We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, pleasing riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Diana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Diana to your Saves list
Riad Diana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 Derb Jdid | Quartier Riad Zitoune Lakdim, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #86 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
1 review
“Friendly, pleasing riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this Riad with 3 girlfriends. The staff were all friendly and always went that extra mile to make us feel at home and welcome at all times. Mohammed is a very hard working man and tried his hardest to please us, up and down the stairs many times serving the infamous mint tea and lovely breakfast to us on the beautiful roof terrace. The meat tagine was the most succulent lamb I have ever tasted, this was served to us on our arrival, my compliments to the cook, she was very attentive and always willing to please. Overall a very clean, traditional, family feel riad with lovely staff.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    101
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
93
217
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
den haag
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Riad Diana is a very nice riad with very friendly staff.

Also the taxi drivers used by this riad were very very friendly!

The Riad has a very good location: easy to find, just a minute walk from a cosy shopping street and just a few minutes walk to the jemaa el fna square. So close to the hustle and bustle but in the Riad you don't hear anything from outside! Inside your room you can hear other guests very well so if we had younger kids (making noice) I don't know if I would feel comfortable with that...

Special for families with children (during our stay our children were 8 and 10):
- The Arba room is a very nice family room with 4 sleeping places, a lot of space and very nice decorated
- We have used the hamam and massage of the riad (kids were half price). The hamam is small but perfect for a first visit to a hamam and perfect to do with children. One minus: the treatment was not as long as promised: 45 minutes hamam was only 20 minutes and the one hour massage was only 45 minutes (for the children it was even less time...).
- The Riad felt really like home: we even didn't close the doors of our room!! Normally we never leave our children alone but here it felt ok that they were already in the room at the time we had to finish our hamam and massage
- We also took the candlelight dinner (19 euro pp but children were only 12 euro pp). It was delicious but be aware that only one main dish (Tajine) is served. Unfortunately one of our kids didn't like the dish... (not the Riads fault!!). In compare with european prices the dinner is not expensive but during our roundtrip Morocco we now know it was a very expensive meal for Morocco! We eat the same kind of dinner in other places, also very delicious, for less than half the price of the dinner in the Riad
- Breakfast is very nice and the kids liked the pancakes a lot!

In the riad you can pay with Visa card but only for the room! Other expenditure need to be paid in cash! It would be nice if we knew that before... now we had to go out again to go to a cash machine...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We spent 4 nights at this well run and pretty Riad.
Extremely happy with everything, the staff were very friendly, helpful and spoke good English.
The room was very authentic and beautiful. Everything functioned well in the room.
Location was ideal, easy to find, within walking distance to Jemma El Fna square.
Overall would recommend and return back to Riad Diana.

Thank you to the manager Boujemaie, Badr who prepared our breakfast and team for your hospitality. We will return here again Inshaala.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Riad Diana is a wonderful family run guesthouse situated in the heart of the Medina just 5 minutes from Jama al-fna square. My husband, 14-month-old son, and I stayed for three nights and had such a relaxing time. We had a few concerns about traveling with our young son but they catered to our every need and made us feel so welcome. The room we stayed in was luxurious and large and despite its central location, it is very quiet. I would highly recommend taking advantage of their hammam and getting a massage. Whether you have gone to hammams or not before, it is a must do at Riad Diana followed by a massage and tea on the gorgeous sunny roof terrace. I will definitely stay with them on out next trip and I would not hesitate to recommend Riad Diana to anyone traveling to Marrakech!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife, 14 month old son and I had such a calming and relaxing time in this Riad. From the moment we got to the Riad, we were made to feel like family. This is a family run Riad and they pride themselves on opening up their home to you and that is exactly what they do. The food here was lovely, the atmosphere sublime. And, best of all, it is right in the middle of Marrakesh in a quiet little street 5 minutes from Jama Fna Square. I really couldn't say enough good things about the guys at this Riad - they made us feel so special and could not do enough things for us. I cannot wait to go back to Marrakesh and stay here. Thanks Boujemaa and family for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed two nights at Riad Diana and we have only one complaint and that is that we couldn't stay longer! It is an oasis of calm in a mad but wonderful city. We stayed in the Arba suite which is beautiful. We travelled with our teenage daughters and there was plenty of room for all of us. All the staff made us feel welcome and tolerated our lack of French with gracious humour. Breakfast on the terrace will be a memory that will last a long time. We ordered lunch in the Riad and it was a delicious example of Moroccan cuisine and felt so special. The location was fantastic and I cannot think of a better place to stay in Marrakech. Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Its our honeymoon, and from the first email we sent to arrange a lift from the airport we recieved a wonderful service.
Our flight was late - no problem. We had a meal booked - no problem. We needed to change our lisft back to the airport at the very last minute - no problem.

We stayed in the room on the top of the riad - We loved it. It was our "penthouse", with great views, a patio we called our own (it was for other guests too!) and a cozy bed.

The service was excellent - if we needed something we asked (didnt need much! - the manager was always one step ahead). Maybe if all travellers actually asked for help instead of writing reviews about poor service,,,,, (sorry - my pet hate)

We met many new friends here - and used the riad to book a trip to the mountains (the riad suggested sharing with a couple to halve the cost - thank you!) and went to the desert for one night - worth doing it, but camels do hurt your backside. Again, all arranged by the riad.

Brilliant - will be back! First class.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Diana

Address: 85 Derb Jdid | Quartier Riad Zitoune Lakdim, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#72 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Diana 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come in and enjoy the spirit and the friendly service of Marrakech! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Diana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Diana Marrakech
Riad Diana Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Diana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.