We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top marks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Menzeh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Menzeh to your Saves list
Riad Menzeh
34 derb El Arsa | Sidi Ayoub, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #16 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Top marks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Agree with all the other reviews here. Bernard is 100% committed to giving excellent service to his guests, and Jamaal and the other members of his team, likewise have the same friendly and hospitable attitude. It has been said here before but the Riad is a wonderful oasis away from but close enough to the hustle and bustle of the streets outside. Wonderful food and surroundings. The free wifi was a real bonus too, as well as the lovely mint tea. Came with out children ages 10 and 14 who appreciated this too! We would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: We had a big room with double bed and double sofa bed. Lovely large bathroom and separate area for c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliott40000, Propriétaire at Riad Menzeh, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Hi there.

Hope you're fine and enjoy your trip in Atlas moutain. Fortunatly weather is sunny.
Thanks for your kindness. Take good care of you and see you maybe in the future. Big hug to the girls.
Bernard and Jamal and Abdallah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
184
23
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Top Contributor
378 reviews 378 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights. The riad has authentic atmosphere and you feel like at home. Very quiet inside what makes it more nice after the walk in the streets, full of action and noise. The manager and the rest of the staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our time and definitely can recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We spent three days last October at the Riad Menzeh in Marrakech with a friend. The owner, Bernard met us a couple of minutes walk away from the riad. The riad itself is beautiful; charming and spacious rooms, bathroom extremely nice, and beautifully restored common areas. The owner is French and you can notice little French-style details here and there. As with lots of riads, despite the usual chaos and noise of Marrakech streets, the riad manages to be a calm oasis of silence. The riad is located about 8 mins away from the main square, very easy to find.

We had dinner one night at the riad and the food was really good. Lots of it too, we didn't manage to finish a gorgeous dessert as we were so full. Even better, with the owner being French, you can have a glass of wine with dinner at the riad (not always the case in muslim Marrakech!).

The best of our trip, as beautiful as the riad was though, was the treatment and service we got from Bernard the owner and the staff at the riad. Everything from walking us himself to the main square on our first day, to assisting with shipping a rug we bought from the main Marrakech post office back to the UK was done impeccably. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We couldn't have asked for more, and as we drove back to the airport after three days, we were sad to leave behind our new close friends in Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed at Riad Menzeh for two periods in July 2011, a total of 5 days. Located just a few blocks from a noisy, crowded market place, this riad is a peaceful oasis - the only things you can hear are birds, some lush Lisa Ekdahl tunes on the stereo and, of course, the famous prayer calls (you should really try listen to them on the roof).

Our stay was a brilliant experience, the kindness and service (and subtle humour) of Bernard, Jamal and the others were absolutely top notch, it surpassed everything we imagined. This riad is a great place to wake up, to fall asleep, and to have a timeout in the middle of the day after getting lost in the souks for the seventh time.

Hopefully, we'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Planning a five days trip in Marrakech I luckily came across Riad Menzeh on the internet, centrally located but at the same time reposeful and calm the arrival was underlined by a heartily welcome greeting. The charming atmosphere lets you dive into another world. Whereas a five minute walk away from the inner city the scene changes and you'll meet jugglers, snakes, apes and Allah knows what else!
Bernard as a very very lovely and attentive host of Riad Menzeh makes it all complete.
Every single room is classy and clean decorated as well as modern equipped with air conditioner.
Breakfast which is consisting of fresh orange juice, moroccan puff cake, honey,various jams, coffe and on demand any other desired thing was delicious. i love to think back to these days, thank you!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Since I was in transit, I stayed at this riad for only two nights & I was the only guest there at the time. However, the riad is well appointed, very clean and my room was quite comfortable. Bernard was absent during part of my stay, but I met him on my last night there. Jamal was quite attentive and he provides a very good breakfast...his coffee is excellent! The riad is located on the fringe of the Medina & it's about a 15 minute walk to the main square. It offers WiFi if you have a laptop.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed at Riad Menzeh for 2 nights in Jun 2011 and really enjoyed the hospitality and friendliness of Bernard, Jamal and the rest of the staff. They gave us valuable tips and recommendations which was really nice.

We stayed at the Dabachi room, which was nice with the shower and toilet on a small elevation.

I would defintely recommend it to me friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Menzeh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Menzeh

Address: 34 derb El Arsa | Sidi Ayoub, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Menzeh is located in a small and peaceful street in the heart of Marrakech old city. 10 Minutes walk from the well known Marrakech main square of Jemaa el Fna, Riad Menzeh is the perfect place to enjoy this amazing city. Bernard and his staff will be happy to help you discover Marrakech the Red City of mysteries, sounds, smells and flavors. Activate your senses in this unique part of the world. Above all, we'€™d like to share with you our passion for this stunning and colorful city and its people, incredibly nice and friendly. Indulge yourself in a traditional spa massage over a steam bath and warm pore cleansing with scented black soap and ghassul (clay) in our private Hammam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Menzeh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Menzeh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.