We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Quiet Near the Souk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Camilia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Camilia to your Saves list
Riad Camilia
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Derb El Ouali 9, Kaat Benahid | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 1,115 Marrakech B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Peace and Quiet Near the Souk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We recently spent two nights (should have been three but for a missed airline connection) here at the beginning of our around the world trip. Can not say enough how peaceful and comfortable the setting is in this riad. Beautiful rooms and excellent food are among some of the highlights. Enjoying breakfast on the roof-top terrace is such a great way to start the day. We completed our stay with dinner in the restaurant. The food was very, very good. Simple flavorful mezzas and tagines.

We can not say enough about the service provided by the staff and Nicholas in particular. No idea when he sleeps as he always seemed to be available. He knows the area like the back of his hand and serves as an extremely gracious and helpful host.

And as a final note. This is very convienently located, maybe 5 minute walk, to the souk and night market. But the riad itself is in a very quiet area

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
124
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Riad camilia was chosen primilary based on the strong reviews of fellow travellers on trip advisor and it did not disappoint.

In my mind this is for two principle reasons : 1) the love and care that has been put into the design and lush furnishings of the riad and 2) Nicholas and his staff and the absolutel dedication and commitment that they provide to all guests. You absolutely feel as though you are a guest in a private home. I know that many of the other guests Felt similarly.

Upon entering the riad you are immediately taken with its charming and calming furnishings and layout. It really is stunning. All the rooms look gorgeous so don't worry about which one to choose.

Also the food is increible! Fatima is a fantastic cook and she let us go to the market with her and even show us how to cook a range of moroccan salads as we are vegetarian.

I really can't speak highly enough of both of the above (and Im not that easily pleased). Do not bother to research any other raids in the medina because this is what you are looking for!

Nicholas, Fatima and the rest of the charming staff - thank you! Sarah and Ryan

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We just had four days at Riad Camilla and it was one of the most enjoyable stays I've had anywhere. Nicolas had an excellent knowledge of the area and helped us with restaurants, markets, etc. Great host, great staff and amazing food. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Riad Camilia is the most beautiful house I have visited. I spent 2 nights at the riad. The people I met working there were nice and helpful. The hamman and massage was lovely. Breakfast and lunch was tasty. Even the beds had special made mattresses and I slept like a baby. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Having just returned from a 5 day break at the Riad Camilia, I can not endorse enough the service delivered by Nicolas and his staff. Evening meals at the riad are authentic Morrocan cuisine, nothing is too much trouble and you can eat whatever you want.
We stayed in room 5 which was massive, and spotless.
I also recommend a tour with Mohammed.
Many thanks for a great break

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Would like to echo all the 5 star reviews below and reiterate that this is the place to stay in Marrakech. Nicolas and his staff made this place a home away from home for us. We were a bit apprehensive about going to Marrakech for the first time and being from a metropolitan city like Hong Kong, we are especially picky with hotels, but Riad Camilia exceeded our expectations in every way.

Nicolas is sensitive to every detail and fickle need that may arise during the stay - he was extremely responsive with communications throughout and looked after us so well (we told him we enjoyed the music in the lounge area and he even kindly sent us the tracks!) Another time, he escorted us to and from the riad and showed us good shops in the souks where we were able to get good bargains. He was very accommodating with arranging transfers to helping us move our luggage around and finding a tour guide. No concern was left uncared for. He knows the ins and outs of the city and recommended good restaurants to us, even though we ended up dining at the Riad both nights we were there because Fatima and her team cook so well! We had very enjoyable, traditional Moroccan meals in the relaxing dining room and even took an informal cooking class from Fatima arranged by Nicolas.

The room itself was fabulous - Nicolas opened up a small room attached to our Suite no. 6 so that our family of 3 could have more space. Breakfast downstairs in the main living room was a treat every morning. The personalized and attentive service from the staff made us feel so welcome in a foreign place like Marrakech.

We later stayed at Riad El Fenn, supposedly one of the top riads in the city, and found that we actually preferred the cosiness and friendliness of this homey Riad. Cannot recommend this place more. Keep up the great work and we miss you already!

Room Tip: We loved our Room 6 which shared a private staircase with Room 5 and had a nice sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed shortly after new years and had a perfect experience. Down a tiny street in the Medina you open the door into a wonderful Riad with excellent taste. Nicholas was an enormous help and really the difference that made this the most enjoyable hotel we experienced in the country. The breakfast was great and the room large and immaculate. We have since reccomended this Riad to friends and will continue to think of Riad Camilia as the best place to stay in the Medina..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Camilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Camilia

Address: Derb El Ouali 9, Kaat Benahid | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,115 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Camilia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a sumptuous and authentic ryad with intact oriental and moorish atmosphere. The owners have invested time and passion to decorate this little palace of the Marrakech medina with wonderful objects and paintings found in local flea markets and antique shops around the world.

 The patio (courtyard) is an area of calm and relaxation where you find a small pool. There are two bedrooms on the ground floor and one bedroom and a suite overlooking the courtyard from the first floor. The master suite is absolutely gorgeous and we strongly advise you to spend a few nights there with your loved one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Riad Camilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Camilia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Camilia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.