We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, very nice house and very friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Diana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Diana to your Saves list
Riad Diana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 Derb Jdid | Quartier Riad Zitoune Lakdim, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #79 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Hofheim am Taunus, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good location, very nice house and very friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We finished our one week Marocco-Roundtrip with 2,5 days in Marrakesh, were we stayed in Riad Diana.
After we´ve finally found the hotel on our day of arrival (which is not that simple in the dark, because it´s a bit "around the corner"), we´ll have to say, that it´s a perfect location for trips through Marrakesh by walking.
The staff was very friendly, the breakfeast good and the extra services (hammam and massage) have been also valueable and very good.
Also we booked one diner in the hotel, which was not cheap at all, but all meals have been prepared freshly and they where very abundant and tasted extremely good.
If we ever will be in Marrakesh again, Riad Diana will be again our first choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    94
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
90
206
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay so much that we have now booked a return visit. I had previously stayed in a large chain hotel outside the medina and wanted to experience a riad. They are very different but I was not disappointed. Our room was spotless and nicely decorated and towels were regularly changed. Breakfast is continental and sufficient. My husband enjoyed the pastries or pancakes although I personally would have preferred more fruit and plain yoghourt and less sugar. We tried the dinner at the riad and I enjoyed it very much. The cooks were happy to explain the traditional menu and identify the ingredients. My husband was less enthusiastic and didn't like the dessert as he doesn't eat yoghourt.
The staff are friendly and helpful although most speak only very basic English. We had prebooked one excursion before travelling and Boujemma was able to help us arrange another. When we return I will arrange excursions through the riad. We found that prices were similar but the prebooked one was not the full day we were expecting.
We did not use the plunge pool as we were out most days and by early evening when we returned it was too cold, but if a pool had been a priority I would have booked to stay in a larger hotel outside the medina. I loved the bustle of the souks and we ate at Djemma al Fne square several times, feeling completely safe returning to the riad in the dark. It is also very central to the museums and palaces and we were able to walk to everything we wanted to see.
There were only 2 minor niggles. We had booked transfers via BA and like other travellers when we got out of the taxi our luggage was put into a cart which we had to follow to the riad. When we reached it the carter demanded payment and wouldn't accept less than 5 euros, although we had paid in advance for the transfers. This was not the fault of the riad. Next time we will make our own arrangements as, once you know where you are going, it is not difficult.The only other problem we had was that the safe in our room did not work so we had to carry our passports and money everywhere with us. Although as the holiday progressed I realised that anyone entering the riad had to knock the door and be let in by a member of staff so it would not have been easy for an opportunist thief.

Room Tip: There are only 5 rooms (3 doubles, a single and a triple). We had the triple and had only shelves an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

I'm sat on the roof terrace writing this. It's 22 degrees, sunny, comfortable, calm and very very pleasant. Bourgaman has just popped up to see if we're ok and has gone back down to make some mint tea for us. He is a diamond and will do anything you ask. Not that we do, he just wants to make our stay as nice as possible. If you look hard, you will find a few (very few) poor reviews of this riad. I'll address a couple of points. Some say the breakfast is basic. Yep! Basically it's bread, jam, pancakes, cakes, yoghurt, freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee. The Horror! This Riad can't take cards, we have been told this days in advance and have got cash out accordingly. We have noticed no bad smells in the riad, it smells no worse than Greece or Spain. The staff don't speak good English. This one made me laugh. Hello? This is Morocco! I have a little schoolboy French and a Cub badge in charades, that's more than enough. We booked through easyjet, and the cost was under £150 each for four nights including flights! This is not an expensive destination!
A Riad is a family house, not a modern hotel (teas arrived, what a star!), its a bit smaller than you may be used to, the pool is a plunge pool, not a swimming pool and the whole place has a very laid back feel to it (which is a welcome releif after the absolute insanity outside) If you can deal with that you'll be fine.
We have a couple more days here and are getting a cooking lesson tomorrow. I'm gonna miss it when we go because it feels like home.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Diana from the 27th Dec 2012 to the 4th Jan 2013. My husband and I had the ground floor Wahid Double Room Deluxe which had a comfortable king bed and ensuite. The plumbing was what you would expect in a building dating back about 900 years. The room was quant and comfortable however we were short a little storage. Our daughter had the Khamsa Double Room on the top floor which was perfect for her. Lovely large bed on a raised platform and a very quiet spot. Our package included a Morracan breakfast which varied slightly over our stay which we enjoyed and looked forward to. Our hosts Boujamaa and his team were brillant, nothing was too big or too small. We would most definitely return to the Riad Diana next time we visit Marrakech. Nothing could of prepared me for the life in the old city of Marrakech, what with the traffic, the alleyways, the food, the donkeys, the horses, the people, the smells of fumes from the scotters , the people and the spices.
We crammed in alot of things during our 8 days some of which were a day trip out to the Atlas Mountains with morning tea at a Burber family home. a great experience for us. This was organised by Boujamaa and cost DBH700 for the three of us. We also went on a day trip to the coast of Esquera and enjoyed a fabulous seafood lunch with a few wines and beers. The fresh oysters were also a hit.. This trip cost DBH1000. The hop on hop off bus is always something we do for a day to get out and about. We enjoyed the tour and looked at alot of the sites in all directions. My daughter and I did a cooking class in the Riad and this was brillant. We went with our tutor to the local food markets, what an insite that was, then prepared and cooked our feast and shared it with the payer of our holiday my husband. LOL.The holiday has enhanced my outlook on life and makes me truely happy to be who I am.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Riad Diana was in a great position for accessing all the main attractions of Marrakesh, but in a quiet situation. Our bedroom and en suite were very comfortable and the Riad is neat, clean and tidy. The staff very helpful and friendly and the roof terrace is a great place for somewhere quiet. We had a fun cooking lesson, with Sabina, on how to cook Morrocan food, and we used the Hammam and Sauna while we were there. The manager was very helpful in arranging things for us and giving us local info. We had a great time for 6 days and would recommend a stay at Riad Diana. John and Diana French.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Riad Diana is a perfect safe haven from the frenetic activity of the Medina and Souks. Ideally situated to walk to all the "must see" places yet set back from the street in a quiet location. The staff are lovely and nothing is too much trouble for them. On our first night they took us and picked us up from a local restaurant that they recommended as we were too late to eat there. The food I the Riad itself is very tasty and good value for money.
The rooftop terrace is a fantastic place to chill out in the sun or relax after a day out exploring. The hammam and massage are both excellent and very reasonably priced.
We stayed in a suite as there were 4 of us and there was plenty of space with one of the comfiest beds I have ever slept in!
All in all I would highly recommend this Riad if you are thinking about a visit to Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Riad Diana is is located within walking distance from the main square. The suks are at your doorstep but can easily be avoided if you wish.
The Riad is beautifully decorated and the staff are very friendly and attentive. No request is ever too much. If you decide to have dinner at the riad (very reasonably priced) you will be blown away by authentic home made Moroccan food. You can even discuss with the cook in the morning what your preferences are for your meal! Needless to say that the table is set beautifully!
The room I stayed was beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. Staff will clean& tidy your room in the morning.
The plunge pool looked beautiful but unfortunately being January a little too cold to experience it. The roof terrace is peaceful and set up with sun loungers and comfy seating to just relax with a shisha and sunbathe if you wish.
The Riad organised our transport to and from the airport and it was the best service. Well worth it.
We also booked the hamam and a full body massage which were both excellent.
This riad can be a perfect setting for a romantic stay or holiday with friends.
I will definitely want to go back and recommend it to anyone. Nothing to envy to a top 5 star hotel.
Thank you Riad Diana for making us feel special and for the lovely stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Diana

Address: 85 Derb Jdid | Quartier Riad Zitoune Lakdim, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#70 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Diana 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come in and enjoy the spirit and the friendly service of Marrakech! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Diana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Diana Marrakech
Riad Diana Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Diana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.