We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Camilia

Save Saved
You added Riad Camilia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Camilia
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Derb El Ouali 9, Kaat Benahid | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We booked the Riad for our whole family in September this year. It was an oasis of beauty, combining beautiful French and Moroccan furnishings, 3 pools etc. The manager Nicolas, is a charming French gentleman who couldn't do enough to help. He was there when we needed him and was on our side, leading us around the alley ways and suggesting really excellent restaurants, places to buy rugs and day trips etc. So glad we booked Riad Camilia. Thanks to Nicolas and his kind staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
102
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We spent 7 nights at Riad Camilia in September 2013.
Our time there was memorable and fabulous, thanks largely to the wonderful staff who attended to our ever whim with grace and style.
The Riad itself is gorgeous! No photos can ever do justice to the amazing detail of the rooms and lounge areas. Staying at Camilia is an exercise in pure luxury.
The bedrooms are large and sumptuous.
The three swimming pools each provide a great location to relax and cool down in the Marrakech heat.
The Riad staff includes a cook who can prepare meals to match and exceed anything available in the city.
I highly recommend Riad Camilia for your next stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I had the pleasure of spending 4 days and nights with 4 friends in June 2013. We were five Australian ladies on a great adventure. It was my birthday on the second night we were there and I could not have spent it anywhere better! Our host, Nicholas was most charming, helpful and accommodating during our stay and his staff were also delightful. The breakfasts and dinners were delicious and the decor and tastefulness of our surroundings just beautiful! We were especially fortunate to meet Camilia, the owner and creator of this lovely Riad who arrived on our second day there, and it was interesting to hear how she sourced the fascinating items throughout the house. All in all, I would heartily recommend a stay in this haven in the ancient medina. It was 45 degrees when we were there and yet to come home to the peace and cool of Camilia was just wonderful!!

Room Tip: The rooms were lovely and really more suites, spacious and well appointed. The air con was quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Riad Camilia and I could neverhave imagined such luxury. Nothing was any trouble. It was peaceful and spacious and tastefully decorated. We where in room 4 which was very spacious. Nicholas and the rest of the staff are absolutely wonderful. Nicholas even took us out to the square through the sucks and we where not sure of the way. He makes sure everything is right for you he is a gem. The hammam and massage where excellent and not to be missed. We will be back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I booked the riad through Villa Novo where it was just listed as Riad 37. It was only the week before the trip that i was put directly in touch with Nicolas, the wonderful riad manager, discovered the real name of this charming riad and saw all of the incredible reviews.
I hired the whole riad for my 40th birthday. It officially has 6 double bedrooms, but there are actually 7 if you don't mind sharing a huge interconnecting lounge. The riad is beautiful. When you first arrive it seems huge and a bit of a labyrinth but you quickly feel at home, and the staff make you feel at home with nothing too much trouble. A request for an iron and ironing board was swiftly rebuffed with a "we'll send your shirt out to be pressed for you, no problem". The rooms have home baked biscuits in them. No request is too much trouble.
All of the rooms are beautifully decorated and unique. No one drew the short straw. Several have outside space or stairs to the toof. The roof terrace is huge, giving you the opportunity to sit togther as a group or to separate and have privacy in the various sections which offer plenty of beautiful shrubbery, flowers and umbrellas. Special mention for the wonderful personal touches like sun hats, sun cream and towels which are all laid out for you to use. And for the home made lemomgrass infusions and bowls of fruit they served us as we sat around the pool.
The roof terrace is a great party venue and nicholas and his team know how to throw one. The whole riad was beautifully lit with hundreds of lanterns and Fatima, the wonderful cook made us a delicious morrocan banquet, with all sorts of fussy food requests taken in to account (wheat free, vegan, pescatorians). On the first night Nicholas and his team set up a separate area for pre dinner drinks, olives and delicious morrocan snacks, and we then moved across the terrace to a beautifully laid table for dinner. On the second night, they rearranged the seating so that we were in a different area with poofs, and low iron tables for drinks. The attention to detail and desire to make everything perfect for us was wonderful.
Whilst the riad is undoubtably stunning and in a great location, ten mins from the main square, the thing that was most impressive was Nicholas, the riad manager, and his staff. Nothing was too much trouble: sorting numerous airport pick ups, booking spa treatments, escorting us to various places in case we got lost, sorting all of the complicated catering arrangements. And the staff were so sweet and attentive and lovely.
This was incredible value for money and without doubt the most amazing place to have held my 40th. I'll be back for my next 40th birthday in a few years time...

Room Tip: All of the rooms are unique and beautifully decorated. We stayed in room 5, decorated in tranquil cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Fantastic location, service and comfort. Nicolas is an excellent host and gives great tips on what to do. My girlfriend and I had a wonderful three days staying here and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

I could never have imagined how lovely and luxurious this Riad would be based on its reasonable rate. Nicholas and his staff are wonderfully attentive to all needs, from the mint tea and almond cookies to the rose petal heart on our bed (it was our honeymoon).

The rooms are very lavishly and tastefully decorated. We had a larger suite, but even the smaller rooms seem very comfortable. Barely heard other guests or even the call to prayer from the ground floor.

The terasse is a great place to lounge and catch some rays or have a moonlight dinner prepared by the Riad's great cook, Fatima. Each meal was a delight, especially the cold salads (eggplant, green beans, zucchini.. Yum) and the lamb and plum Tagine. Also highly recommend the onsite hammam for a good scrub and massage.

Nicholas was very knowledgeable about places to visit, good buys at the souk and even some more off the beaten path experiences.

Would not hesitate to recommend this Riad to anyone looking for a luxurious retreat amidst the chaos of the medina.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Camilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Camilia

Address: Derb El Ouali 9, Kaat Benahid | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Camilia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a sumptuous and authentic ryad with intact oriental and moorish atmosphere. The owners have invested time and passion to decorate this little palace of the Marrakech medina with wonderful objects and paintings found in local flea markets and antique shops around the world.

 The patio (courtyard) is an area of calm and relaxation where you find a small pool. There are two bedrooms on the ground floor and one bedroom and a suite overlooking the courtyard from the first floor. Another family suite is available in the douiria of the riad. The master suite is absolutely gorgeous and we strongly advise you to spend a few nights there with your loved one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Riad Camilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Camilia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Camilia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.