We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Riad in the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lorsya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Lorsya to your Saves list
Riad Lorsya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #382 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great Riad in the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed 4 nights over the Easter period in Samsara Suite. The Riad has a great location in the central Medina area (the tagged Google map on the hotel website shows the location wrongly - the Riad is MUCH more central, near Mosque Mouassine, and within 10mins walk of the main square). This is one place where I would definitely recommend a transfer booked via the hotel unless you're very confident of the city - if you take a taxi from the airport it will drop you some distance away and leave you to make your own way through the pedestrian alleyways with your luggage. The Riad only has 4 rooms, so it always has a relaxed feel, with the chance to socilaise with other guests or spend quiet time alone. Samsara suite has a sitting area & bathroom on one level, and a staircase up to a mezzanine level with the bed, offering plenty of space. Abdul, Zahidi and other staff were perfect hosts and always on hand to help. A dinner was provided on our first night which was the best tagine we ate on the trip! Marrakech is a busy place, and the Riad offers a tranquil retreat from the crazyiness. Payment was required in cash (Euros/Dirhams), so make sure you can withdraw fairly large sums of cash while you're staying away (plenty of ATMs in the city), or take a bundle of notes with you.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorsya, Manager at Riad Lorsya, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Many thanks for your comment and for this review, and we hope see you another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    35
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
243
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Had a lovely 7 night stay at the Riad Lorsya from 1st to 8th April. Abdul, Mustafa and the rest of the staff were the perfect hosts for our holiday by making it seem like a genuine home from home. The Riad is reached via a warren of tunnels near the Moussaine Mosque so I would recommend paying the 20 Euros for the Riad to arrange a taxi to collect guests from the airport. When we reached the Medina our luggage was transported by wheelbarrow to the Riad. All in all a very slick operation. Our room (Perle d'Orient) was not huge but beautifully decorated in Moroccan style. Breakfast was a tasty selection of fresh orange juice, flat breads, fruit and yoghurt. A real highlight was also the rooftop terrace where we sat in the sun with our friends away from the hustle and bustle of the souks. We also found some really nice restaurants within 10 min walk of the Riad - Villa Flore, Cafe Arabe and Dar Donab. Le Marrikchi on the main square was also very nice. In each case Abdul from the Riad called ahead and made reservations for us. Also nearby was the Bouganvillea Cafe which was a nice lunch stop.

The Riad also arranged a couple of day trips for us. They were very reasonably priced at 35 Euros pp for the trip to Essaouiria and 25 Euros pp for the trip to Ourika Valley. Both trips were great fun and went like clockwork with our driver Mustafa.

Only one minor quibble. When we made our reservation via Booking.com we were advised that we could pay our bill with a Visa card. However on arrival at the hotel Abdul advised us that we must settle our bill in Euros or Dirhams. This meant a bit of juggling to pay our bill and still leave some spending money. Paying cash was not a problem but we should have been advised in advance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This Riad is amazing. I actually stayed here last August but going by some of the more recent reviews it hasn't changed. The rooms were very clean and very spacious. The particular room we stayed in was very luxurious and the whole place was authentically Morrocan. The breakfasts were great and we stayed in one night for dinner which was close to the best meal we had in Marrakech. It was too hot for me at the time but the roof terrace is very beautiful. I would have to give a special thanks to the staff, you will definitely not meet more helpful and friendly people in the whole of Morocco, i can guarentee that! I would recommend this to anyone visiting Marrakech

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

If you are bewildered trying to choose a Riad for your Marrakech break then look no further!
I traveled to Marrakech in January 2012 with my wife for a 4-night stay and having spent endless hours trying to decide where to stay we opted for the Riad Lorsya and were not disappointed

This beautiful Riad, located in the Medina is an honest 5-7 minute walk from the Jem el Fna (directions provided but you quickly get the hang of it). From the moment we arrived the staff were outstandingly helpful and friendly, particularly when our pre-arranged Atlas Mountain trip fell-through. The included evening meal on the day of arrival was most welcome and removed any hassle of having to find somewhere to eat after arrival and whilst trying to get our bearings. We stayed in the Samsara Suite which was excellent and had no problems with hot water as some have mentioned and the bed was very comfortable. The free WiFi was a useful bonus. Our one minor negative comment concerns the lighting in the room - it is not very bright which makes reading a book in the evening a little difficult.

The roof terrace is a delightful place, unfortunately the January mornings were a touch cold to enjoy breakfast up there, although our last morning was warmer and we did finally manage it. Breakfasts were simple but tasty and perfectly adequate to set yourself up for a day in the souks

We thoroughly recommend this well located Riad, beautiful, peaceful, clean, with outstanding staff and an endless supply of mint tea. The acid test of any accommodation is would you go back and stay again - in the case of the Riad Lorsya, our answer is an unhesitating YES!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northamptonshire, england
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

This is a very quaint Riad in the middle of the Medina. It’s hellishly difficult to find, but once you do, it’s a doddle.
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. It really is a home from home experience. With only four rooms, it’s never going to be crowded.
Our room (suite) was lovely, but beware there are very steep stairs leading up the room – and the bathroom is in the main sitting area!!!
All in all lovely, a perfect retreat, attentive staff and a wonderful night sleep in a very comfy bed.

Room Tip: The suites are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorsya, Manager at Riad Lorsya, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Many thanks for your review, and we hope see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I booked this Riad after reading the recommendation of other members, and after being in all other top rated Riads in all other imperial cities. Lorsya by far topped all other Riads I stayed in.

Upon arrival, Abdul served me welcome mint tea, carried my bags to my room, checked me in painlessly and brought me a map of Medina, showing me all points of interest and what to do and were to go.

The room is magnificent (check out my pictures). All that I needed, like soap, shampoo, towels, hair dryer, safe, etc was there. The breakfast was freshly made, when I was ready to have it, like fresh OJ, bread, omelet, Moroccan pancake and fried bread was all prepared while I seated to have breakfast (not before) and they all tasted yummy.

Another employee, named Mustafa, is a yes man. Offering me to walk me were I wanna go, checking train scheduled, helping to setup meeting, etc. he is just eager to do it with a big smile.

The manger Mr. Zahid is a total gentleman, who has made his mission to make sure you will have a happy stay.

The check-out was painless and no surprises.

Here of couple of spot things could be improved:

1) I had weak or sometimes no WiFi signal in my room (outside of room the signal was fine)
2) The location is hard to find for a first timer, so I wish some map of how to get to this Riad, from Jamea Al fana and from Derb El Hammam to be available on their web site. Also, if possible, some wall marking showing direction in allies around the Riad.

I would certainly use this Riad in my future visits.

Just couple pointers:

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorsya, Manager at Riad Lorsya, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
Thank you very much for this review, we had the pleasure to have you stayed with us and we hope see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Myself and friend have just returned from this Riad in Marrakesh and can strongly recommend it. In the hear of the Madina, it is a peaceful haven away from the hustle and bustle of the centre.Upon arrival we were given a lovely meal, which was a nice surprise and meant we did not have to venture out on our first night. Abdul was a wonderful host, who could't do enough for us, from constantly making us tea and coffee on demand , booking restaurants for us amongst many things, It was spotlessly clean, and cool in the rooms courtesy of the air con.The roof terrace was a welcome delight at the end of the evening.If you want to stay in the heart of the Medina,I highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorsya, Manager at Riad Lorsya, responded to this review, January 28, 2012
Many thanks for your review, it was a pleasure to have you stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Lorsya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lorsya

Address: 61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lorsya 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Lorsya is situated at 2 minutes walk from the Jamaa El Fna square, in the heart of the antiques market souk. It has been renovated with care in the pure Morrocan tradition and retains all the charm of the old Marrakech riads. Our professional team invites you to discover the serenity, the comfortable lifestyle and the quality services offered to you in this wonderful riad. A free dinner is offered for any booking of 4 nights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Lorsya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lorsya Marrakech
Riad Lorsya Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Lorsya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.