We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Camilia

Save Saved
You added Riad Camilia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Camilia
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Derb El Ouali 9, Kaat Benahid | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 1,037 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Shrewsbury
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A little slice of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

There are not really any words to describe how lovely this place is, and how perfect on so many levels. The host Nicolas, who takes care lovingly of the Riad, is so friendly and helpful, intelligent and charming, and can entertain you, inform you, or step discreetly away. Nothing is too much trouble, and you feel like you are an honoured guest from the first email exchange! The Riad itself is a six bedroomed spaceous and lovely private house.. home, and has has an enourmous amount of love and discretion poured into the decoration and the environment. It is , in my taste, just perfect. The only one small caveat I could find, was that since the rooms open onto the courtyard, privacy (sound and to some extent visual, is not 100 %). We were on the ground floor in a great suite, and it really is lovely. However I imagine that the bedroom at the back of the first floor is a bit more private. That said , we were not bothered by this, but it might be worth a mention. If you snore loudly the Riad might be aware of this!! The roof terraces are also perfect and you can sunbathe and use the splash pool, in privacy, remembering that in most of the city you want to cover yourself up. All the staff are sincere and open and concerned for your well being, and really you will be totally spoiled. We shall be going back for sure, and cannot reccommend the Riad highly enough, from a couple of very well traveled people.

Room Tip: First floor room at the back probably the most private, all rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
102
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We spent two nights in the Riad in May with my 10 year old son. Quite an impression as you open the door of this little paradise. After a long and tiring road in the Atlas followed by a noisy and difficult approach of the Medina, the peaceful perception as you enter is impressive. It is so close to where the action (and the noise) is while being so quiet, spacious and peaceful. This is the first impression that strikes the visitor.
Second comes the beauty of the Riad. Not only its structure (patios, big rooms, "mystery" staircases which made my son's day, the wonderful rooftop,..) but the also decoration. Simply beautiful. Each room is different and worth spending time looking at the details. Excellent taste. Excellent confort.
Then comes the quality of the service. Nicolas and his team are discreet while perfectly efficient and constantly available (yes, it includes nights or early wake ups). Their warmth and joy make you feel totally at home (the lady taking care of the kitchen remembered me from a previous trip with another son five years earlier. She could perfectly describe my other son..!!). They are proactive and will offer solutions even before you have time to phrase your problem. And they will roll up their sleeves to help you solve personal issues which have nothing to do with the Riad. As an example, Nicolas helped me carry an enormous truck tire into the back seat of my truck. He had just taken a shower and he was good for a new one (without talking about his shirt and pants which came out "black"). Not an issue for him.
I will definitely come again with the rest of my family and will surely recommend it to my friends. Zero default.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

In a city where riad hospitality is generally exemplary, Riad Camilia is surely the best of them all! We have stayed in Marrakech riads on several trips now, and always stay somewhere different because we like new experiences...but now we've found Riad Camilia we know it is one to return to!

Stayed for 3 nights in May, for a short relaxing break, for which the riad was perfect. The style is contemporary calm mixed with Moroccan artifact and works really well, its beautiful, and the photos on the website and elsewhere do not do it justice.

The riad is ENORMOUS, huge spaces which means with only 6 rooms there is always somewhere private you can settle down to read your book or enjoy your dinner in. The roof terrace has lots of really comfy corners, and a couple of dipping pools, perfect to cool off on a hot day along with some mint tea.

We stayed in Suite 6, which was huge, and had its own lounge area (which itself is larger than most other riad bedrooms themselves) with TV and library. there was also an open fire so would be great to visit in winter. Very tastefully decorated, an almost-walk in wardrobe and lots of storage space so you can unpack and really feel at home. It shares a private little staircase with Suite 5, and is in the newer part of the building, which means its away from the central courtyard, and hence very very quiet, which means you can get a good nights sleep without being disturbed by people coming and going in the rest of the riad.

Food is delicious, and the staff are just wonderful, best we've experienced in Marrakech. They are always one step ahead, anticipating your needs before you even know them yourself. And manager Nicolas is just the perfect host, never seems to sleep as he's always on hand with suggestions of what to do, and there to help if you need it. Can't speak highly enough of both him and the rest of the staff. (We also had a problem with one of our suitcases - the lock stopped working which meant we couldn't get into it when we arrived late in the evening which was a bit stressful...not a problem for Nicolas, who appeared with some pliers at our request and managed to break the lock for us, phew. Thanks!).

Easy to get to by taxi, then someone from the riad comes to meet you to walk the short distance (a porter will take your luggage) to the riad. Not difficult to navigate your way down to the square and souks, and its very close to Ben Youssef and also Le Fondouk restaurant. Great location.

We will be back!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite 6, which was huge, and had its own lounge area (which itself is larger than most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This riad was excellent in every way for a traveller who wishes to get away from the bustle and heat of the streets at the end of the day. We also spent a whole day not going out in the peace and quiet of the riad. The roof garden was excellent for meals al fresco and sunbathing, with lovely planting and lighting among the plants after dark. Nicolas, the manager, and his staff were attentive to a level we have never observed anywhere else, without being obsequious or fussy. Every morning Nicolas asked what we would like to do, offering suggestions and organised restaurants and a trip to the Atlas Mountains with our own driver. We ate in most evenings...always asked what we would like so that it could be bought that day in the local market. All round excellent experience.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have lovely balconies overlooking courtyard and are very peaceful. Room 3 was perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Collected by the manager Nicolas of Riad Camilia upon our arrival
from then on we did not have to worry about a single thing
never have we had such a warm welcome with every thing organized and beautiful
the stay was most comfortable and the in house cooking was excellent
the staff are so attentive and happy and they make you feel welcome at every opportunity
we only booked for 6 nights so we left after that to another visit another Riad but could not face being there as it just did not compare to the standard or decor or personal service that we experienced in Riad Camilia so we left promptly and returned to Riad Camilila
thanks you so much for all your effort and we shall return to see you soon

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We visited Riad Camilia in mid April and had an amazing time.

The room was just stunning (as is the whole Riad) we had room 3. Very comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast on the roof was a real treat and Nicolas always takes the time to check you are okay and slept well. He is very handy for ideas for the day. We organised to have a meal in to Riad on the first night as our plane landed at 8pm. We went to bed full and very satisfied.

The Riad is located in an ideal spot to explore and it is easy to find your way around the souks. La Foundouk is only a 2 min walk round the corner and the great for a meal on the roof, also the House of photography is good for lunch (again on the roof).

This Riad is the complete experience, great surrounding, great host and great staff.

Water, mint tea and coffees are complimentary. Top tip. Have a mint tea with your toes in the courtyard plunge pool.

Thank you so much for making our first stay in Marrakech so wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

On my 5th trip to Marrakech I found Riad Camilia, it is by far the most wonderful place I have stayed in. The Riad is beautiful throughout, tasteful and captures the essence of Morocco, luxurious and felt like home.

We met Camilia the owner she is gracious and welcoming, the Riad is run by Nicolas, with his help our stay ran like clockwork, nothing was too difficult to arrange, I discovered many new wonderful places through his suggestions.

The family of staff made us so comfortable, wonderful breakfasts and dinners, they catered for our every need.

A magical 9 days, unforgettable!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Camilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Camilia

Address: Derb El Ouali 9, Kaat Benahid | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 1,037 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Camilia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a sumptuous and authentic ryad with intact oriental and moorish atmosphere. The owners have invested time and passion to decorate this little palace of the Marrakech medina with wonderful objects and paintings found in local flea markets and antique shops around the world.

 The patio (courtyard) is an area of calm and relaxation where you find a small pool. There are two bedrooms on the ground floor and one bedroom and a suite overlooking the courtyard from the first floor. Another family suite is available in the douiria of the riad. The master suite is absolutely gorgeous and we strongly advise you to spend a few nights there with your loved one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Riad Camilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Camilia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Camilia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.