We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Wiam

Save Saved
You added Riad El Wiam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad El Wiam
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   24 - 25 derb Gnaoua Ben Saleh, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
1 review
“Lovely Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at Riad El Wiam last October for my birthday. When we arrived we had some complimentary Moroccan tea and biscuits whilst sitting in the reception area - after a long coach journey it was just what we needed.

We were upgraded to the most beautiful room we've ever stayed in. The bed was scattered in petals. The decor was amazing and needs to be seen.

The Riad was situated just around the corner from a busy street - you couldn't hear any noise. It was really peaceful.

We had breakfast on the rooftop each morning. Plenty of food. On my actual birthday they had prepared our breakfast table which they had placed a Rose in a vase and gave me a picture of Marrakech with a letter wishing me happy birthday. All the ladies at the Riad were so thoughtful.

If we return to Marrakech we will definitely be back!

Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    13
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
25
115
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Riad is located inside the Medina, 10 minutes walks from the main square. The staff was very helpful and friendly (in a couple of ocasions well above expectations!!). The Riad and our room were beautiful with an amazing decoration. Since the moment we arrived, the treatment was outstanding. They served us tea and cookies and made us relax and get into the mood. The breakfast was delicious and served in the terrace. We'll definitely stay there again when we comeback to Marrakech!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This riad is very well located - 10 minutes walk from the main square and in walking distance of most of Marrakesh's attractions. Even so, I recommend using the riad's transfer service from the airport- otherwise it would be very difficult to find .
Naima gave us an excellent map and advice on how to reach the various places. We were upgraded to the beautiful, spacious Majorelle room. The whole place was beautifully decorated. On the top floor there is a sun terrace. We had excellent breakfasts and everyone was only too willing to help at all times. It's very good value too.
Advice to first-time visitors, concentrate on your walking routes, especially through the souks, it's very easy to get lost, and don't believe all of the directional advice you get from locals!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I've just come back from supporting some friends at the Marrakech Marathon. We stayed at the Riad El Wiam and we really enjoyed it.
It's quite difficult to find on your own - but any of the locals will show you where it is (and refuse a tip!).
The only point to watch was that the bank card machine seemed to only accept Debit cards, not Credit cards.
It's a little oasis of peace in the middle of hectic Marrakech. The rooms were nicely decorated (our female companion loved them) and the receptionist Naima looked after us very well - she even brought out carbohydrate dates (cf figs) for the runners. The other staff were also charming. It really added to the trip. I'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youssef480, Propriétaire at Riad El Wiam, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your opinion, makes us happy, because you compliment our Riad el Wiam and you want to return to our hotel. The problem of credit card for your friends, it can not come to our terminal, since you paid by your credit card and it worked very well,
See you soon,
Sincerely,
William, Riad el Wiam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Beautifully decorated, tranquil. Lovely ladies who look after you very well. A real oasis of calm away from the madness of Marrakech. We were served breakfast on the roof top each day, and very nice it was too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed for 1 night, after happening upon this place while looking for a different riad. The Riad El Wiam is absolutely beautiful! Our room was large and comfortable with the most amazing marble (?) bathtub that I've ever seen. The staff pays tremendous attention to all details, and after a hectic and overwhelming day in the medina, we loved coming back to our quiet, peaceful room.

On the day we were there, the outside temperature was well over 100 degrees, but the riad was a relatively cool, comfortable temperature.

We did have trouble finding our way back to the riad after going out. I remembered reading a review for another riad on the same street that said to look for the 2 blue pots, and once we knew to do this, we were always able to find the right street.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

we stayed few days in this riad with our 20 month son. The riad is beautiful, so was our room. we really liked the bathroom with the huge bath and spending time in the roof terrasse. The staff was very nice and helpful, a big thanks to Naima who was really nice with us and took great care to make everything as confortable as possible.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad El Wiam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Wiam

Address: 24 - 25 derb Gnaoua Ben Saleh, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Wiam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 10 minutes walk from Jemaa El Fna, Riad El Wiam was designed to meet the demand for those seeking a pleasant place to stay with quality and exceptional service. Its flowers and tree terraces overlooking the Koutoubia and the Atlas Mountains offers the evening, an unforgettable spectacle, combining with both sound and light from the Place Jamaa El Fna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad El Wiam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Wiam Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Wiam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.