We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Diana

Save Saved
You added Riad Diana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Riad Diana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 Derb Jdid | Quartier Riad Zitoune Lakdim, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #78 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Sandhurst
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We arrived on 23rd February for a seven night stay, booked through Travel Republic, so already paid for. We stayed one night, moving to a decent hotel outside the city walls on day 2 and our complaints are as follows:
1) We were put in an annex around the corner, not actually in the Riad. Although the pictures posted online of Riad Diana are actually very artistically done. Please do not expect the reality to come up to that standard. The 'pool' is actually a cold bath in the main entrace hall. Our room in the annex was small and dark, but adequate. However:
2) We had no hot water for a shower. Despite asking twice for this to be put right, it was at best lukewarm for a few seconds, then back to cold. I think the water heater was broken as it kept starting up and cutting out.
3) The sheets were smelly. They had not been aired properly and were slightly damp.
4) We requested an extra pillow for my husband (only one each is provided). The request was ignored.
5) I had emailed a week before to inform the owner that my husband is diabetic and cannot eat sweet breakfast goods. It was agreed we could have eggs, fruit and unsweeetened yoghurt. We were provided with bread, pancakes and cake with two types of jam.
6) The sunbeds on the roof terrace are rusty metal and all were broken in our Riad.

Visitors should be aware that there are no safe facilities and you have to carry your valuables and passport with you at all times. The staff seemed quite able to speak English when trying to sell us trips out but when we had a request or complaint, were unable to understand us. I asked for a refund when leaving, but of course, they couldn't understand me. As our daughter had just died and we were tired and in need of relaxation, we just left. I have since asked the owner by email for a refund. I'm sure the world at large will be interested in the reply.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad_Diana, Inhaber at Riad Diana, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Sir and Madam,

I don’t understand why you wrote this review for Riad Diana when you haven’t been there. With your reservation you asked for an extremely quiet and peaceful room away from other guests and therefore we suggested another private Riad around the corner of Raid Diana to you. So all the critiques that you wrote are not for Riad Diana. Riad Diana is always well maintained and in a good condition and we offer the best service to our guests.

Unfortunately Raid Diana was already fully booked so that we haven't been able to give you a room there. We are very soory for your inconveniences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    335
    91
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
85
197
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
warrington England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed there in July 2009 and loved it so much we had no hesitation in rebooking with Riad Diana this time. Again, it was beautiful. The place is lovely and peaceful inside, 5 mins from the medina depending on the business of the main walkway and shops into the square.

The views are great from the terrace.

The people who work there are very helpful.

The breakfast was good, they even cooked us eggs, which was not offered with the original breakfast. The breakfast certainly sets you up for the day.

We stayed in the room on the terrace, which is beautiful to walk straight out onto the sun drenched terrace. I will certainly stay there again.


The price was very reasonable compared to other Riads around, although it had gone up since last time.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed in the Riad Diana in August last year and have meant to write a review since. Very welcoming staff, good food, quiet yet very central. The transfer was spot on, tyhe treatments good and they will even come and find you when you get lost in the Medina! Definintely one to recommend.

Room Tip: Upstairs room are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were blown away by this Riad. From the welcome cup of mint tea to the staff getting up super early to serve us breakfast before our early departing flight, the experience was phenomenal. Everyone at the riad were very helpful and went out of their way to provide us with any information we needed. The rooftop terrace was a major plus and we really enjoyed relaxing up there after exploring the busy streets and souks. The fresh orange juice at breakfast was a huge treat and we chose to have the chicken tagine the riad serves. All the food was top quality. I can't say enough good things about this place and will be recommending it to everyone!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I recently returned from Marrakesh and 4 of us stayed at this lovely place.It was very welcoming and the staff really helpful.The rooms very comfortable and we had a lovely breakfast.I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed at the Riad Diana for three nights in beginning of February. Had reserved the Arba Suite in advance via booking.com and additionally arranged the airport pick up (all without credit card details-impressive trustworthiness).

Landed an hour early and our transfer was already waiting for us which was a great start to the holiday! We got out as others have said at the bottom of the road and a guide led us to the Riad whilst wheeling all our luggage.

The Riad itself is off one of the major streets to the main square and easier to find than I expected from other reviews! A beautiful door opens up a tranquil riad, seemingly far away from the hussle and hussle of the souks. We were greeted by Boujemaa, who throughout the whole stay was a perfect host, with Mint Tea and Pastries. The hosts recommendations for dinner were perfect and taxi orders all went above an beyond the call of duty and far better service than any concierge I've ever used!

Our room was luxurious but simple and clean-the Arba suite has a large double bedroom, bathroom, dressing area and living room (also acts as 2nd bedroom when full capacity of 4 people). Our bed was massively and rose petals were scattered all over which added to the romance of the riad.

Breakfast everyday was different and plenty to keep everyone happy. Our favourite was the pancakes and crusty bread with jams and honey! Orange and Coffee on tap made mornings bearable for even the worse morning person.

We also organised a full day tour with the Riad and would definitely recommend, great value, completely tailor made your and for three girls travelling a great comfort to be guided around!

Also enjoyed the Oriental Dinner with candles on the last night and thoroughly enjoyed this. Delicious food, great service and an amazing atmosphere! Well worth the 200dhm.

Overall-an oasis in a crazy city. Located walking distance from all attractions. A host who treats every guest like family. Bargain prices and great extra services. Would recommend to all my friends!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I chose this riad based on all the wonderful reviews I read about the staff. I was not dissapointed, the people are so friendly and willing to do anything necessary to make your stay a great one. The riad is beautiful and an excellent example of the riad structure with the open courtyard. The room was a little small, but that was expected, and it was kept very nice. My friend and I took the cooking class with Sapriya which was really fun, even though we had quite the language barrier to get through. Sapriya is the sweetest, we were huge fans of her cookies and she packed us up a bunch to take with us on the plane! The hammam was a wonderful experience. Got scrubbed from head to toe and came out seriously baby soft. Boujamaa and Bader were so friendly and welcoming. Thank you Riad Diana for a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Diana

Address: 85 Derb Jdid | Quartier Riad Zitoune Lakdim, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#71 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Diana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come in and enjoy the spirit and the friendly service of Marrakech! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad Diana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Diana Marrakech
Riad Diana Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Diana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.