We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience in Marrakech!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Menzeh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Menzeh to your Saves list
Riad Menzeh
34 derb El Arsa | Sidi Ayoub, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #36 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing experience in Marrakech!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My in-laws just stayed and here is their experience:

"Service, food, warm hospitality was excellent. We would definitely stay again and would recommend any family and friends to stay here as well.

Bernard did an excellent job of making us welcome the very minute we walked in...from arranging the taxi to just sitting and having wonderful conversation. We appreciated his recommendation on restaurants and the sites to see.

The only drawback was not having a key to your own room when you leave. I trusted the workers and Bernard, but I would be leery of the fellow tourists. Luckily, nothing bad ever happened and we had a wonderful experience at the Riad Menzeh."

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    32
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
79
211
29
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is the most lovely traditionel riad, spotlessly clean, furnished in traditional style, entering here after the frenetic noise and bustle of Marrakesh it is an oasis of calm. Added to which is Bernard the perfect host, warm and welcoming , a mine of information on all things Moroccan without being too intrusive. It was our first visit, and something of a culture shock, but Bernard was there , recommending good restaurants, even on the first evening taking us there, getting us taxis, and one one occasion when we wished to go out of the city helping to plan the day for us,[ we are too old to go trecking.] We cannot praise him and his riad enough, it was like visiting family. One of our most interesting and fantastic holidays, thank you Bernard.

Room Tip: On the Riad Menzeh website you can choose your room, great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This was one of the best places i've ever stayed. Everyone was so helpful with making restaurant reservations, getting us a cab, showing us the places to go, even walking us to the restaurants at night (we were four girls). Every afternoon when we came back after a long day of touring they would have mint tea and cookies ready for us. The rooms were very nice and clean, and decorated beautifully. I would HIGHLY recommend Riad Menzeh!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

A beautiful riad with all the modern trimmings set in a traditional home ( try the Haman scrub and massage), situated in the heart of Marrakech it is the definition of a oasis of calm in a wonderfully crazy city.
And Bernard is the host of Marrakech, he showed us all we needed to know on how to get about and survive without taking the fun of exploring out of it. He made us feel at home, made excellent recommendations that helped us enjoy our stay, by far the best place on our Ten day tour.

Room Tip: Phone up and talk to Bernard, if he can't help you with particular needs he wi L know someone w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We had a way too short but delightful break here. It is a lovely, traditional Morrocan house, spotlessly clean, simply but beautifully furnished and very comfortable. It is a 10 minute (longer if it's 42 degrees out as it was this week!) walk to the square, but easy to find and through a really interesting part of the town.
Bernard has certainly found his forte and appears to love helping & chatting to his guests. And he was so sweet, worrying about my palid English skin getting burnt.
I find it hard to believe that you'll find a better place to stay in Marrakech...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

This was our second visit to Riad Menzeh and as before it was perfect. In all our travels we have never come across someone such as Bernard. His friendliness, thoughtfulness, humour and attentiveness is unsurpassed. He is quite simply the perfect host and he along with the cooking skills of Majda and smile of Abla make this the sanctuary of calm that many people need in this magical city. The Riad is a beautiful building but that is what it is, just a building. It is the people and memories you make here that make it the best value accomodation you will ever stay in.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

My wife and I visited this lovely riad with another couple and we can only underline the words of praise that are in the previous reviews.

Accommodation

Characterful, cosy, homely and comfortable, the riad only has 5 guest bedrooms which lends itself to an intimate atmosphere. It was really nice chatting to other guests as we had breakfast in the inner courtyard every morning. The riad is clean and spotless. It's an oasis of tranquility compared to the mayhem outside. The location is great, a 15 minute walk (which is a highlight) to the main square.

Service

As prior reviews suggest, great as the accommodation is, the real star quality of Menzeh is the people. Bernard was a truly wonderful host, and we loved his quirky sense of humour. He was incredibly helpful, walking us to the main square on the first day to help us get our bearings, recommending great restaurants, arranging a superb hammam experience within the riad (this was probably the best and most memorable experience we had on the whole trip, quite something considering the fact we did a 3 day camel trek and stayed in the atlas mountains too), sorting out a taxi for us to the airport from the mountains at short notice, offering (but not pushing) good advice when needed. Bernard was ably assisted by Habla and the other staff. We were particularly impressed with Bernard's interest in the local community, he is well respected and as a doctor provides free healthcare to those who need it.

Bernard made us truly feel at home, and was an exceptional host. Nothing was too much trouble. Thanks again!

Romesh & Sivani

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#6 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#27 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 891 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#41 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#20 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad La Porte Rouge
Riad La Porte Rouge
#39 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#10 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Menzeh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Menzeh

Address: 34 derb El Arsa | Sidi Ayoub, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Menzeh is located in a small and peaceful street in the heart of Marrakech old city. 10 Minutes walk from the well known Marrakech main square of Jemaa el Fna, Riad Menzeh is the perfect place to enjoy this amazing city. Bernard and his staff will be happy to help you discover Marrakech the Red City of mysteries, sounds, smells and flavors. Activate your senses in this unique part of the world. Above all, we'€™d like to share with you our passion for this stunning and colorful city and its people, incredibly nice and friendly. Indulge yourself in a traditional spa massage over a steam bath and warm pore cleansing with scented black soap and ghassul (clay) in our private Hammam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Menzeh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Menzeh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.