We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style, comfort and peace in the Marrakech medina.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chambres d'amis

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chambres d'amis
Save Saved
You added Chambres d'amis to your Saves list
Derb Dabachi Derb Moulay Abdelkader 46/47, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 1,054 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Style, comfort and peace in the Marrakech medina.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Karen Hadfield of Cafe Tissardmine booked our group in here as part of our Moroccan Caravan Writing Journey. We'd already been 10 days from Fes to Erg Chebbi and Chambre d'Amis was the perfect place to end our trip. We had travelled across the High Atlas Mts that day and were all pretty tired and worn out, so to arrive in the gorgeous living room with open fire and mint tea and sweets felt like coming home. The rooms are charming, with stunning modern Moroccan chic decor and breakfast and our final workshop on the rooftop terrace was treat.Jansky and Abdul Salaam were perfect hosts with the ladies of the kitchen all looking after us so well. So close to all the exciting medina madness but such a peaceful oasis to come home to. I liked it so much I stayed on an extra couple of days and will bring my group again next year.

Room Tip: go for a double room .. so comfy..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
44
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Thank you Jansky for a fabulous stay, short as it was. A beautifully renovated Riad in the heart of the medina of Marrakech, just a short stroll from the busy delights if the souks, the night food stalls, the markets with all their tempting wares. This Riad is extremely comfortable and the staff are simply wonderful! Jansky is the perfect host and Abu Salem and the women in the kitchen will pamper you with their generosity of spirit. I'll certainly come back to stay the next time I visit Marrakech!
Mémé

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We really liked to be here. Thanks to the host, helpfull and kind and funny. To the great women in the kitchen, nice dinners, a very homely atmosphere. All the staff made it a very good stay. This riad in marrocan/nederlandish style sort of made a relaxing and good contrast to the very busy and colorfull medinalife. We are looking foreward to go back :-)
Charlotte and Anne-Li

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Staying at Chambres d'Amis felt like being at home. A relaxed atmosphere with a warm, genuine staff! A décor lovers paradise, it's beautifully yet comfortably and casually designed. It was our favourite spot in Morocco! So, so beautiful! The warm welcome of mint tea and pastries every time you came from the bustling medina was such a treat and the complimentary bottled water in our rooms just gave that added value, care and attention. I don't think I've ever stayed anywhere where I've left feeling like I've made new friends!You can request dinner if you've been out all day and are too tired to go out.It's delicious!The riad is close to the square and souks and the roof top terrace a quiet place to escape and relax. LOVED our stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

An oasis in the middle of a turbulent and colorful medina. Very tastefully decorated, with a roof terrace as refuge when you are tired and want to enjoy the sun with a book. The lovely staff takes care of you like it's their own home you are visiting. The food they cooked for us was fabulous. This is certainly a place I would love to visit again. Thank you Rutger-Jan for ensuring we were always well taken care of!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Nestled in the heart of "the souk", this Riadh combined Moroccan architecture with clean and airy interior design to create an inspired atmosphere fully appreciated after a day of exploring Marrakech. The rooftop patio was perfect for relaxing with a bottle of wine and enjoying the moon before our night out on the square! Make sure you have someone to guide you to the Riadh if you are unfamiliar with Marrakech or you may never find it, which, seemed to add to the magic of our stay there. The staff is amazing and the dutch manager, whom we adoredd, will give you a tour that is unique!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Riad is close by where the action is. Nice and tasteful decorated with a touch of Dutch way of living. Like the owner is also the manager of the complex, Rutger-Jan, from Holland. He is a “smooth operator” and vibrant in his way of talking and thinking. It feels quickly like you were there for two weeks instead of one day.

Don’t think you can come here by car, there is a taxi stop at the nearby Djemaa El Fna and after that is a medium walk to the Riad. There are no signs at all that lead to the Riad so you can’t find without help of a third party. Count on a ticket on your bill for the courier, other Riads in Marrakech do this as a service. Just like other Riads in Marrakech dinner is also provided (optional) at the terrace on the roof.

It seems that this Riad is in de “running costs” just a little bit more expensive as other Riads, perhaps there is a Dutch mathematic reason for that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chambres d'amis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambres d'amis

Address: Derb Dabachi Derb Moulay Abdelkader 46/47, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 1,054 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chambres d'amis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.