We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Diana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Diana to your Saves list
Riad Diana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 Derb Jdid | Quartier Riad Zitoune Lakdim, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #128 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A very nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

There is nothing to fault with this Riad. It is very conveniently situated, a few minutes from the taxi drop off point and a 5/10 minute stroll to the main square. Well worth asking the Riad to book the taxi transfer as it would be very difficult to find otherwise. We also booked a meal there the first night and it was very good but be aware, when we left we were given a bill for the room and taxi which we could pay by card but they wanted cash for the meal and drinks. There is a money exchange very close to the Riad, good for changing £/Euro to dirhams but they couldn't/wouldn't exchange them back.
Boujemoi, the manager, also booked a taxi for our trips to the mountains which were a complete contrast to the bustling city.
I would recommend this Riad to anyone looking to sample Moroccan hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barneyvip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed two nights at Riad Diana to give our three children (13, 11 and 8) a real Marrakech experience. We had the downstairs double and the children the first floor treble and the rooms were very clean and comfortable.
From our welcome with mint tea ( our 8 yr old daughter loved it) everything was flawless. We hadn't booked dinner but Boujemol booked it for us at the nearby Dar es Salaam - a great experience. Superb food (tagine) with wine and dancers ( tea tray on head followed by amazing belly dancer who got our ten tear old on his feet and ended with a kiss).
Saw the Jemma el Fnaa by day and night. Went to the Badii Palace - ruined but large no guide necessary ( our mistake). Drinks at Cafe de France then got lost in the Souks followed by caliche round walls to Madresa Ben Yousef and museum. Guide took us to spice shop Herbaliste des Amis. This time very interesting and worthwhile.
Returned to Riad where two youngest tried cold plunge pool. Then rested before excellent dinner with wine. Left next day after great breakfast thoroughly pleased with a perfect taste of Marrakech and full of praise for excellent Riad Diana.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were a trio of 3 women staying for four nights in Marrakech. Boujemoi and his team at the Riad Diana were so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Even when our beds (we'd requested online 3 singles, but arrived to find a double and a single) were not made up to specification, the team put it right and were profusely apologetic. We took advantage of the hamman and massage - a first for us and we enjoyed the authentic experience thoroughly! Location fantastic for visiting the souks and other sights. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bamesj259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We went to Marrakech not long after my fiance proposed to me so when we came to this Riad it felt like we were on our honeymoon. We arrived late at night and took a taxi to the riad, the taxi takes you to a certain point after which you have to walk because the streets are too narrow. You will be swarmed by shifty looking men offering to show you the way to your hotel. Our friends warned us about this so we mapped out the walking route to the hotel, somehow we got it wrong and we got lost. Anyway I highly advise you contact the hotel to organise pickup, in saying this I did email them before our trip and they didn't respond. Eventually we gave up and let a guy take us down a dark narrow alleyway and sure enough there was our riad. We gave him some small change for tips. Basically you need to be aware that in Marrakech nothing is free, everything that people do for you requires a fee for their service.

When we arrived we were greeted by Boujemman (I hope I spelt his name correctly) with some mint tea, he honestly made us feel like we were king and queen. A very warm and friendly gentleman with great service, he gave us a free taxi to the airport after our stay. I must add that even after we arrived back in London after our trip he even called us to make sure we got back ok and asked us to post this review. The other staff struggled to speak english we had difficulty communicating with them.

We got the room on the terrace level, it felt like we had a private suite because they also have sunbaking chairs and lounge area on the terrace. The riad also has a indoor pool, massage services and hammam as well. We decided to have a massage and hammam at the riad, it was definitely an interesting experience but I'm not sure if I would do it again. You can see the Atlas mountains from the terrace but its not the most amazing view.

The room had a very rustic feel to it, some people may want to bring slippers as the floors are concrete and your shoes get pretty dirty walking through Marrakech. Breakfast was included and consisted of bread and pancakes with honey and assorted jams. We never had any meat products for breakfast but to be honest in Marrakech you will surely get sick of all the meat tagines and kebabs after a while. Orange juice and coffee was provided. The riad can also organise dinners for you but you need to book in advance. We chose to eat out instead and they recommended good restaurants for us. We also booked a tour to Ait Ben Haddou bypassing the Atlas mountains through the riad, their prices are very competitive.

The location is very convenient, we walked to all the main attractions using a map. It is just a 5 minute walk to the main square and further on to the souks. I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I would stay there again. 5 stars for service from Boujemman, he is a genuinely nice man.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franger28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed March 2013.
The riad is in a great location 5-10 minutes walk away from Djemaa el-Fna. It's amazing how quiet and relaxing the atmosphere is compared to the main square and busy souks both inside the riad and on the lovely roof terrace. We stayed 2 nights in the Arba room before going to the desert and then 2 nights in the Wahid room. Both rooms were great, but it's worth the extra for the size and comfort of the Arba room! The staff made us feel like part of the family and were very accommodating, always willing to make incredible mint tea, answer any questions we had and get up to make us breakfast at 6am when we had an early start.
The only slight downside was that one of the riad's neighbours was doing some work on the outside of his property just outside for the last 2 days of our stay, which started quite early in the morning. This was obviously no fault of their own and could happen anywhere in such a busy and compact city, but the staff were very apologetic nonetheless.
Would thoroughly recommend Riad Diana to anyone looking at going to Marrakech!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamB645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for three nights on a weekend trip to Marrakech. We stayed in the Riad Diana and had a fantastic time. Everything was spotless clean and was decorated very tastfully. Staff was incredibly friendly, helpful and professional. The service was excellent from the minute we arrived, it couldn't have been better. Due to the Riad's small size it was a really personal experience like 'a home away from home'. Also the location was beneficial, as the main square was literally around the corner and I if any questions regarding sightseeing or dining out came up, we were always very good adviced on what to do and where to go. We are definitively going to visit Marrakech again and stay at the Riad Diana.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elke k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This riad with excellent location in the Medina is highly recommended by us! The staff is very helpful and we will always remember their hospitality. We had a nice dinner in the patio and relaxed on the nice terrace on sunny afternoons. The riad offers a hammam which is good value for your money.

We stayed there for a week and will defintely be back when we visit Marrakech again'

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Letterman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Africa
Riad Africa
#109 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#115 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#68 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,487 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Diana

Address: 85 Derb Jdid | Quartier Riad Zitoune Lakdim, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#63 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#78 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Diana 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come in and enjoy the spirit and the friendly service of Marrakech! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Riad Diana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Diana Marrakech
Riad Diana Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing