added Riad Lorsya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Lorsya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Woodford Green, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful home from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We have recently returned from a trip to Marrakech to celebrate our engagement which my new fiance booked as a surprise for me. Not only did we love Marrakech, we both loved staying at Riad Lorsya. We recieved such a lovely welcome to "our home is your home" by Mustapha who offered us some delicious Mint tea on arrival (something we drank plenty of during our stay). Abdul spent some time with us explaining key areas on a map and arranging our tour of the Atlas Mountains the next day. Both Mustapha and Abdul were the most wonderfully attentive, without being intrusive, managers who made our stay very pleasant and relaxing. The Riad itself is stunning and so peaceful despite being so close to the main square. We stayed in the Sherazade suite and I have to say one of my favourite places I have stayed in a long while. Very clean, comfortable, authentic and like the rest of the Riad peaceful, relaxing and gorgeous! We decided to eat at the Riad on our first night as we knew it would be the end of a long day of travelling and exploring the city. The meal was delicious and very filling as were the continental style breakfasts each morning. It was wonderful to have the flexibility to have our meals or mint teas/coffees wherever suited us, be it on the suntrap roof terrace, the courtyard or one of the lounge areas.

Without a shadow of a doubt should we visit Marrakech again we will most definately be staying at Riad Lorsya and we will be (and already have) recommending this jewel in the Medina to all our friends and family.

Our thanks are extended to Abdul, Mustapha and the other staff at the Riad.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    384
    32
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
68
264
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

This Riad was beautifully furnished and the service was exemplary. The two managers Ahmed (day time) and Mustafa (night time) were so welcoming and kind and served us generously and always with a smile. We were greeted with some mint tea when we arrived and had our bags taken up to our room. The breakfast was lovely and Ahmed showed us the way to the main square in the town. He also gave us some useful tips on how much to pay for things in the souks... definitely worth asking! When we got back from our camel-trekking we realised we had failed to get some bus tickets to go to Essaouira. Ahmed went and got some first thing the following morning for us and managed to get the last two on the 10.30am bus which was so kind of him and well beyond the call of duty. The decoration of the riad was beautiful, although our room was a little dim on the lighting front (I think that's quite common though). We also stayed one night in their sister Riad just around the corner which was equally lovely. I'd definitely recommend these guys.

Room Tip: Probably ask for one of the rooms over reception as they're a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorsya, Manager at Riad Lorsya, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Many thanks for your comment and for this review, and we hope see you another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed 4 nights over the Easter period in Samsara Suite. The Riad has a great location in the central Medina area (the tagged Google map on the hotel website shows the location wrongly - the Riad is MUCH more central, near Mosque Mouassine, and within 10mins walk of the main square). This is one place where I would definitely recommend a transfer booked via the hotel unless you're very confident of the city - if you take a taxi from the airport it will drop you some distance away and leave you to make your own way through the pedestrian alleyways with your luggage. The Riad only has 4 rooms, so it always has a relaxed feel, with the chance to socilaise with other guests or spend quiet time alone. Samsara suite has a sitting area & bathroom on one level, and a staircase up to a mezzanine level with the bed, offering plenty of space. Abdul, Zahidi and other staff were perfect hosts and always on hand to help. A dinner was provided on our first night which was the best tagine we ate on the trip! Marrakech is a busy place, and the Riad offers a tranquil retreat from the crazyiness. Payment was required in cash (Euros/Dirhams), so make sure you can withdraw fairly large sums of cash while you're staying away (plenty of ATMs in the city), or take a bundle of notes with you.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorsya, Manager at Riad Lorsya, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Many thanks for your comment and for this review, and we hope see you another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Had a lovely 7 night stay at the Riad Lorsya from 1st to 8th April. Abdul, Mustafa and the rest of the staff were the perfect hosts for our holiday by making it seem like a genuine home from home. The Riad is reached via a warren of tunnels near the Moussaine Mosque so I would recommend paying the 20 Euros for the Riad to arrange a taxi to collect guests from the airport. When we reached the Medina our luggage was transported by wheelbarrow to the Riad. All in all a very slick operation. Our room (Perle d'Orient) was not huge but beautifully decorated in Moroccan style. Breakfast was a tasty selection of fresh orange juice, flat breads, fruit and yoghurt. A real highlight was also the rooftop terrace where we sat in the sun with our friends away from the hustle and bustle of the souks. We also found some really nice restaurants within 10 min walk of the Riad - Villa Flore, Cafe Arabe and Dar Donab. Le Marrikchi on the main square was also very nice. In each case Abdul from the Riad called ahead and made reservations for us. Also nearby was the Bouganvillea Cafe which was a nice lunch stop.

The Riad also arranged a couple of day trips for us. They were very reasonably priced at 35 Euros pp for the trip to Essaouiria and 25 Euros pp for the trip to Ourika Valley. Both trips were great fun and went like clockwork with our driver Mustafa.

Only one minor quibble. When we made our reservation via Booking.com we were advised that we could pay our bill with a Visa card. However on arrival at the hotel Abdul advised us that we must settle our bill in Euros or Dirhams. This meant a bit of juggling to pay our bill and still leave some spending money. Paying cash was not a problem but we should have been advised in advance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We loved this Riad. There are very few places you think you would go back but this Riad is one of them. When we got there on the first day I thought I might have chosen the wrong location, but we quickly realised it was the most exciting lively area of Marrakech.
The Riad was superb. We loved the design and especially the rooms, we were upgraded us one suite was not full, the Riad is extremely quiet, the staff was great, helpful and very discreet, the roof top was very nice, and it was a great place for breakfast. The view and the atmosphère just made us want to spend hours there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This Riad is amazing. I actually stayed here last August but going by some of the more recent reviews it hasn't changed. The rooms were very clean and very spacious. The particular room we stayed in was very luxurious and the whole place was authentically Morrocan. The breakfasts were great and we stayed in one night for dinner which was close to the best meal we had in Marrakech. It was too hot for me at the time but the roof terrace is very beautiful. I would have to give a special thanks to the staff, you will definitely not meet more helpful and friendly people in the whole of Morocco, i can guarentee that! I would recommend this to anyone visiting Marrakech

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Riad Lorsya last week, staff were very friendly and welcoming, the lovely rooms were amazing with a very nice decoration and very clean. Foot and services were absolutely good. Location just 5 minutes from the main place.
I will recommend this wonderful Riad to anyone, going to Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Lorsya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lorsya

Address: 61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#49 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lorsya 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Lorsya is situated at 2 minutes walk from the Jamaa El Fna square, in the heart of the antiques market souk. It has been renovated with care in the pure Morrocan tradition and retains all the charm of the old Marrakech riads. Our professional team invites you to discover the serenity, the comfortable lifestyle and the quality services offered to you in this wonderful riad. A free dinner is offered for any booking of 4 nights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Riad Lorsya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lorsya Marrakech
Riad Lorsya Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Lorsya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.