We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the comfort of riad camilia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Camilia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Camilia to your Saves list
Riad Camilia
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Derb El Ouali 9, Kaat Benahid | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 1,064 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“the comfort of riad camilia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Collected by the manager Nicolas of Riad Camilia upon our arrival
from then on we did not have to worry about a single thing
never have we had such a warm welcome with every thing organized and beautiful
the stay was most comfortable and the in house cooking was excellent
the staff are so attentive and happy and they make you feel welcome at every opportunity
we only booked for 6 nights so we left after that to another visit another Riad but could not face being there as it just did not compare to the standard or decor or personal service that we experienced in Riad Camilia so we left promptly and returned to Riad Camilila
thanks you so much for all your effort and we shall return to see you soon

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
107
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We visited Riad Camilia in mid April and had an amazing time.

The room was just stunning (as is the whole Riad) we had room 3. Very comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast on the roof was a real treat and Nicolas always takes the time to check you are okay and slept well. He is very handy for ideas for the day. We organised to have a meal in to Riad on the first night as our plane landed at 8pm. We went to bed full and very satisfied.

The Riad is located in an ideal spot to explore and it is easy to find your way around the souks. La Foundouk is only a 2 min walk round the corner and the great for a meal on the roof, also the House of photography is good for lunch (again on the roof).

This Riad is the complete experience, great surrounding, great host and great staff.

Water, mint tea and coffees are complimentary. Top tip. Have a mint tea with your toes in the courtyard plunge pool.

Thank you so much for making our first stay in Marrakech so wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

On my 5th trip to Marrakech I found Riad Camilia, it is by far the most wonderful place I have stayed in. The Riad is beautiful throughout, tasteful and captures the essence of Morocco, luxurious and felt like home.

We met Camilia the owner she is gracious and welcoming, the Riad is run by Nicolas, with his help our stay ran like clockwork, nothing was too difficult to arrange, I discovered many new wonderful places through his suggestions.

The family of staff made us so comfortable, wonderful breakfasts and dinners, they catered for our every need.

A magical 9 days, unforgettable!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We recently spent two nights (should have been three but for a missed airline connection) here at the beginning of our around the world trip. Can not say enough how peaceful and comfortable the setting is in this riad. Beautiful rooms and excellent food are among some of the highlights. Enjoying breakfast on the roof-top terrace is such a great way to start the day. We completed our stay with dinner in the restaurant. The food was very, very good. Simple flavorful mezzas and tagines.

We can not say enough about the service provided by the staff and Nicholas in particular. No idea when he sleeps as he always seemed to be available. He knows the area like the back of his hand and serves as an extremely gracious and helpful host.

And as a final note. This is very convienently located, maybe 5 minute walk, to the souk and night market. But the riad itself is in a very quiet area

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Riad camilia was chosen primilary based on the strong reviews of fellow travellers on trip advisor and it did not disappoint.

In my mind this is for two principle reasons : 1) the love and care that has been put into the design and lush furnishings of the riad and 2) Nicholas and his staff and the absolutel dedication and commitment that they provide to all guests. You absolutely feel as though you are a guest in a private home. I know that many of the other guests Felt similarly.

Upon entering the riad you are immediately taken with its charming and calming furnishings and layout. It really is stunning. All the rooms look gorgeous so don't worry about which one to choose.

Also the food is increible! Fatima is a fantastic cook and she let us go to the market with her and even show us how to cook a range of moroccan salads as we are vegetarian.

I really can't speak highly enough of both of the above (and Im not that easily pleased). Do not bother to research any other raids in the medina because this is what you are looking for!

Nicholas, Fatima and the rest of the charming staff - thank you! Sarah and Ryan

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We just had four days at Riad Camilla and it was one of the most enjoyable stays I've had anywhere. Nicolas had an excellent knowledge of the area and helped us with restaurants, markets, etc. Great host, great staff and amazing food. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Riad Camilia is the most beautiful house I have visited. I spent 2 nights at the riad. The people I met working there were nice and helpful. The hamman and massage was lovely. Breakfast and lunch was tasty. Even the beds had special made mattresses and I slept like a baby. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Camilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Camilia

Address: Derb El Ouali 9, Kaat Benahid | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 1,064 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Camilia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a sumptuous and authentic ryad with intact oriental and moorish atmosphere. The owners have invested time and passion to decorate this little palace of the Marrakech medina with wonderful objects and paintings found in local flea markets and antique shops around the world.

 The patio (courtyard) is an area of calm and relaxation where you find a small pool. There are two bedrooms on the ground floor and one bedroom and a suite overlooking the courtyard from the first floor. Another family suite is available in the douiria of the riad. The master suite is absolutely gorgeous and we strongly advise you to spend a few nights there with your loved one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Riad Camilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Camilia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Camilia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.