We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic riad experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Diana

Save Saved
You added Riad Diana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Diana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 Derb Jdid | Quartier Riad Zitoune Lakdim, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #76 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Levittown, New York
1 review
“Authentic riad experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I chose this riad based on all the wonderful reviews I read about the staff. I was not dissapointed, the people are so friendly and willing to do anything necessary to make your stay a great one. The riad is beautiful and an excellent example of the riad structure with the open courtyard. The room was a little small, but that was expected, and it was kept very nice. My friend and I took the cooking class with Sapriya which was really fun, even though we had quite the language barrier to get through. Sapriya is the sweetest, we were huge fans of her cookies and she packed us up a bunch to take with us on the plane! The hammam was a wonderful experience. Got scrubbed from head to toe and came out seriously baby soft. Boujamaa and Bader were so friendly and welcoming. Thank you Riad Diana for a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    93
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
90
201
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

A beautiful, authentic place to stay. We had the hammam and massage which were both excellent and a 'must do''. The food was amazing at the Riad aswell and recommend the fish kefta tagine. Staff are very friendly and trusting, and added real personal touches to our trip. The location is very central but tucked away off the main streets so is very peaceful once inside.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were in the 'shack' as some have referred to on the top floor. It's really tiny and not good for people with limited mobility because it's on the top floor and you have to climb onto bed.

Bed super comfortable and covers kept us warm during a cool winter night. We had the heater on for a while.

My husband and I enjoyed the Hamman - good experience and left with baby soft skin.

Mani / pedi - £22 - good result but don't expect a Shellac experience. OPI was on offer. Shape, cuticles, moisturize and paint - very basic but looked pretty.

Dinner was very nice. £19 per person for food.

Was told to pay for services in cash (lucky we had enough). Their in room documentation said pay by cash or credit. So make sure you have cash.

The staff are very friendly.

The room and riad were clean. Look and feel charming.

Probably would have reported a better experience if we had another room and would have rated the property higher.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biella, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great location in the old city. 5 minutes walk from place djemaa el fna. Excellent staff, very nice people! The manager, Mr. Bushma, is great! The riad is wonderful, very romantic and elegant. The room was very nice, confortable and clean. Recommended hammam and dinner by candlelight. To try!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofheim am Taunus, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We finished our one week Marocco-Roundtrip with 2,5 days in Marrakesh, were we stayed in Riad Diana.
After we´ve finally found the hotel on our day of arrival (which is not that simple in the dark, because it´s a bit "around the corner"), we´ll have to say, that it´s a perfect location for trips through Marrakesh by walking.
The staff was very friendly, the breakfeast good and the extra services (hammam and massage) have been also valueable and very good.
Also we booked one diner in the hotel, which was not cheap at all, but all meals have been prepared freshly and they where very abundant and tasted extremely good.
If we ever will be in Marrakesh again, Riad Diana will be again our first choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay so much that we have now booked a return visit. I had previously stayed in a large chain hotel outside the medina and wanted to experience a riad. They are very different but I was not disappointed. Our room was spotless and nicely decorated and towels were regularly changed. Breakfast is continental and sufficient. My husband enjoyed the pastries or pancakes although I personally would have preferred more fruit and plain yoghourt and less sugar. We tried the dinner at the riad and I enjoyed it very much. The cooks were happy to explain the traditional menu and identify the ingredients. My husband was less enthusiastic and didn't like the dessert as he doesn't eat yoghourt.
The staff are friendly and helpful although most speak only very basic English. We had prebooked one excursion before travelling and Boujemma was able to help us arrange another. When we return I will arrange excursions through the riad. We found that prices were similar but the prebooked one was not the full day we were expecting.
We did not use the plunge pool as we were out most days and by early evening when we returned it was too cold, but if a pool had been a priority I would have booked to stay in a larger hotel outside the medina. I loved the bustle of the souks and we ate at Djemma al Fne square several times, feeling completely safe returning to the riad in the dark. It is also very central to the museums and palaces and we were able to walk to everything we wanted to see.
There were only 2 minor niggles. We had booked transfers via BA and like other travellers when we got out of the taxi our luggage was put into a cart which we had to follow to the riad. When we reached it the carter demanded payment and wouldn't accept less than 5 euros, although we had paid in advance for the transfers. This was not the fault of the riad. Next time we will make our own arrangements as, once you know where you are going, it is not difficult.The only other problem we had was that the safe in our room did not work so we had to carry our passports and money everywhere with us. Although as the holiday progressed I realised that anyone entering the riad had to knock the door and be let in by a member of staff so it would not have been easy for an opportunist thief.

Room Tip: There are only 5 rooms (3 doubles, a single and a triple). We had the triple and had only shelves an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

I'm sat on the roof terrace writing this. It's 22 degrees, sunny, comfortable, calm and very very pleasant. Bourgaman has just popped up to see if we're ok and has gone back down to make some mint tea for us. He is a diamond and will do anything you ask. Not that we do, he just wants to make our stay as nice as possible. If you look hard, you will find a few (very few) poor reviews of this riad. I'll address a couple of points. Some say the breakfast is basic. Yep! Basically it's bread, jam, pancakes, cakes, yoghurt, freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee. The Horror! This Riad can't take cards, we have been told this days in advance and have got cash out accordingly. We have noticed no bad smells in the riad, it smells no worse than Greece or Spain. The staff don't speak good English. This one made me laugh. Hello? This is Morocco! I have a little schoolboy French and a Cub badge in charades, that's more than enough. We booked through easyjet, and the cost was under £150 each for four nights including flights! This is not an expensive destination!
A Riad is a family house, not a modern hotel (teas arrived, what a star!), its a bit smaller than you may be used to, the pool is a plunge pool, not a swimming pool and the whole place has a very laid back feel to it (which is a welcome releif after the absolute insanity outside) If you can deal with that you'll be fine.
We have a couple more days here and are getting a cooking lesson tomorrow. I'm gonna miss it when we go because it feels like home.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Diana

Address: 85 Derb Jdid | Quartier Riad Zitoune Lakdim, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#31 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#68 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Diana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come in and enjoy the spirit and the friendly service of Marrakech! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Riad Diana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Diana Marrakech
Riad Diana Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Diana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.