We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Camilia

Save Saved
You added Riad Camilia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Camilia
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Derb El Ouali 9, Kaat Benahid | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An oasis of tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Having just returned from a 5 day break at the Riad Camilia, I can not endorse enough the service delivered by Nicolas and his staff. Evening meals at the riad are authentic Morrocan cuisine, nothing is too much trouble and you can eat whatever you want.
We stayed in room 5 which was massive, and spotless.
I also recommend a tour with Mohammed.
Many thanks for a great break

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
104
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Would like to echo all the 5 star reviews below and reiterate that this is the place to stay in Marrakech. Nicolas and his staff made this place a home away from home for us. We were a bit apprehensive about going to Marrakech for the first time and being from a metropolitan city like Hong Kong, we are especially picky with hotels, but Riad Camilia exceeded our expectations in every way.

Nicolas is sensitive to every detail and fickle need that may arise during the stay - he was extremely responsive with communications throughout and looked after us so well (we told him we enjoyed the music in the lounge area and he even kindly sent us the tracks!) Another time, he escorted us to and from the riad and showed us good shops in the souks where we were able to get good bargains. He was very accommodating with arranging transfers to helping us move our luggage around and finding a tour guide. No concern was left uncared for. He knows the ins and outs of the city and recommended good restaurants to us, even though we ended up dining at the Riad both nights we were there because Fatima and her team cook so well! We had very enjoyable, traditional Moroccan meals in the relaxing dining room and even took an informal cooking class from Fatima arranged by Nicolas.

The room itself was fabulous - Nicolas opened up a small room attached to our Suite no. 6 so that our family of 3 could have more space. Breakfast downstairs in the main living room was a treat every morning. The personalized and attentive service from the staff made us feel so welcome in a foreign place like Marrakech.

We later stayed at Riad El Fenn, supposedly one of the top riads in the city, and found that we actually preferred the cosiness and friendliness of this homey Riad. Cannot recommend this place more. Keep up the great work and we miss you already!

Room Tip: We loved our Room 6 which shared a private staircase with Room 5 and had a nice sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed shortly after new years and had a perfect experience. Down a tiny street in the Medina you open the door into a wonderful Riad with excellent taste. Nicholas was an enormous help and really the difference that made this the most enjoyable hotel we experienced in the country. The breakfast was great and the room large and immaculate. We have since reccomended this Riad to friends and will continue to think of Riad Camilia as the best place to stay in the Medina..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonnamama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our family recently spent a few days at Riad Camilia. It was fabulous in every way. Entering from the chaotic medina is like stepping into another world... an oasis of peace and beauty. Nicolas was a marvelous host, very attentive and eager to make sure we enjoyed ourselves. He made us feel like royalty, and we certainly felt like we were staying in a small palace! It is absolutely gorgeous inside, each room beautiful and unique. The rooftop is serene and relaxing. We ate most of our meals at the riad. The home cooked food was delicious and better than any food we tried elsewhere. We did not want to leave at the end of our stay! I researched many riads prior to making a reservation. We travel frequently, and I feel that where you stay does impact your overall feel and memory of a place, so I am quite particular in choosing great accommodation. There are so many choices in Marrakech and it is hard to choose, but we made absolutely made the right choice and definitely recommend to others. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Amazing Riad - a beautiful oasis of calm in a busy, bustling city! Beautiful décor, great service, fabulous breakfast and very friendly staff. couldn't ask for more. The roof terrace is a beautiful space - the whole hotel has a very calming feel to it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

What a perfect place to celebrate a very special birthday! My three daughters brought my wife here for a very special weekend (I tagged on for the ride!), Nicholas was the perfect host ensuring that everything was better than excellent. The ambience and the decor are stunning and the location could not be bettered. If you want comfort, style, pampering and appreciate attention to detail, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: They are all stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

The place was magnificent, this was a last second get away and I couldn't have been happier. The host was amazing and all of the activities and arrangements were made without any issues. The food was delicious and due to it being slow season it was like having a villa all to myself!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Camilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Camilia

Address: Derb El Ouali 9, Kaat Benahid | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Camilia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a sumptuous and authentic ryad with intact oriental and moorish atmosphere. The owners have invested time and passion to decorate this little palace of the Marrakech medina with wonderful objects and paintings found in local flea markets and antique shops around the world.

 The patio (courtyard) is an area of calm and relaxation where you find a small pool. There are two bedrooms on the ground floor and one bedroom and a suite overlooking the courtyard from the first floor. Another family suite is available in the douiria of the riad. The master suite is absolutely gorgeous and we strongly advise you to spend a few nights there with your loved one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Riad Camilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Camilia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Camilia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.