We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Menzeh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Menzeh to your Saves list
Riad Menzeh
34 derb El Arsa | Sidi Ayoub, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #17 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

What can I say apart from an incredible place!
Bernard and the staff really make you feel so at home, with helpful advice, tips on where to visit etc. The food and drinks we had there were perfect and yummy.
I can't say much more apart from perfect. Great location too, about a 15 minute walk from the main square but really peaceful.
Finally it is insanely good value!
Definitely have a relaxing hamman and/or massage too if you have a chance.
We would definitely return.

Room Tip: We had the top floor room, which was very private and great to wake up and be on the roof terrace to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
184
23
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Our trip to Marrakech would not have been so pleasant if we had not stayed at this Riad. When we arrived the staff, Jemaal and Yaseen, sat down with us and asked what we wanted to do while in Marrakech and helped us setting up a schedule of what we should do. This was so helpful! They scheduled a day trip to the Atlas Mountains that was so wonderful and we got to see a different side to Morocco than just the busy streets of Marrakech. One of the nights they invited us to dinner on the house and served one of the best meals that I had during our trip. The roof terrace of the Riad is very pleasant, has a great view of the city, and is perfect if you just want to take an afternoon of and just relax.

The Riad was very clean, rooms were nice, although the bed were perhaps a bit to hard for my taste. So if you are going to Marrakech this is the place where you should stay!

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor, which I think is better than on the first floor since those rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Wow. I don't know if a review is going to be able to sum up our first time experience in Marrakech. Firstly arriving at a local area my boyfriend was quite hesitant at where I had booked, but after a few short turns into alley ways... We arrived and entering through the door of Riad Menzeh.... It was breath-takingly beautiful! We were overjoyed- it's about a 10min walk to the main square and the locals were very friendly! Jemaal and Yaseen were perfect hosts, along with the other staff that helped cook and clean! Jemaal booked us a day trek to the Atlas Mountains and organised everything it was just a fabulous day to see different scenery. The meals were beyond Devine and the best tangines we had there, traditional flavoursome cooking! The Hamam massage is a must! The scrub is intense but you are surprised at how much dead skin comes off and your left glowing afterwards! Overall we spent 6days there- we had great advice and tips from both Jemaal and Yaseen and they made our stay very comfortable and welcoming- for a real Marrakech experience we would recommend this Riad to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Already before we arrived, everything was taken care off by the Menzeh Team: Bernard, Jamal and Yacine. Hints to prepare for the unusual heat-wave during which we arrived, a driver at the airport waiting for us and refreshments upon our arrival at the Riad, hidden in Marrakesh's most authentic area, The impeccable service and friendliness continued all the way through our one week stay. During this period we had every day tasty and generous breakfasts, a brilliant dinner prepared by the Riad's own 'chef' as well as a relaxing hammam and massage in the in-house facilities. Any touristy question we had was right away addressed in a friendly manner and solved professionally by the team. We would definitely like to go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Bernard, Jamal and the rest of the team really make this riad what it is! From the minute you arrive (actually from the minute you send your reservation inquiry form) you know that the people managing this riad are caring and are devoted to what they do. They recommended I use a taxi service with a driver they knew because he could easily find the riad and I figured out why upon arrival. The driver went through a maze of buildings clustered on both sides of the alley ways and almost all looked identical- forget clear street signals! ... yet is this not also part of the charm of Marrakech? Bernard was outside when we arrived and he helped with the bag. Immediately he showed me the room and offered (delicious) tea and cookies since I had not eaten since the early morning and it was the late afternoon.
He upgraded my room to a suite although I had reserved the most basic room and that was because his riad was fully occupied. I followed his advice on food and what to see- and I am happy I did so! The restaurants were far from the all style and mediocre food quality that you may fall upon in this city. Somehow you are part of his family when you are at the riad and this is reassuring in Marrakech because the city may be intimidating by its chaos, which makes it interesting too.
My room was spacious as I mentioned and gave to the courtyard. The bathroom was very stylish in traditionally Moroccan. Despite the surroundings, the riad is calm although every once and a while you hear people talk as they walk by, which was rare and charming considering that the riad was in the old medina.
Breakfast was fine, there was always a fresh bowl of fruits and coffee or tea with traditional bread and the usual breakfast components. I did not eat other meals at the riad, although the one day there were preparing dinner as I was going out it smelled very inviting!
The location of the riad, probably like anything outside the immediate Place El-Fena, is tricky. The first time I went to the Place, Bernard accompanied me to show me the way since maps are at best sketchy. Funny enough, that night walking back I got lost! I had the number of the riad and I called not knowing what I could do to find my way back... and Jamal was so generous to actually come and pick me up from a restaurant in the Place. Thanks!
I would certainly return here and recommend this riad.

Room Tip: The suite with the traditional windown overlooking the courtyard was very nice and that is where I s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We had a great 4 day stay at the Riad Menzeh in Marrakesh. Bernard and his staff are great. The rooms are clean and the breakfast was excellent. We also had a dinner was excellent. Bernard is very helpful in assisting you in your stay in Marrakesh recommending sites to visit and restaurants. I would highly recommend the Riad Menzeh during your visit to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Our second visit to Marrakesh, and with Bernard as our host in the Riad Menzeh. This time my sister-in-law and husband joined us for the experience, and they weren't disappointed. Bernard is such an excellent host and since our last trip has added some additional efficient and very friendly staff, that made our stay magical. If you want the experience of the real Medina it is here, and you can get it at great value. Don't miss out on that trip to Amizmiz, and enjoy the hospitality of the Berbers in the foothills of the Atlas mountains, only an hour away from the city.

Room Tip: Try the rooftop terrace room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Menzeh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Menzeh

Address: 34 derb El Arsa | Sidi Ayoub, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Menzeh is located in a small and peaceful street in the heart of Marrakech old city. 10 Minutes walk from the well known Marrakech main square of Jemaa el Fna, Riad Menzeh is the perfect place to enjoy this amazing city. Bernard and his staff will be happy to help you discover Marrakech the Red City of mysteries, sounds, smells and flavors. Activate your senses in this unique part of the world. Above all, we'€™d like to share with you our passion for this stunning and colorful city and its people, incredibly nice and friendly. Indulge yourself in a traditional spa massage over a steam bath and warm pore cleansing with scented black soap and ghassul (clay) in our private Hammam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Menzeh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Menzeh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.