We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is sad when Hotels are not understanding” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Carllian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Carllian to your Saves list
Riad Carllian
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24,25 Derb Dabachi - Derb Jamaa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #170 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Santorini, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It is sad when Hotels are not understanding”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We booked our holidays in Morocco for the start of November and reserved the second week of our stay in Riad Carllian; the first week we had booked in another place in Marrakech. Luck was not on our side this time! The day before we left from home my wife slipped and fell from a small step and broke her ankle, multiple fractures with bone popping out. She had to undergo surgery and put 11 screws and 1 plate in her leg She was devastated as the Morocco trip was her birthday gift and now the doctors are telling us that she will not be able to step and place weight on her foot for at least 6 months. I immediately sent an email to both hotels -- the first one on the day we were suppose to arrive and they responded by advising of how sorry they were that this unfortunate incident happened to us the day before traveling and they refunded all 100% of deposit we had paid, in advance. The Riad Carllian received my cancellation a week before our scheduled arrival. They replied by advising me that their policy says that they should charge me 75% of the total amount for cancelation but they will keep the 50% we had already pay for a next stay in morocco within 6 months. I advised them that my wife’s leg is not going to be better for long time and their response was that they can do the 6 months a year. Unfortunately we are not even sure is she will be able to walk in a year. She was devastated with all this that happened last minute and to make matters worse more sad that the Riad was not understanding with such a blow. I would not go back to this place even if I have already paid them 500€ for nothing. When you choose a Riad over a big hotel you do it because you want to have a more personal and up close experience with the owners. I guess that is not the case.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    41
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
28
103
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We spent 4 nights here recently and had an amazing stay. This riad, like most, is small with an open air atrium. We were traveling with a group of 17 people, most of whom stayed here. The service throughout our stay was exceptional, including helping us book local reservations, walking us to dinner so we would not get lost, and hosting an amazing dinner for us with live music and belly dancing. Cannot say enough good things about this place.

By comparison, our friends staying at other riads were forced to deal with overbookings, difficulty getting in at night, and no one showing up to cook breakfast in the morning. No such issues for us.

I'm sure you could find cheaper places to stay in Marrakech, but I'd be surprised if you could find better value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We rent the all the Riad for 4 nights between April 27th to May 1st. The staff is good and very dedicated to their guests. They do all they can do make you happy. The breakfast is fantastic and worth those served in 5 stars hotels. The suites are great and well equiped.
The roof terrace where you can go after having spent some time in the jacuzy (a little bit old...)is also very good, especially the view.
The location is also very good.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

We have been staying 5 days in Marrakech including two days in Riad Carllian, Suite Tendance. This is truly an oasis in the middle of Marrakech's medina. Pamper yourself with luxury at this wonderful Riad. The Riad has it's own hammam, pool and jacuzzi on the roof to help you relax and unwind after a day haggling in the souks. The massage with warm oil was great and the staff was extremly friendly and helpful. The food was excellent.
This Riad is to be highly recommended, and we can't wait to return to it very soon.
Maurice

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

This Riad was disappointing and credit should be given to their website creators who have done a skilful job presenting it. We had the smallest room, Dolce, as it was the only one available. We confirmed with them that it had a window as the website picture gave us concern. We were assured it did, and that is true but only if you classify a glass panelled door as a window. The door led onto the first floor landing so the curtain had to be drawn for privacy which meant the majority of our stay in the room was under artificial light. This, combined with the very small room, made it feel airless and claustrophobic. The room itself was poor. The bathroom door could not be shut due to a poorly positioned handle, the bath had no plug or means to plug and the television chose when to work. All the towels in the room had seen better days as they were frayed and worn – the sort of towels I would consign to use on our dogs.
The pool was situated outside the kitchen which did not render it enticing. Not their fault but the view from the roof terrace was of dozens of satellite dishes and building sites for roof tops and not much else. The staff spoke almost no English making it impossible for them to advise us about Marrakech. Of course that again is our fault for not speaking French but be warned.
The location near the square was great but a room which Travelodge would not boast about in a soulless Riad became increasingly irksome as the days went on. For our last night we had to move Riads and the light, airiness and character there was in stark contrast to Carllian and demonstrated to us that the Carllian was a poor choice.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

Thank you very much for such a relaxing stay. The staff are very welcoming and attentive. The food is lovely also and the pool is beautiful. Away from the bustle and heat of outside, the riad is like a little slice of heaven tucked away. Merci ! Gabriella & William.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

A wonderful stay at your Riad... Thank you for such a relaxing, pleasurable time. We enjoyed our time so much we never knew what was the time of day ! We hope to be back soon. Thanks. Paul & Michelle

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#157 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Rihani
Le Rihani
#88 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#102 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Dollar Des Sables
Riad Dollar Des Sables
#196 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palais Sebban
Palais Sebban
#137 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad el Noujoum
Riad el Noujoum
#109 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Carllian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Carllian

Address: 24,25 Derb Dabachi - Derb Jamaa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#72 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#83 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#125 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#140 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Carllian 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at two minutes walking distance from the famous Jamaa-El-Fna place, Riad Carllian is the place dreamed to discover Marrakech. Easily accessible conveys some, this small haven of peace enjoys of an exceptional site. You will be accomodated there cordially by all our team which will bring a 5 stars service to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad Carllian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Carllian Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Carllian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.