We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Second Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Menzeh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Menzeh to your Saves list
Riad Menzeh
34 derb El Arsa | Sidi Ayoub, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #16 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
melbourne
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Second Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I adored staying at this incredible 16th century riad. Nothing was too much trouble for our host, Bernard. He painstakingly walked us to the enormous square giving us tips so we could get back alone, which we managed to do. My room up on the second floor was cool and comfortable and I loved lying in bed listening to the call to prayer. The pillows were the best I slept on in Morocco. . We enjoyed 2 dinners at the riad which included a fabulous traditional vegetable and chick pea soup. Wifi was great in the salon area. I cannot wait to return to Morocco and when in Marrakech would not think of staying anywhere but Riad Menzeh. Just go and you will love it !!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
184
23
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Bernard and Jamal made our holiday so much more than it would have been if we had stayed in a bog standard hotel out of town. It was an experience and I agree with all that Christine has said so eloquently. Christine and Sean it was a pleasure to meet you. I hope you made the Gatwick express OK.

Room Tip: All the staff were so kind and really looked after us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Exceptional hospitality along with great accommodation and food make Riad Menzeh very special.

The warm, friendly welcome began before we reached the front door, when Bernard came to meet us at Sidi Ayoub square from the taxi he'd arranged for us from the airport. We were familiar with the short walk to the Riad from the video on the Riad Menzeh website, and once we'd arrived it was easy to take literally Bernard's statement that 'this is your home in Marrakech'.

Jamal made us welcome straight away with mint tea and biscuits in the central courtyard, and the first of many conversations. His ability to listen, be attentive to our needs, and to share useful information and advice in a gentle, friendly and unobtrusive way hugely enhanced our experience of staying in Marrakech.

On our first foray into the streets of the medina Bernard walked with us to the central square, Djemaa el fna, (about 10 minutes walk when the streets are busy), pointing out landmarks on the way so that we could easily navigate by ourselves the next time, and stopping every so often to greet his friends and to answer a raft of questions from us.

Our room was the spacious, cool 'Suite Menzeh', on the first floor, with a huge and very comfortable bed, a sofa, and a really good size bathroom with very grand looking bath and a good over-bath shower. Everything was spotless and worked perfectly. This room has the 'menzeh' after which the riad is named - a latticed window over the central courtyard below, from which the women of the Pasha's household would have looked out unobserved to see his visitors. It's a lovely feature which lets a certain amount of daylight, but not heat, into the room, and preserves a sense of privacy at the same time.

We'd requested dinner for when we arrived and, in the courtyard again, were treated to a real feast of Moroccan specialities including a light, frothy traditional avocado dessert, (avocados are regarded as fruit not veg in Morocco). As vegetarians we often expect that there will be limited options, but when we ate at the Riad for a second time later in the week, Madame Karima made a point of making completely different dishes from our first night, including Harira, (soup), and a traditional Berber wedding feast dish, which we enjoyed immensely.

Up on the Riad's peaceful roof terrace it was possible to take in the sunshine and an amazing view across the rooftops of Marrakech - lots of satellite dishes, the Koutoubia Mosque minaret and faint traces of the mountains on the horizon - and after dark a brilliant view of the smoke rising from the vast number of Djemaa el fna food stalls.

As part of our 'package' at Riad Menzeh, ('packs' are listed on the website), Bernard arranged for us to travel to Amizmiz, at the foot of the atlas mountains, and to stay overnight with Berber mountain guide Ali Bella and his family. Ali is immensely experienced, but was happy to accommodate our wish to do just some light walking. It was a great opportunity to enjoy a little of the Atlas Mountains scenery and Berber culture, and this was a good break from the frenetic pace of Marrakech. The hospitality and food were excellent .

Also included in our 'pack' was a couples hammam treatment in the Riad's own small hammam. It isn't something either of us would usually choose to do, but we're both really pleased we overcame our reticence. Madame Rachida, who oversees the ablutions, ensured we came out with skin softer than a baby's and washed cleaner than even our mothers ever got us! I'd recommend giving it a try, even if you're a bit nervous about the idea.

We would gladly stay at Riad Menzeh again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Nicely managed riad in an authentic part of the Medina. Caring stuff who organized everything perfectly: pick up service from the airport, free water, fresh orange juice etc. Specially to mention is the maybe smallest hamam in town. We highly recommend it!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Based on trip advisor reviews, we booked Riad Menzeh for the beginning of our honeymoon this October. Right from our first email correspondence with Bernard, we knew we were in good hands. Before we'd even arrived, he had arranged for us to take a tour from Marrakech, through the mountains, to the desert to do a camel trek (he booked us through Noble Tours which was an EXCELLENT recommendation - everything went seamlessly & we had an amazing time!).

Bernard made us feel immediately welcome and helped us navigate the chaos of the old city in Marrakech. It was an easy walk (once we'd done it once) from the Riad to the central square, Djemaa El Fna.

Bernard & his assistant, Jamal, seemed to have a sixth sense about what we would need - our breakfast table was always laid out for us no matter what time we sauntered down to the delightful open inner courtyard of the riad. The decor of this riad is lovely, the lighting beautiful and everything very comfortable.

When we got back from our 3 day trek through the mountains and desert, we were welcomed "home" with a steaming cup of mint tea. We were sad to leave but would HIGHLY recommend the hospitality of Riad Menzeh to anyone visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weert, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed in this cosy Riad for one week in october. When Bernard came to pick us up from the taxi that brought us from the airport, he said: welcome home. And so it felt from the first moment. We had the room on the top roof - a very nice room with a bath room. Every morning there was a very tasty breakfast in the patio. Bernard and Jamal and their staff did everything to make us feel at home. Nothing was too much trouble. We booked the Marrakech-Atlas package and enjoyed a wonderful time in the nice town of Amizmuz, where our guide showed us around the weekly market and guided us on a beautiful hike in the mountains. The hammam session and Moroccan meal that were also part of the package were also wonderful. Any time we visit Marrakesh again we will by all means come back to this pkace.

Room Tip: The rooftop room is nice and has a lot of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here over two weeks in June (we came and went, on occasional trips out of Marrakech) on a stay that was part work (conference) and part holiday. The Riad Menzeh ensured that our memories of Morocco would be good ones - from the warm welcome after midnight when we arrived right to our last sad breakfast on parting. Bernard and Jamal run the place with the ideal balance of genuine warmth and professionalism. They were a terrific source of wise advice and background knowledge - and were always genuinely concerned that we were getting the best out of our visit.
We had two trips away while we were at the Riad. The first - to the mountains - was organised by the Riad for us and went splendidly. Though we organised the second - to the coast - ourselves, we went armed with the best information about our destination, and Jamal insisted on travelling across the city to buy our bus tickets for us to save us the hassle.
Add to this, wonderful breakfasts and fabulously good food on order, beautifully appointed bedrooms and cool, quiet public spaces and you have the perfect base in what could otherwise be an exciting but less than relaxing city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Menzeh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Menzeh

Address: 34 derb El Arsa | Sidi Ayoub, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Menzeh is located in a small and peaceful street in the heart of Marrakech old city. 10 Minutes walk from the well known Marrakech main square of Jemaa el Fna, Riad Menzeh is the perfect place to enjoy this amazing city. Bernard and his staff will be happy to help you discover Marrakech the Red City of mysteries, sounds, smells and flavors. Activate your senses in this unique part of the world. Above all, we'€™d like to share with you our passion for this stunning and colorful city and its people, incredibly nice and friendly. Indulge yourself in a traditional spa massage over a steam bath and warm pore cleansing with scented black soap and ghassul (clay) in our private Hammam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Menzeh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Menzeh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.