We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thelma” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Camilia

Save Saved
You added Riad Camilia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Camilia
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Derb El Ouali 9, Kaat Benahid | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thelma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Riad Camilia and I could neverhave imagined such luxury. Nothing was any trouble. It was peaceful and spacious and tastefully decorated. We where in room 4 which was very spacious. Nicholas and the rest of the staff are absolutely wonderful. Nicholas even took us out to the square through the sucks and we where not sure of the way. He makes sure everything is right for you he is a gem. The hammam and massage where excellent and not to be missed. We will be back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
102
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I booked the riad through Villa Novo where it was just listed as Riad 37. It was only the week before the trip that i was put directly in touch with Nicolas, the wonderful riad manager, discovered the real name of this charming riad and saw all of the incredible reviews.
I hired the whole riad for my 40th birthday. It officially has 6 double bedrooms, but there are actually 7 if you don't mind sharing a huge interconnecting lounge. The riad is beautiful. When you first arrive it seems huge and a bit of a labyrinth but you quickly feel at home, and the staff make you feel at home with nothing too much trouble. A request for an iron and ironing board was swiftly rebuffed with a "we'll send your shirt out to be pressed for you, no problem". The rooms have home baked biscuits in them. No request is too much trouble.
All of the rooms are beautifully decorated and unique. No one drew the short straw. Several have outside space or stairs to the toof. The roof terrace is huge, giving you the opportunity to sit togther as a group or to separate and have privacy in the various sections which offer plenty of beautiful shrubbery, flowers and umbrellas. Special mention for the wonderful personal touches like sun hats, sun cream and towels which are all laid out for you to use. And for the home made lemomgrass infusions and bowls of fruit they served us as we sat around the pool.
The roof terrace is a great party venue and nicholas and his team know how to throw one. The whole riad was beautifully lit with hundreds of lanterns and Fatima, the wonderful cook made us a delicious morrocan banquet, with all sorts of fussy food requests taken in to account (wheat free, vegan, pescatorians). On the first night Nicholas and his team set up a separate area for pre dinner drinks, olives and delicious morrocan snacks, and we then moved across the terrace to a beautifully laid table for dinner. On the second night, they rearranged the seating so that we were in a different area with poofs, and low iron tables for drinks. The attention to detail and desire to make everything perfect for us was wonderful.
Whilst the riad is undoubtably stunning and in a great location, ten mins from the main square, the thing that was most impressive was Nicholas, the riad manager, and his staff. Nothing was too much trouble: sorting numerous airport pick ups, booking spa treatments, escorting us to various places in case we got lost, sorting all of the complicated catering arrangements. And the staff were so sweet and attentive and lovely.
This was incredible value for money and without doubt the most amazing place to have held my 40th. I'll be back for my next 40th birthday in a few years time...

Room Tip: All of the rooms are unique and beautifully decorated. We stayed in room 5, decorated in tranquil cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Fantastic location, service and comfort. Nicolas is an excellent host and gives great tips on what to do. My girlfriend and I had a wonderful three days staying here and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

I could never have imagined how lovely and luxurious this Riad would be based on its reasonable rate. Nicholas and his staff are wonderfully attentive to all needs, from the mint tea and almond cookies to the rose petal heart on our bed (it was our honeymoon).

The rooms are very lavishly and tastefully decorated. We had a larger suite, but even the smaller rooms seem very comfortable. Barely heard other guests or even the call to prayer from the ground floor.

The terasse is a great place to lounge and catch some rays or have a moonlight dinner prepared by the Riad's great cook, Fatima. Each meal was a delight, especially the cold salads (eggplant, green beans, zucchini.. Yum) and the lamb and plum Tagine. Also highly recommend the onsite hammam for a good scrub and massage.

Nicholas was very knowledgeable about places to visit, good buys at the souk and even some more off the beaten path experiences.

Would not hesitate to recommend this Riad to anyone looking for a luxurious retreat amidst the chaos of the medina.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

There are not really any words to describe how lovely this place is, and how perfect on so many levels. The host Nicolas, who takes care lovingly of the Riad, is so friendly and helpful, intelligent and charming, and can entertain you, inform you, or step discreetly away. Nothing is too much trouble, and you feel like you are an honoured guest from the first email exchange! The Riad itself is a six bedroomed spaceous and lovely private house.. home, and has has an enourmous amount of love and discretion poured into the decoration and the environment. It is , in my taste, just perfect. The only one small caveat I could find, was that since the rooms open onto the courtyard, privacy (sound and to some extent visual, is not 100 %). We were on the ground floor in a great suite, and it really is lovely. However I imagine that the bedroom at the back of the first floor is a bit more private. That said , we were not bothered by this, but it might be worth a mention. If you snore loudly the Riad might be aware of this!! The roof terraces are also perfect and you can sunbathe and use the splash pool, in privacy, remembering that in most of the city you want to cover yourself up. All the staff are sincere and open and concerned for your well being, and really you will be totally spoiled. We shall be going back for sure, and cannot reccommend the Riad highly enough, from a couple of very well traveled people.

Room Tip: First floor room at the back probably the most private, all rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We spent two nights in the Riad in May with my 10 year old son. Quite an impression as you open the door of this little paradise. After a long and tiring road in the Atlas followed by a noisy and difficult approach of the Medina, the peaceful perception as you enter is impressive. It is so close to where the action (and the noise) is while being so quiet, spacious and peaceful. This is the first impression that strikes the visitor.
Second comes the beauty of the Riad. Not only its structure (patios, big rooms, "mystery" staircases which made my son's day, the wonderful rooftop,..) but the also decoration. Simply beautiful. Each room is different and worth spending time looking at the details. Excellent taste. Excellent confort.
Then comes the quality of the service. Nicolas and his team are discreet while perfectly efficient and constantly available (yes, it includes nights or early wake ups). Their warmth and joy make you feel totally at home (the lady taking care of the kitchen remembered me from a previous trip with another son five years earlier. She could perfectly describe my other son..!!). They are proactive and will offer solutions even before you have time to phrase your problem. And they will roll up their sleeves to help you solve personal issues which have nothing to do with the Riad. As an example, Nicolas helped me carry an enormous truck tire into the back seat of my truck. He had just taken a shower and he was good for a new one (without talking about his shirt and pants which came out "black"). Not an issue for him.
I will definitely come again with the rest of my family and will surely recommend it to my friends. Zero default.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

In a city where riad hospitality is generally exemplary, Riad Camilia is surely the best of them all! We have stayed in Marrakech riads on several trips now, and always stay somewhere different because we like new experiences...but now we've found Riad Camilia we know it is one to return to!

Stayed for 3 nights in May, for a short relaxing break, for which the riad was perfect. The style is contemporary calm mixed with Moroccan artifact and works really well, its beautiful, and the photos on the website and elsewhere do not do it justice.

The riad is ENORMOUS, huge spaces which means with only 6 rooms there is always somewhere private you can settle down to read your book or enjoy your dinner in. The roof terrace has lots of really comfy corners, and a couple of dipping pools, perfect to cool off on a hot day along with some mint tea.

We stayed in Suite 6, which was huge, and had its own lounge area (which itself is larger than most other riad bedrooms themselves) with TV and library. there was also an open fire so would be great to visit in winter. Very tastefully decorated, an almost-walk in wardrobe and lots of storage space so you can unpack and really feel at home. It shares a private little staircase with Suite 5, and is in the newer part of the building, which means its away from the central courtyard, and hence very very quiet, which means you can get a good nights sleep without being disturbed by people coming and going in the rest of the riad.

Food is delicious, and the staff are just wonderful, best we've experienced in Marrakech. They are always one step ahead, anticipating your needs before you even know them yourself. And manager Nicolas is just the perfect host, never seems to sleep as he's always on hand with suggestions of what to do, and there to help if you need it. Can't speak highly enough of both him and the rest of the staff. (We also had a problem with one of our suitcases - the lock stopped working which meant we couldn't get into it when we arrived late in the evening which was a bit stressful...not a problem for Nicolas, who appeared with some pliers at our request and managed to break the lock for us, phew. Thanks!).

Easy to get to by taxi, then someone from the riad comes to meet you to walk the short distance (a porter will take your luggage) to the riad. Not difficult to navigate your way down to the square and souks, and its very close to Ben Youssef and also Le Fondouk restaurant. Great location.

We will be back!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite 6, which was huge, and had its own lounge area (which itself is larger than most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Camilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Camilia

Address: Derb El Ouali 9, Kaat Benahid | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Camilia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a sumptuous and authentic ryad with intact oriental and moorish atmosphere. The owners have invested time and passion to decorate this little palace of the Marrakech medina with wonderful objects and paintings found in local flea markets and antique shops around the world.

 The patio (courtyard) is an area of calm and relaxation where you find a small pool. There are two bedrooms on the ground floor and one bedroom and a suite overlooking the courtyard from the first floor. Another family suite is available in the douiria of the riad. The master suite is absolutely gorgeous and we strongly advise you to spend a few nights there with your loved one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Riad Camilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Camilia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Camilia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.