We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish riad, warm welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chambres d'amis

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chambres d'amis
Save
You added Chambres d'amis to your Saves list
Derb Dabachi Derb Moulay Abdelkader 46/47, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Kessel, Limburg, Netherlands
1 review
“Stylish riad, warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The crowded Jemaa el Fna, the souks, the colours, the sweet smells of the food: it was overwhelming! The riad, however, is an oasis of rest in the middle of the medina. Very stylish and with a fantastic staff! Rutger Jan gave us a lot of information and suggestions for things to do, things not to do, places to eat etc. Because of this and the good offices of the staff (lovely breakfast and dinner at the riad!), Marrakech was a great experience for us! We would highly recommend a stay at Chambres d'amis!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
48
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

The Medina is a busy, busy place full of horse drawn carriages, snake charmers, monkey handlers, souks, restaurants, and street performers. After a few hours of this amazing world it is a wonderful feeling to come "home" to your riad and relax. Chambres d'Amis was the perfect oasis from the hustle and bustle of the Medina but only a couple minute's walk from the Jemma el Fna. The staff is kind and accommodating and the food is absolutely amazing. My room was perfectly clean and cozy and it was wonderful to wake up to breakfast on the terrace every morning. I would highly suggest staying here!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

From humoristic host Rutger Jan we were given useful tips about life in Marrakech while he walked us from our taxi to the Riad, were we felt immediately at home.

We stayed four nights in Chambres d'Amis in the middle of the Medina.

The riad is an oasis of peace and quiet and indulgence!

Whenever we returned from the city, the square or the souk;
It's amazing to experience the contrast of the crowd, the colors, the scents in the Medina and the complete delight of Chambres d'Amis.

Rutger Jan, Anke and the staff made our stay unforgettable and of course Marrakech itself. What a city!

We sure will return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

I have stayed in this riad twice now, and it is fantastic base for the city. Jansky is a godsend - he knows all the ins and outs of the city and was super-helpful with tips and suggestions for places to go and visit and things to do, as well as sorting out taxis etc.

The location is perfect - very close to the main square, but tucked away from all the hustle and bustle, providing a much-needed little oasis of peace and quiet, and nice and cool after all the heat outside. It is spotlessly clean, decorated in a trendy, minimal, Ikea-esque style.

Minor downsides: the rooms can get a little cold at night if you are not travelling in the hotter months. And also there isn't a dipping pool, which can be a welcome extra for some of you after a long day in the dust and heat. Showers can be a little temperemental. And the riad can be quite tricky to find first time round, so let Jansky sort you a taxi.

I'm in the middle of booking the riad again for June so don't let my criticisms put you off - it really is a gem : )

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

This peaceful lovely riad is a gem in the center of Marrakech. The visitors are in the prefect hands of the host Rutger Jan and his staff. This is a place where you can enjoy Marrakech in a wonderful way. Very stylish and modern within the beautiful moroccan heritage.

Therefor:
If you go to Marrakech stay in this lovely riad.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I loved this place. In the center of Marrakech in the medina and close to the souk, this place is very peaceful. The staff great and very helpful. I totally recommend to go here.

Room Tip: A room on the second floor gives a good view of the Riad
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Visiting Chambres d’Amis was positive. The location is very good if one wants to live close to the center of the city (3 minutes walk from Djemaa El Fna Square and the Souks).

The first time of arriving to Chambres d’Amis it is recommended to ask Jansky (the host) to arrange a taxi. It is not so easy to find the riad the first time. However, after one have seen the way it is easy to get around.

The service at the riad was good too. Local Moroccans were preparing food and making sure that the guest had a good a relaxing time. Furthermore, Jansky was very helpful and service minded. He took great care of his guests and was more than willing to give advices about the city, what to see and how to get around.

The guests have to remember that this is a riad; thus, it can not be compared to a hotel. This means that there are not big TV screens, no pools, no mini bars etc. In my situation this was positive since I wanted to get the feeling of the Moroccan culture and everyday life. The riad is a place where one lives closer to the local culture compared to at a hotel. The design and (most) interior is local. This together with the local staff gives one a feeling of the Moroccan life.

The rooms in the riad all had own bath and toilet. There was a roof terrace where breakfast was served and where one could relax, enjoy the sun and find peace and rest from the hectic life in the streets of Marrakech.

On the negative side can be mentioned that if living two persons together in a double room there is a lack of privacy when going to the toilet. The toilet was only shielded with a wall. Thus, there is no door to close.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chambres d'amis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambres d'amis

Address: Derb Dabachi Derb Moulay Abdelkader 46/47, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chambres d'amis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.