We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal attention” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Wiam

Save Saved
You added Riad El Wiam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad El Wiam
24 - 25 derb Gnaoua Ben Saleh, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 1,054 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Personal attention”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I've just come back from supporting some friends at the Marrakech Marathon. We stayed at the Riad El Wiam and we really enjoyed it.
It's quite difficult to find on your own - but any of the locals will show you where it is (and refuse a tip!).
The only point to watch was that the bank card machine seemed to only accept Debit cards, not Credit cards.
It's a little oasis of peace in the middle of hectic Marrakech. The rooms were nicely decorated (our female companion loved them) and the receptionist Naima looked after us very well - she even brought out carbohydrate dates (cf figs) for the runners. The other staff were also charming. It really added to the trip. I'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youssef480, Propriétaire at Riad El Wiam, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your opinion, makes us happy, because you compliment our Riad el Wiam and you want to return to our hotel. The problem of credit card for your friends, it can not come to our terminal, since you paid by your credit card and it worked very well,
See you soon,
Sincerely,
William, Riad el Wiam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    13
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
25
118
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Beautifully decorated, tranquil. Lovely ladies who look after you very well. A real oasis of calm away from the madness of Marrakech. We were served breakfast on the roof top each day, and very nice it was too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed for 1 night, after happening upon this place while looking for a different riad. The Riad El Wiam is absolutely beautiful! Our room was large and comfortable with the most amazing marble (?) bathtub that I've ever seen. The staff pays tremendous attention to all details, and after a hectic and overwhelming day in the medina, we loved coming back to our quiet, peaceful room.

On the day we were there, the outside temperature was well over 100 degrees, but the riad was a relatively cool, comfortable temperature.

We did have trouble finding our way back to the riad after going out. I remembered reading a review for another riad on the same street that said to look for the 2 blue pots, and once we knew to do this, we were always able to find the right street.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

we stayed few days in this riad with our 20 month son. The riad is beautiful, so was our room. we really liked the bathroom with the huge bath and spending time in the roof terrasse. The staff was very nice and helpful, a big thanks to Naima who was really nice with us and took great care to make everything as confortable as possible.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

It has been one pleasure to stay in Riad El Wiam. Patron William and his crew made our visit to Marrakech as comfortable as possible; from the warm welcome, the teas, the suggestions for dinner to the inhouse hamam and the well organised transfers from the airport and back.

The charming Riad is located in middle of the Medina, it takes only 5 minutes to the "Place El-Fna". If you are planning to buy some local handcrafted goods, such as leather bags, oriental lamps, scarfs and much more; you can find the "Souks" also in 5 minutes walking distance. With the map, where Najma marked all points of interest and shortcuts, you'll find back to the Riad from everywhere. Even the Riad is located in a small street, we always felt save - even at night.

The rooms are eyecandies - much attention is paid to the details and the colours. Towels are exchanged daily and the Riad is in any point very clean! Breakfast is served on demand; we had the pleasure to enjoy a different composition of local delights every day.

We booked the inhouse hamam twice; in a traditional hamam on the rooftop of the Riad we enjoyed the treatment of us two only. Been here in February, we enjoyed to sunbath on the rooftop; a perfect retreat if you feel tired from the rush in the streets after shopping and sightseeing.

William and his team really cared about our wellbeing - we can recommend this place!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

this riad just has it all : great location, beautiful traditionnal rooms and patios, sunny terrace overlooking the Atlas mountains, hammam and jacuzzi, delicious food, with a very helpful and friendly staff!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youssef480, Propriétaire at Riad El Wiam, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Thank you very much, your review is important for all team of Riad El Wiam.
We hope see you another time in this wonderful city .
Best regards, all team of Riad El Wiam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

Riad El Wiam was a beautiful, peaceful haven in the bustling, noisy Medina. The staff were always friendly and helpful, and kept the place spotlessly clean. The buidling was stunningly beautiful inside and our room was lovely. The breakfasts were different local dishes every day and the food was plentiful. The entrance is down a dark alley which is worrying first time, but never a problem and we always felt safe. Higly recommended and we hope to return one day.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad El Wiam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Wiam

Address: 24 - 25 derb Gnaoua Ben Saleh, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 1,054 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 10 minutes walk from Jemaa El Fna, Riad El Wiam was designed to meet the demand for those seeking a pleasant place to stay with quality and exceptional service. Its flowers and tree terraces overlooking the Koutoubia and the Atlas Mountains offers the evening, an unforgettable spectacle, combining with both sound and light from the Place Jamaa El Fna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Riad El Wiam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Wiam Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Wiam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.