We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Riad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Diana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Diana to your Saves list
Riad Diana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 Derb Jdid | Quartier Riad Zitoune Lakdim, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #86 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Riad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

A lovely riad perfectly situated for exploring the 'madhouse' that is Marrakech! The staff are friendly & welcoming and the terrace room at the top of the building is really very pleasant and quiet. The bed is raised and extremely comfortable compared to my limited other Moroccan experiences. Beware the heavy brass shower head which could break a toe if it fell! Breakfasts are served in the central patio and are very good. Overall, an excellent place to stay for a short break.

Room Tip: The terrace room, although a bit smaller, is removed from the potentially noisy part of the Riad, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    101
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
93
217
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the riad for 3 days in the early July. Was very pleased with the location, very friendly staff and excellent service. Would advise to order a taxi with the riad when going from the airport as there are a lot of narrow streets in the city centre and quite easy to get lost if it's your first time. On our first night (arrived at 8pm)we were welcomed by some mint tea (got to love it a lot!) and showed to our room. Had a lovely room on the rooftop. I honestly think it was the best room we could possible have. Had access to the terrace on the roof and as it's wasn't a busy time - the whole place was to ourselves! A great feeling after a busy day running around souks to sit down in a tent with a cup of mint tea and read a book! Internet was also working very well. Would definitely recommend this riad if you are looking for a place close to the city centre (would certainly recommend to stay close to the medina for at least 2 days before moving to the ocean or a resort to enjoy the business of the city and getting into dusty taxis is quite annoying when it's hot outside) with friendly staff and excellent service!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glinde, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just a few minutes away from the Djeema el Fna square in the centre of Marrakech in a little alley is Riad Diana located were we finished our recent trip through Morocco. We spent a couple nights for the first time in this Riad and had a great time due to the amicability of the personnel. The ambience was fascinating and all the rooms are furnished with a personal touch. The only recommendation we have for the Diana team not to be so stubborn to accept payment in cash and credit card at check-out. It was the end of our vacation in Morocco and we wanted to get rid of our remaining Dirhams and to pay the difference through credit card. This was vehemently rejected with an unpleasant tone of the reception staff on duty, a bitter after taste of a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I hired the whole of this riad for my sisters Hen celebrations and I just have to say this place was simply wonderful.

They looked after us beautifully - were so helpful leading up to the celebrations with everything I need confirmed and then when we arrived they had a driver waiting for us who took us to this gorgeous place.

Where we had the whole riad to ourselves we obviously had a different experience than if we had been sharing it with others - but the rooms are beautifully decorated - all of the seating areas are very sweet - the roof top was lovely to have a drink on.

The food they prepared us was delicious and the staff looked after us so well - I really can not speak highly enough of Riad Diana.

In terms of location its really near the main square - I've been to Marrakech a couple of times and would recommend this place for anyone who wanted to stay in the Old Town.

If you want a lot of privacy - then a riad in general isn't for you probably - noise travels in these traditional places and with the lay out of any riad you are going to be sharing a home with other guests - but for 1 or 2 nights to experience the old town - or if you are a family or a group of friends sharing the whole place I really recommend it.


Value for money - you get a 5star experience for a fabulous price

Room Tip: There was a cute private room on the roof top that my mum stayed in that she loved if you wanted to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I've been here with my grandfather and we both liked it.
Although not far away from Jemaa El Fna quiet and cozy. A great place to stay, especially because of the nice and helpful staff.
Great breakfast, too.
Here (like in any other riad because of their architecture) it might become a little loud when other guests are loud in the inner courtyard.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I must say I was sceptical when I booked this as it was extremely cheap and was highly rated on Trip Advisor.

The Riad is located in the back blocks of the Old Town and we followed our luggage chariot, who greeted us when the taxi dropped us of, through the maze which is made up of the narrow lane ways of the Old Town.

When we first arrived 2 words came to mind, peaceful and tranquil.

The Check In...

Pretty simple check in with no issues as we had all documents available.

The Room/Rooms...

The first couple of nights we were in a single room with a double bed, television, sofa and coffee table. Although simple the room was spacious and clean. Due to other guests arriving we were moved to another room after 2 nights, we didn't mind as they had advised us upon check in that this was going to happen. Our second room was large and had a separate lounge room and ensuite. Similar fixtures and fittings to our original room and it was located up 1 more level.

The Food...

We only had breakfast here, which was pretty basic, but more than enough and I'm sure they would have provided more if you had have asked. Crepes, Orange Juice and breads were the staples.

The Facilities...

They have a small pool, which can only be described as refreshing, even in August. The pool is located on the ground level. The rooftop garden is a great place to enjoy the afternoon sun and you have great views over Marrakech. We also had a Hammam (Moroccan Massage) in the Riad, it did seem rushed and I recommend that guests got to a traditional Hammam outside of the Riad.

The Location...

It's in a very good position in the Old Town, it's the opposite side of the Medina than The Souk so it's very quiet. It's a 10 minute walk, at the most, from the Medina and an array of shops a less than a 2 minute walk.

Overall...

For someone who is used to 5 star resorts, this was out of my comfort zone. If it's your first time to Morocco then this is a great place to stay. Although not 5 star this most certainly exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great staff every thing went well from airport pick-up to airport drop-off.Tour to Atlas moutians all arranged by Riad staff and taken by a local firm,Spoke very good Engish,stopped when and where you wanted.Well worth what we paid.

GREAT.....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Diana

Address: 85 Derb Jdid | Quartier Riad Zitoune Lakdim, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#72 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Diana 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come in and enjoy the spirit and the friendly service of Marrakech! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Diana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Diana Marrakech
Riad Diana Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Diana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.