We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horror location” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Oumaima

Save Saved
You added Riad Oumaima to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Oumaima
30 derb Ouayhah | Sidi ABDELAZIZ, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #609 of 1,054 Marrakech B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Horror location”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We book staying in riad for o e night me and my friends the location is so remote and hard to find and when i find it it was like in horror movie and the parking was so far away and we had a rent a car but on web site of riad it was that parking is near hote ,yes near 3 km and i sad that i do not want to stay bicause the location is so remote and inpossible to find and they dont have parking near hotel but they charge my credit card for full price so dont go there its not like in pictures

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    20
    7
    3
    7
See reviews for
19
63
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I spent a long time researching places to stay to Marrakesh and am very glad I stumbled upon this one. A lovely, inviting Riad with a pleasant atmosphere, kind and attentive staff, great food and beautiful rooms. Clearly excellent value for the money. Three of us visited and had booked the suite but were given two gorgeous double rooms instead. We felt very welcome and pleased with our choice, I would recommend this place to anyone, it has charm and character.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This riad as seen on the website has only 6 rooms on offer. Despite booking the family suite (2 separate rooms) and having this confirmed with the exact name of the room, we arrived and were taken to their sister riad across the street, which is where they have an extra 13 rooms. The decor is much different, African style instead of Moroccan, which makes it much darker and not to my taste. We were first offered a room with additional beds. I insisted on receiving 2 separate bedrooms and we were given 2 adjoining rooms. The room we (the parents) stayed in was very dark, with a very small bathroom, and worst of all above the riad entry door and overlooking the outside street which made it very noisy at all times of night and day. This was our 4th stay in Morocco and Marrakesh, and this was our worse accommodation ever. I relied on other travelers' comments for booking this accommodation, and was deeply disappointed. Other aspects went wrong there too, which were circumstantial so I won't dwell on it, but service was very very sloooow, and breakfast very average. So a word of advice if you are wanting to stay, insist on knowing where you will end up.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Not the most luxurious riad, but not the most expensive either.
Plus points - traditional Moroccan style & décor, EXCELLENT traditional dinners cooked by Zenab & served by(English-speaking) Abdulla, both of whom are friendly& welcoming, plus helpful French owners Jean-Marc & Chantal.
Minus points - it is NOT easy to find, even with a street plan & having negotiated our way through the maze of tiny alleys several times, we got lost! A few arrows with the name of the Riad would help.
Our shower water was unreliable, temperature-wise & due to the small screen sprayed water all over, soaking the bath mat. There was nowhere to hang it to dry - we had to ask for replacements as it wasn't changed daily.
As all the rooms look onto the courtyard (the main eating & relaxing area) they could be noisy, due to the TV, CD player, children running about or people chatting late into the night.
We were warned by the owner that the feral cats could be a nuisance, & the only time I used a lounger-bed on the roof terrace I gave up after 5 minutes because of the smell of cats' pee.

Room Tip: Our room was a Duplex with the bed on a kind of shelf - avoid this if you have to make frequent trip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful time during our stay in this beautiful Riad. We are a family with 3 children and we stayed in the family suite with two bedrooms and a living room.
The staff is very friendly. The location is perfect for wandering around the medina. In the Riad it is very peacefull and quiet. We woud definitely recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

First a tip: go by bus from the airport to the nearby busstation of Sidi Abdelaziz. You pay 30 dirham for a single trip. Round is 50 dirham pro person. We went by taxi and got ripped off for 220 dirham single trip. So beware for the taxi drivers, you can get it much cheaper and dont go to the first taxi you see, keep walking.
Also, if boys show you the way they ask 50 dirham each for just showing the road. Give them a small tip and beware of their tactics.
Riad Oumaima is small and cosy. Very nice atmosphere. If we go again to Marrakesh, we will visit this riad again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

At first we were anxious about ever finding our way in and out of here. But we were given detailed maps and one of the guys working here even walked with us the first time. After our first day, we had no problems navigating our way around. The riad is absolutely beautiful and is a peaceful haven considering its location. Its the most tranquil place we have had the pleasure of staying at our entire trip thus far. The people who work here really go out of their way to ensure one is well looked after. They are warm and welcoming and are able to organise many excursions out of marrakech city. I absolutely loved my time here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Oumaima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Oumaima

Address: 30 derb Ouayhah | Sidi ABDELAZIZ, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #609 of 1,054 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will appreciate the relaxed rhythm of life, the peace and the conviviality which reigns in this house. Chantal and Jean Marc will welcome you all year long with their team which will try hard to satisfy your desires. Typically lounge, dining room and 5 guest houses. Warmed swimming pool, smalls lounges in the patio and in passageways. On the terrace, pergola and transats for the idleness. Seen of the mountains of the Atlas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Oumaima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Oumaima Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Oumaima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;