We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally awesome & unforgettable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Camilia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Camilia to your Saves list
Riad Camilia
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Derb El Ouali 9, Kaat Benahid | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 1,064 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Totally awesome & unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Amazing location. From the first second of arriving to the last, Nicholas and staff really went completely out of their way to welcome us and make our stay amazing. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Smiles welcomed us at breakfast and throughout the day. The sunny and welcoming roof terrace is great for relaxing and Fatima cooked us the tastiest meals that we had in Marrakech. We asked if Fatima could show us how she cooked this lovely food, and she gladly took us to the market to buy the ingredients and then patiently took us through the cooking process. All rooms are suites and to a really high standard. Nicholas gave us great advice about where to go (and where to avoid). You should definitely visit Marrakech for the amazing sights, sounds and smells and you should definitely stay at the lovely Riad Camilia!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
107
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Nicolas & staff were there to take care of you. The riad was beautiful . The breakfasts on the rooftop every morning were good & the dinners we had there were also good. Nicolas arrange some day trips out from Marrakeck with a driver & they were great. He also took care of guide to show us around the Marrakech . It was a great! If you want to go & stay at the Riad Camilia to relax or to sightsee, they can take care of whatever you need.The riad is in the Medina.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

OMG, what a fabulous place! Riad Camilia was everything that I had expected after reading the Trip Advisor reviews, but also so much more. I must have checked the website of every riad in Marrakech but something kept bringing me back to Riad Camilia and I am so glad I trusted my instincts. We stayed for 3 days (not nearly enough time) and were blown away by everything about this riad and its staff. Nicolas was the perfect host, Fatima is just the best cook & the 2 girls (Nadia & Bouksha) were delightful and all of them couldn't have done more to make our stay so enjoyable. There was always somebody there when you needed them (they seemed to intuitively know) but they were never intrusive.

The first inkling we had of the fantastic service to come was when Nicolas met our taxi from the airport. Cars can only go so far into the Medina then you have to go on foot to your lodgings. No easy task especially when you first arrive till you get your bearings. Our driver told us that most hosts expected you to find your own way to their riads but Nicolas was one of the few who always met his guests.

We arrived just early afternoon and Nicolas had arranged for lunch to be served & that was the start of a great dining experience during our stay. We had dinner in the courtyard at the riad on the first night & ate out on the other 2 nights. Breakfast was taken on the rooftop each morning, which was delightful before the heat of the day - and the little pools were a welcome relief after a day's shopping in the souks. When we come back again (as we all agreed we would) we would probably eat at the riad each night because Fatima's cooking was better than anything else we tasted. We ate at Le Foundouk one night & although it was a lovely setting, the staff were not friendly & the food was average.

We had rooms 3 & 4 on the first floor (air conditioned) and they were enormous &, yes, they are even better than they look in the photos. We had the whole floor to ourselves with comfortable seating in many little nooks so you could always chase the sun …. or get out of it in the heat of the day. The riad itself was a maze of beautiful rooms & courtyards with plenty of space to be by yourself if you wanted.

Nicolas organised a day trip to the Atlas Mountains for us – definitely recommended if you like hiking. He made sure that we had plenty of bottles of water to take with us (all on the house) and whenever we returned to the riad there was always a pot of mint tea & pastries waiting for us. It was all the little touches that Nicolas and his staff provided, and going above and beyond what is required, that sets the riad apart.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schönbühl
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

A very charming Riad with a heart for the details - thanks to Nicolas - he is the perfect host. He gave us two ladies the perfect recommandations, was always around and knows what his guests need. The Camilia is good located - easy to go to the Souk an to see the most popular places nearby. We had a private tour guide for the first day. He showed us the Medina, the Souk and gave us a great overview and lots of information about culture and the way how people life in Marrakesch. I would definitely do it again.
After the very busy visit at the souk - we had always great relax at the roof top of the Camilia. Over the roofs of Marrakesch - a very quiet place with lots of small pools to rest and to enjoy the oriental feeling. The whole staff is very friendly, discret and gives a perfect service.
We had a lot of fun and would definitely go back there.
Yolanda & Andrea from Switzerland

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay at the beautiful Riad Camilia. Situated in the heart of the Medina, Riad Camilia is an oasis of calm from the busy, vibrant souks of the old town.

Nicolas is the perfect host, always on hand to make sure your stay is faultless. He really goes out of his way to make sure you have the best time possible.

The riad is absolutely stunning and furnished so tastefully. We were fortunate enough to stay in two of the rooms, two nights in each. Each room has a different ambience, both were immaculate, beds very comfortable and luxurious bathrooms.

The food at the riad was the best we had during our visit, all freshly prepared and served to you by the wonderful friendly staff.

I really can't recommend Riad Camilia enough. We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: Every room is a fabulous room. You will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

My wife and I just completed a 2 week stay at the Riad Camila and it was one of the best experiences we have ever had. Nicolas and his staff do EVERYTHING in their power to make you feel comfortable and welcome from the time you awake until you turn off the lights and finally call it a night (which you don't want to do in this wonderfully relaxing atmosphere). The Riad itself is perfectly located in the heart of Medina, with 6 wonderfully different rooms to choose from - each with their own unique appeal (we stayed in room 5). When you venture outside your room, there is large, spacious lounge area where we relaxed each evening, a quaint and relaxing dining area for dinners, a small but comfortable library and a rooftop terrace with dipping pools where they serve breakfast (and where they also serve dinners if you choose). Relaxing music is played all day and they offer an in-house Hammam/message for those that are interested.

We intended to have dinners out but more often than not, we opted to stay in because the food was so good and the atmosphere so relaxing. One evening we had a wonderful candle-lit dinner by a fireplace on the roof terrace, surrounded by a sky full of stars.

On our second night there, we came home to find our room and bed decorated with rose petals in celebration of my wife's birthday (which I had only casually mentioned to Nicolas in passing)!

Nicolas will arrange anything you need - excursions to Essauoria, the Atlas mountains, desert or elsewhere or maps and directions to where you want to go in Marrakech. Simply mention what you need and it is done, quickly, efficiently and with a warm and friendly smile.

We could not recommend this place more highly!

Thank you Nicolas and team for our best holiday ever! We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We had originally booked a 4 nite stay at the La Maison Arabe but because of my fascination and continued browsing of the Marrakech riads, I chanced upon Riad Camilia and was blown away by the photos and reviews. And to think we almost missed the experience of Riad Camilia! Location is perfect, in the center of the medina and close to the souks and Jma El Fnaa. Accommodation is luxurious and elegant (trust me, the pictures don’t do justice. I did a lot of browsing but was still blown away.). Just like one review mentioned, it felt like a movie set! I was expecting someone at any moment to come up to me and say, “the name’s Bond, James Bond!” Tastefully decorated, elegant riad! Would have loved to try each of the suites! We had breakfast everyday at the rooftop terrace which was my favorite spot, well, every nook and cranny of the riad was a favorite! We also had dinner every nite except that one time when we went to Le Foundouk (great ambience and close to the riad. one of the staff garbed in a hooded robe and carrying a lantern can walk you back to the riad. Romantic!). Food is always exceptional at the riad, thanks Fatima! Staff is great, the riad is well run, thanks to Nicolas the French Manager. Nicolas arranged for our transfers, the tour around the Medina with Fahid, the day tour to Kasbah Tamadot (and a berber market in Asni) with our driver and guide Anas. Not to forget Khalid who was our server, bell boy. Very discreet staff but always there when you need them! We had an amazing time and met great people some of whom have become good friends of ours. It felt like staying at a very wealthy friend’s home, fabulous!

Room Tip: all the rooms are great but if you are on the second floor, you have 2 sides of the riad to yourself...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Camilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Camilia

Address: Derb El Ouali 9, Kaat Benahid | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 1,064 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Camilia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a sumptuous and authentic ryad with intact oriental and moorish atmosphere. The owners have invested time and passion to decorate this little palace of the Marrakech medina with wonderful objects and paintings found in local flea markets and antique shops around the world.

 The patio (courtyard) is an area of calm and relaxation where you find a small pool. There are two bedrooms on the ground floor and one bedroom and a suite overlooking the courtyard from the first floor. Another family suite is available in the douiria of the riad. The master suite is absolutely gorgeous and we strongly advise you to spend a few nights there with your loved one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Riad Camilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Camilia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Camilia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.