We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Oumaima

Save Saved
You added Riad Oumaima to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Oumaima
30 derb Ouayhah | Sidi ABDELAZIZ, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #623 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Banbury
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Very good value for money!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Not the most luxurious riad, but not the most expensive either.
Plus points - traditional Moroccan style & décor, EXCELLENT traditional dinners cooked by Zenab & served by(English-speaking) Abdulla, both of whom are friendly& welcoming, plus helpful French owners Jean-Marc & Chantal.
Minus points - it is NOT easy to find, even with a street plan & having negotiated our way through the maze of tiny alleys several times, we got lost! A few arrows with the name of the Riad would help.
Our shower water was unreliable, temperature-wise & due to the small screen sprayed water all over, soaking the bath mat. There was nowhere to hang it to dry - we had to ask for replacements as it wasn't changed daily.
As all the rooms look onto the courtyard (the main eating & relaxing area) they could be noisy, due to the TV, CD player, children running about or people chatting late into the night.
We were warned by the owner that the feral cats could be a nuisance, & the only time I used a lounger-bed on the roof terrace I gave up after 5 minutes because of the smell of cats' pee.

Room Tip: Our room was a Duplex with the bed on a kind of shelf - avoid this if you have to make frequent trip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    20
    7
    3
    7
See reviews for
19
62
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful time during our stay in this beautiful Riad. We are a family with 3 children and we stayed in the family suite with two bedrooms and a living room.
The staff is very friendly. The location is perfect for wandering around the medina. In the Riad it is very peacefull and quiet. We woud definitely recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

First a tip: go by bus from the airport to the nearby busstation of Sidi Abdelaziz. You pay 30 dirham for a single trip. Round is 50 dirham pro person. We went by taxi and got ripped off for 220 dirham single trip. So beware for the taxi drivers, you can get it much cheaper and dont go to the first taxi you see, keep walking.
Also, if boys show you the way they ask 50 dirham each for just showing the road. Give them a small tip and beware of their tactics.
Riad Oumaima is small and cosy. Very nice atmosphere. If we go again to Marrakesh, we will visit this riad again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

At first we were anxious about ever finding our way in and out of here. But we were given detailed maps and one of the guys working here even walked with us the first time. After our first day, we had no problems navigating our way around. The riad is absolutely beautiful and is a peaceful haven considering its location. Its the most tranquil place we have had the pleasure of staying at our entire trip thus far. The people who work here really go out of their way to ensure one is well looked after. They are warm and welcoming and are able to organise many excursions out of marrakech city. I absolutely loved my time here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed two nights in July with our three kids (8, 5 and 3) and could not have been more happy with our choice of riad. Riad Oumaima is absolutely gorgeous, with a lovely heart-shaped plunge pool, lots of fine details in the furnishings, and a great terrace on top.
Having the pool was a great help for us to make sure our kids felt okay with the challenges of Marrakech in the summertime. The location of the riad is ideal for exploring the souks, strolling down to the Place (10 minute walk), and wandering about the old heart of the medina.
Final words have to go to the staff and the food - breakfasts were luxurious with fruit, pancakes, yoghurt, bread, and more. We had some of the best tajines of our whole three-week stay in Morocco here. All in all, the best choice you can make for a riad in the medina, if you ask me!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here with friends. It was our first time in a Riad and it was gorgeous. The rooms were all different and lovely. The terraces was a nice cool place to hang out in the evening with a nice view of the city at night.

As a side note the place is found down an alley/road called Derb Ouayhah. You will make the first two right handed turns. The road is narrow and makes a lot of turns, it is also not lit in someplaces. The Riad is not marked with a sign like some of the others but is marked with #16. I hope this saves you some trouble/worry the first time you try to find it :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

The tiny maze-like streets that lead you to the Riad are incredibly deceptive of the hotel's size, beauty and charm. As soon as the front door opened, we were stunned. Beautifully decorated, all details tended to by a warm staff (need I mention our various "towel art" on our bed each day?!), and super comfortable room with tip-top amenities (the best sleep and shower I had in my 3-week travel in Morocco!!), Riad Oumaima was a real gem.

The riad is located near the old Medina and Djemaa el Fna (short 5 to 10-minute walk), and is situated on a quiet street away from the main hustle and bustle. If you want a night cap on the way back from a day's adventures, you can always stop by Cafe Arabe (definitely a travelers' haunt rather than a local's) which is only a 2-minute walk away. The breakfast was delicious and plenty (huge cups of coffee), the service was warm but not intrusive, and if you wish for connection to the world, wi-fi was consistent and strong. At night time, when the inside of the riad was lit up with candles, sometimes we just sat at the table right in front of our room and enjoyed the peace and quiet.

Stay here. You won't find a more beautiful, comfortable, gracious, and warm place for the price in Marrakesh! I cannot recommend this place more!!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 2nd floor (or higher) - it'll offer you more privacy; plus, you'll get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Oumaima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Oumaima

Address: 30 derb Ouayhah | Sidi ABDELAZIZ, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #623 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will appreciate the relaxed rhythm of life, the peace and the conviviality which reigns in this house. Chantal and Jean Marc will welcome you all year long with their team which will try hard to satisfy your desires. Typically lounge, dining room and 5 guest houses. Warmed swimming pool, smalls lounges in the patio and in passageways. On the terrace, pergola and transats for the idleness. Seen of the mountains of the Atlas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Oumaima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Oumaima Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Oumaima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.