We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Menzeh

Save Saved
You added Riad Menzeh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Menzeh
34 derb El Arsa | Sidi Ayoub, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here for 3 nights in total. We originally requested it for 3 nights during one week but we required the dates to be flexible due to us awaiting confirmation of a desert tour. Bernard was very understanding and accommodating and he even organised us a quote from a company he knows. We ended up staying 2 nights initially and then coming back for a single night after 3 days. Our experice at the riad was wonderful. All the staff were amazing, the decor and cleanliness was top notch and the breakfasts were fantastic - we were even lucky enough to have the chef cook us up a treat of traditional pancakes on ourr last day...yum! Bernard went out of his way to make us feel comfortable and well looked after - he kindly walked us to the square so we knew how to get there and he was attentive and helpful throughout our stay.

The location of this riad is amazing - it's on an extremely calm and quiet street but only 10 mins walk from the main square. I cannot emphasise enough how much we enjoyed and appreciated our stay here. If we are ever in Marrakech again, this would be the only place that we stay at!!

Room Tip: We left it up to Bernard as our schedule was awkward. The rooms we had were both great. Both were ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    339
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
169
22
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Had spent only 1 night there because I booked 5 nights in another Riad in advance.Great perfectly reliable pick-up service in the night, very nice welcome, great clean room, wonderful breakfast and transfer with Bernard to the next Riad.GREAT.Thx Bernard

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

After 5 weeks of backpacking through Europe my daughter and I came to Marrakech for the last leg of our adventure and was met by Bernard in the busy square next to the Riad. We were made to feel at home immediately and enjoyed the oasis that Riad Menzeh is amongst the heat, hustle & bustle of Marrakech. Bernard and Jamal are both wonderful hosts and very helpful with their advice on getting around in Marrakech and what to see (& what to pay for trinkets & souvenirs!) Bernard helped organise a lovely day's hiking in the Atlas Mountains and also a day spent cooking (& eating) a 3 course traditional meal at a nearby Riad... especially memorable was the arrival of 2 very soft pillows purchased especially for us following our 'complaint' over breakfast that the pillows were a bit hard. OK we admit to being Princesses!! I found booking a Riad very confusing due to the number available to choose from but can say that I couldn't fault Riad Menzeh and Bernard & Jamal!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Thanks Bernard! My husband and I had the Menzeh suite and our son was next door. Great service, food, location. He hooked us up with Paracours Quad for a buggy raid that was a blast, and an Atlas Mountain tour with Nouradine who really clicked with our son; Facebook friends. Construction outside was noisy but looked pretty temporary. Wish we would have had Bernard recommend a hammam, since Mythic Oriental was overrated and expensive. Next time!

Room Tip: Menzeh suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was our first visit to Marrakech and thanks to Bernard and Jamal it will not be our last. Initially, Marrakech is a shock to your senses....the congestion, the crowds, the poverty but once you meander through the alleyways and come to Riad Menzeh's simple wooden door you walk into an oasis, a home away from home. A place where you feel energized each morning to begin your adventures and a welcome relief to come home to after an exhausting day! The Riad is centered around an open courtyard and tree, hence the term Riad, and the gleaming tile floors and whitewashed walls make this a perfect setting for breakfast, afternoon tea, drinks and even dinner. The rooms are located upstairs surrounding the open courtyard below. Our oversized room was lovely, with a small sofa covered in Moroccan cloth, washed sienna colored walls, firm bed, a huge bathroom with double sinks and an inviting tub, with shower, plus heavenly bath products, made in Marrakech.
Bernard was born to be a host. This is his home. You never feel like a paying guest but more of a friend coming to visit. He's thoughtful, knowledgable and interesting, and will always point you in the right direction when you get lost...which, if you don't lose your way you haven't taken full advantage of visiting this city!
Jamal is a huge part of the Riad Menzeh family too. He's always present, asking after you, offering tea, advice and help. He helped us buy spices near the Riad and always answered our silly questions in regard to bargaining in the Medina, shopping, etc. If Bernard doesn't have the answer, Jamal always does!
We were fortunate enough to eat dinner at the Riad on 2 evenings and these dinners were by far the best we had in Marrakech. All local, traditional dishes made with outstanding flavors and spices. Breakfast is simple...good Moroccan coffee and tea, local breads, homemade jam and cake! A perfect way to start the day.
Riad Menzeh also has a small hamman which we took full advantage of. I felt like a child being scrubbed, bathed and massaged. The hamman has heated walls and floors which add to the enchanting ambiance.
I can't imagine a better introduction to Marrakech than Riad Menzeh, Bernard and Jamal. The Riad is a true gem with fantastic hosts. Our memories of Marrakech will always revolve around our stay there. Remember this is old Marrakech and part of the experience is staying in the local environment. If you're expecting a big sterile hotel, with all the extras and endless options then a Riad is not for you. Stay in new Marrakech, about 20 minutes outside the Medina area, with its golf courses, shopping centers and casino and you'll be one of those travelers who say they've been to Morocco yet just never experienced it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I spent just 2 nights (unfortunately too few) in Marrakech recently, and were lucky enough to get a last minute booking at Riad Menzeh due to another booking being cancelled on us. From the moment we met Bernard at the front door, when he rescued us from the unwelcome and overwhelming attention of an "unofficial" guide, we knew we had found an oasis in a city that we were totally unfamiliar with. He has to be described as the "quintessential host", so welcoming, so friendly in a totally natural way, so charming and so helpful. Thank you sincerely Bernard, we will be back, and if we have anything to do with it, so will many of our family and friends.

Room Tip: Go for the family room if you can get it. The extra space, the same level bathroom, and the bath pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

I was compelled to write my first Trip Advisor review because of the phenomenal service we received from Bernard and Jamal at Riad Menzeh. We arrived to the Riad and were greeted with mint tea and cookies. After we were situated, Jamal walked us to Djemaa el-Fna and oriented us to the Medina. Bernard also provided us with excellent restaurant suggestions during our stay (try the tride!). The hotel truly is a peaceful and relaxing escape from the hustle and bustle of the Medina. The Riad is beautifully decorated and is clean and comfortable. Bernard helped us plan our itinerary for our time in Morocco, including arranging a guide for our 5-day Atlas Mountains/desert excursion (which included unique and lovely hotels and a friendly and safe driver) and purchasing our bus tickets to Essaouira on our behalf while we were traveling. Bernard also brought a henna tattoo artist to the hotel so I could get my tattoo from a reliable and extremely talented woman. One evening I had a bit of a stomach bug and Bernard had his staff prepare a plate of buttered rice for me as I couldn't go out for dinner. Talk about amazing service!
I highly recommend this hotel. From the service to the great location to the beautiful decor, you will not be disappointed!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Menzeh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Menzeh

Address: 34 derb El Arsa | Sidi Ayoub, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Menzeh is located in a small and peaceful street in the heart of Marrakech old city. 10 minutes walk from the well known Marrakech main square of Jemaa el Fna, Riad Menzeh is the perfect place to enjoy this amazing city. Bernard and his staff will be happy to help you discover Marrakech the Red City of mysteries, sounds, smells and flavors. Activate your senses in this unique part of the world. Above all, we'€™d like to share with you our passion for this stunning and colorful city and its people, incredibly nice and friendly. Indulge yourself in a traditional spa massage over a steam bath and warm pore cleansing with scented black soap and ghassul (clay) in our private Hammam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Menzeh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Menzeh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.