We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Carllian

Save Saved
You added Riad Carllian to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Carllian
24,25 Derb Dabachi - Derb Jamaa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Bern, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

We have been staying 5 days in Marrakech including two days in Riad Carllian, Suite Tendance. This is truly an oasis in the middle of Marrakech's medina. Pamper yourself with luxury at this wonderful Riad. The Riad has it's own hammam, pool and jacuzzi on the roof to help you relax and unwind after a day haggling in the souks. The massage with warm oil was great and the staff was extremly friendly and helpful. The food was excellent.
This Riad is to be highly recommended, and we can't wait to return to it very soon.
Maurice

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    31
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
25
89
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

This Riad was disappointing and credit should be given to their website creators who have done a skilful job presenting it. We had the smallest room, Dolce, as it was the only one available. We confirmed with them that it had a window as the website picture gave us concern. We were assured it did, and that is true but only if you classify a glass panelled door as a window. The door led onto the first floor landing so the curtain had to be drawn for privacy which meant the majority of our stay in the room was under artificial light. This, combined with the very small room, made it feel airless and claustrophobic. The room itself was poor. The bathroom door could not be shut due to a poorly positioned handle, the bath had no plug or means to plug and the television chose when to work. All the towels in the room had seen better days as they were frayed and worn – the sort of towels I would consign to use on our dogs.
The pool was situated outside the kitchen which did not render it enticing. Not their fault but the view from the roof terrace was of dozens of satellite dishes and building sites for roof tops and not much else. The staff spoke almost no English making it impossible for them to advise us about Marrakech. Of course that again is our fault for not speaking French but be warned.
The location near the square was great but a room which Travelodge would not boast about in a soulless Riad became increasingly irksome as the days went on. For our last night we had to move Riads and the light, airiness and character there was in stark contrast to Carllian and demonstrated to us that the Carllian was a poor choice.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

Thank you very much for such a relaxing stay. The staff are very welcoming and attentive. The food is lovely also and the pool is beautiful. Away from the bustle and heat of outside, the riad is like a little slice of heaven tucked away. Merci ! Gabriella & William.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

A wonderful stay at your Riad... Thank you for such a relaxing, pleasurable time. We enjoyed our time so much we never knew what was the time of day ! We hope to be back soon. Thanks. Paul & Michelle

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

“We had a lovely stay at Riad CARLLIAN. It is very well situated only a few steps from the big square! Beautiful rooms (great airco), delicious food, a very warm welcome. The staff is amazing! Everything we hoped for to make our stay unforgettable !!
If you are looking for a great place to stay during your holiday in Marrakech this is the perfect one!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jsmt13
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

We have just returned from a 4 days stay at the Riad CARLLIAN, it was our first time in Marrakech and it will be an unforgettable memory. The riad is located right in the center of the old city which makes it the perfect base for exploration of Marrakech. The Riad CARLLIAN has high standards of service and cleanliness. All the staff are welcoming and appear dedicated to assist their guests to enjoy their stay. There cannot be a better Riad in wonderful Marrakech. The food is also fantastic - wonderful breakfasts and delicious dinners. We were looking for complete relaxation and we certainly got this here. Staying in this etablishment was a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

We stayed in Marrakech for three nights. The riad is well placed, 10 minutes walking from the square Jemma el Fna, above from that everything is dissapointing: the hotel is very little, rooms very poor, staff really rude, cleaning inproper, the shower didn´t work, the adittional services (guide, excurssions) overpriced,there was internet but they didn´t let clients use..... For the 125 € we paid you can find lots of hotels and riads in marrakech much more better. [--]

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Carllian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Carllian

Address: 24,25 Derb Dabachi - Derb Jamaa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#159 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at two minutes walking distance from the famous Jamâa-El-Fna place, Riad Carllian is the place dreamed to discover Marrakech. Easily accessible conveys some, this small haven of peace enjoys of an exceptional site. You will be accomodated there cordially by all our team which will bring a 5 stars service to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Riad Carllian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Carllian Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Carllian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.