We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars all around - a home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Camilia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Camilia to your Saves list
Riad Camilia
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Derb El Ouali 9, Kaat Benahid | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“5 stars all around - a home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Would like to echo all the 5 star reviews below and reiterate that this is the place to stay in Marrakech. Nicolas and his staff made this place a home away from home for us. We were a bit apprehensive about going to Marrakech for the first time and being from a metropolitan city like Hong Kong, we are especially picky with hotels, but Riad Camilia exceeded our expectations in every way.

Nicolas is sensitive to every detail and fickle need that may arise during the stay - he was extremely responsive with communications throughout and looked after us so well (we told him we enjoyed the music in the lounge area and he even kindly sent us the tracks!) Another time, he escorted us to and from the riad and showed us good shops in the souks where we were able to get good bargains. He was very accommodating with arranging transfers to helping us move our luggage around and finding a tour guide. No concern was left uncared for. He knows the ins and outs of the city and recommended good restaurants to us, even though we ended up dining at the Riad both nights we were there because Fatima and her team cook so well! We had very enjoyable, traditional Moroccan meals in the relaxing dining room and even took an informal cooking class from Fatima arranged by Nicolas.

The room itself was fabulous - Nicolas opened up a small room attached to our Suite no. 6 so that our family of 3 could have more space. Breakfast downstairs in the main living room was a treat every morning. The personalized and attentive service from the staff made us feel so welcome in a foreign place like Marrakech.

We later stayed at Riad El Fenn, supposedly one of the top riads in the city, and found that we actually preferred the cosiness and friendliness of this homey Riad. Cannot recommend this place more. Keep up the great work and we miss you already!

Room Tip: We loved our Room 6 which shared a private staircase with Room 5 and had a nice sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
130
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed shortly after new years and had a perfect experience. Down a tiny street in the Medina you open the door into a wonderful Riad with excellent taste. Nicholas was an enormous help and really the difference that made this the most enjoyable hotel we experienced in the country. The breakfast was great and the room large and immaculate. We have since reccomended this Riad to friends and will continue to think of Riad Camilia as the best place to stay in the Medina..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonnamama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our family recently spent a few days at Riad Camilia. It was fabulous in every way. Entering from the chaotic medina is like stepping into another world... an oasis of peace and beauty. Nicolas was a marvelous host, very attentive and eager to make sure we enjoyed ourselves. He made us feel like royalty, and we certainly felt like we were staying in a small palace! It is absolutely gorgeous inside, each room beautiful and unique. The rooftop is serene and relaxing. We ate most of our meals at the riad. The home cooked food was delicious and better than any food we tried elsewhere. We did not want to leave at the end of our stay! I researched many riads prior to making a reservation. We travel frequently, and I feel that where you stay does impact your overall feel and memory of a place, so I am quite particular in choosing great accommodation. There are so many choices in Marrakech and it is hard to choose, but we made absolutely made the right choice and definitely recommend to others. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Amazing Riad - a beautiful oasis of calm in a busy, bustling city! Beautiful décor, great service, fabulous breakfast and very friendly staff. couldn't ask for more. The roof terrace is a beautiful space - the whole hotel has a very calming feel to it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

What a perfect place to celebrate a very special birthday! My three daughters brought my wife here for a very special weekend (I tagged on for the ride!), Nicholas was the perfect host ensuring that everything was better than excellent. The ambience and the decor are stunning and the location could not be bettered. If you want comfort, style, pampering and appreciate attention to detail, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: They are all stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The place was magnificent, this was a last second get away and I couldn't have been happier. The host was amazing and all of the activities and arrangements were made without any issues. The food was delicious and due to it being slow season it was like having a villa all to myself!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Let me first say to all the researcher personalities like myself, I spent weeks looking for the 'perfect' riad in a sea of riads. Although I found lots of greatly reviewed riads, they were either far from the medina, had small rooms at high prices, poor management reviews or were just unappealing aesthetically. Well when I came across Riad Camillia I thought it was too goo to be true. What a gem. Here are the highlights of this romantic getaway with all the insider information:

1. Rooms- all 6 are gorgeous, you really will be happy with any of them as the charm in each one is so warm and detailed. The showers are out of a romance novel and the balconies are so welcoming for a good book, cup of tea or some cuddle time with that special someone.

2. The management: Nicolas runs the riad and is so delightful. He took the time to run through restaurant options for each night , hammam recommendations, lunch, activities, directions, tips and tricks for the medina shopping :) not to mention organizing cooking lessons on site at the riad. He also organized transport to/from the airport to the riad easy and without an issue. He was such a rock star and patiently helped us with any of our needs, thanks Nic!

3. Food and staff: we ate pretty much at the riad for our breakfast and lunches and I enjoyed the home cooked food there! All the staff were so friendly and attentive at all hours of the night.

I loved how nicely decorated and large the riad was. There were orange trees in the courtyard and palm tree on the roof deck shading us while we had our breakfast and overlooked the snow capped Atlas mountains. Little sipping pools everywhere and my favorite...were all the nooks and crannies to sit in, curl up on a couch, warm up near the fire or just get comfy with some colorful cushions. LOved it.

The riad was such a big part of my Marrakesh experience, like I predicted. And so, at times I irritate myself with all the research I tend to do when it comes to these things, but this time my efforts were really well invested and led me to Riad Camillia. I hope you enjoy your stay and Nic I'll be back soon.

Warm regards

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#7 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,306 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#1 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,063 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#14 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#3 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Camilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Camilia

Address: Derb El Ouali 9, Kaat Benahid | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Camilia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a sumptuous and authentic ryad with intact oriental and moorish atmosphere. The owners have invested time and passion to decorate this little palace of the Marrakech medina with wonderful objects and paintings found in local flea markets and antique shops around the world.

 The patio (courtyard) is an area of calm and relaxation where you find a small pool. There are two bedrooms on the ground floor and one bedroom and a suite overlooking the courtyard from the first floor. The master suite is absolutely gorgeous and we strongly advise you to spend a few nights there with your loved one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Riad Camilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Camilia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Camilia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.