We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and very quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Diana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Diana to your Saves list
Riad Diana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 Derb Jdid | Quartier Riad Zitoune Lakdim, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #93 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Peaceful and very quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We booked this particular Riad after reading the tripadvisor reviews. We arranged for a private collection from the airport via the hotel, this proved really beneficial as my husband left his phone in the taxi which was returned later that day.
Boujamma greeted us with mint tea and a map of the area, letting us know where the places of interest were in the city. We felt at home immediately. I had booked the booked the cookery class for me and the hubby and it was an excellent experience with Soraya. From the shopping in the market that morning for the ingredients to the lesson itself and then eating the delicious end product that evening. The communication before and during our 5 day stay was perfect and so personal, we were a group of two couples.
Our rooms was clean, we had fresh towels daily. Our friends had the room on the roof terrace which was very romantic and we had a large three person room on the first floor. It is amazing peaceful the Riad is considering its proximity to the main square and crazy Marrakech life all around it.
Breakfast was of a continental style and was more than adequate.

We booked a private taxi to take us to the Atlas mountains through the Riad and we were collected by the driver and spent the day exploring waterfalls, our driver was really nice and the only thing that spoilt the day was the fact that it seemed as though the restaurant we were to have lunch at was chosen for us. However after a little spat with the waiter at the 'chosen' restaurant we did take ourselves off to another establishment further up the street. Lunch was very good but there did seem to bit a little of an atmosphere between us and the driver on the way back.
We found Marrakech to be an amazing city to visit and 5 days is not long enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    112
    16
    6
    1
See reviews for
103
235
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Booked this after reading the tripadvisor reviews, arranged collection from the airport via the hotel, the taxi drops you at the bottom of riad zitoune, Riad Diana is less than a minutes walk, at the drop off point there are guys with carts waiting to take your luggage for you and take you to the Riad. We weren't sure what we had to pay for this, we ended up paying 50 dirham and found out after the going rate is 20 dirham (you could walk with your luggage too but not knowing where we were going was good to get the help)
Boujamma greeted us with mint tea and a map of the area, highlighting places to visit, we booked the hamam / massage experience along with the cooking class and one of the excursions and can't rate all experiences highly enough. The communication before and during our 5 day stay was perfect and so personal, all of the staff are friendly and most speak some English between that and our limited French and very limited Arabic we got by!
Our room was clean, we had fresh towels daily and slept so well every night, it's amazing how peaceful the riad is considering its proximity to the main square and bustling Marrakech life all around it.
Breakfast was croissant, pancake, yoghurt, fresh juice, jams, bread & soft cheese and coffee, all plentiful and enjoyable.
Our cooking class was fantastic, Soraya the house cook was lovely and showed us a number of salads, lamb tagine and the orange & cinnamon desert, you have a choice of lamb, chicken or fish to cook with along with a variety of veg you go and buy with her. You also get a tagine cook book after the class and in the evening you get to eat what you've made!
The hamam is located in the Riad and is smaller than ones we've been in in Turkey, but it did the job! We were scrubbed and washed before we had our massage (which is done on the roof terrace in a small treatment room), the massage was fantastic and so relaxing.
Our trip to the Ourika Valley was also booked through the Riad and we were collected by the driver and spent the day exploring the valley and waterfalls, our driver was so knowledgable and friendly which really made the drive a pleasure, our guide to the waterfalls was also great and really made this day one of the highlights of our trip.
We found Marrakech to be a bit of a culture shock and once we got over the 'uncomfortable' need to say NO a lot when outside of the Riad, the Riad itself was a complete sanctuary which we really can't praise enough!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We arrived home today from our holiday in Marrakech, where we stayed at Riad Diana. I booked this Riad on the strength of the previous reviews and it was a good decision because this Riad is beautiful.
We booked the Arbour suite as we travelled with our teenage son and he had his own room. The suite was lovely with beautiful decor and comfortable beds. It felt like staying in someone's home as it had lovely personal touches and not like the anonymous experience of staying in a large hotel. The Riad is centred round a court yard with tables and chairs and a plung pool. There is also a cosy dining room with a tv and arm chairs. We ate in the Riad twice and had amazing, home cooked meals. They were probably the best meals we had during our stay.
What really made this Riad special was the staff, who were fronted by Boujammaa who runs the Riad and worked so hard to make us feel at home. It was my birthday while we were there and the staff presented me with a birthday cake on the day and also put flowers in our suite. They were all so kind and I cannot find any fault with our stay with these lovely people.
The Riad is on a narrow cobbled street in the Medina only five minutes from Jemmaa el fna, so it's location was excellent. Although it is down a quiet ally, we never felt nervous as there appears to be very little obvious crime in the city. The shop keepers all call to you to try to drum up business, but it is not aggressive and if you are firm they will leave you alone.
We dis all the usual sites in Marrakeck such as the Badii palace, the museum, the mosque and the medersa Ben yousef which are all woth a visit and within walking distance of the Riad. Jemmaa el fna is just amazing and we spent time during the day and evening just soaking up the atmosphere. Look out for the Marrakech version of hook a duck, which our son loved. It's a game where you have to try to hook a bottle do pop with a fishing rod and all the locals join in. We sat with a group of musicians in the square and as long as you understand you need to pay ten to twenty dirham to watch an activity, you can spend as much time as you wish.
We found the Marrakechies so friendly and proud of their city. We got chatting to a teacher in a local cafe who gave us some tips. He recommended two restaurants in Jemmaa el fna, which were both good. tourcal and chez Chegouni were both good and so cheap. We ate in tourcal for £12 for three of us including soft drinks. No alcohol in the restaurants, but the Riad serve wine and beer and Boujammaa was happy for us to put our own in their fridge. We bought some at duty free and would recommend doing this, as the only place we found selling drinks was kosy bar outside the Riad. Kosy bar is worth a visit as you can sit on the foor terrace with a drink and watch the stalks flying to their nests on the Badii palace next door. It's in the place ferbrantieres where they make the lovely metal lamps and there are also some nice snack bars there for a tasty, cheap lunch.
We did an excurtion to the cascades of ouzoud with Riad Diana which wes amazing and I would recommend. The cascades are amazing, but what really made our day was feeding the wild monkeys on the walk round the cascades. You will need strong shoes and some energy as its not an easy climb, but so worth it. Do take some nuts or bananas for the monkeys and they will take them gently out of your hands.
We fell in love with Marrakech and with Riad diana and will definitely return. Dont stay at this Riad or any other if you want a high tech hotel with advanced facilities. Book this Riad if you want to really experience the real Marrakech and be welcomed by some of the nicest, kindest people you could wish to meet. A big thank you to Boujammaa and all the staff for a wonderful trip.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked lovely, but the Arbour suite is the only one with two separate bedrooms and cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just returned from a 4 night stay at this riad and honestly cannot fault it. Found the location perfect to reach the main square. The staff couldn't do enough to ensure that we had a pleasant stay. There were 3 of us staying in the triple room and it had ample space. We had a meal at the Riad one night which was served on the terrace and was really lovely. The owner Boujamaa spoke very good english and was very helpful from organising airport transfers to arranging a driver and guide to get to Atlas mountains. Everyone at this Riad were very pleasant and we will definetely be back .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Three corners from the busy and noisy street this Riad is as quiet as heaven. Mr Buschmann (phonetically I hope we hit the correct form of addressing) and Mr. Badda were great help, if it was getting bus-tickets for an excursion or securing taxi-service. We enjoyed the candle-dinner. the table decorated with rose-blössoms and the food deliciously prepared by Sabriya, much better than in a tourist-filled restaurant. My wife also enjoyed the hammam plus massage, and I certify that her skin afterwards was perfect! We were lucky to have been recommended the Riad Diana, only a few minutes' walk away from the vibrating center of this impressive city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My sister and I decided on a mini-break to Marrakesh and staying at the Riad Diana was the perfect choice! It's in a perfect location, just a 5 minute walk to the main square and souks yet completely serene. Boujamaa and his team where the perfect hosts going out of their way to accomodate us and make us feel at home at every opportunity, especially on a couple of very early mornings. I highly recommend trying the dinner - fantastic! We stayed in the room on the terrace which had a very relaxed feel and it was nice to be 'outdoors'.
I will definitely be recommending Riad Diana to friends and family. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We just returned from our wonderful holidays in marrakech. Riad Diana ist a perfect place to stay, it is very nearby the big place, just some minutes to walk.

The rooms are very nice decoratet and Boujamaa and his team, they are so helpful, really nice and perfect.

We specially liked the hammam and massage afterwards aswell as the cooking class we booked directly in Riad Diana! The food relly was excellent and the decoration of the desk was beautiful!

The terrace on the roof of the Riad Diana ist a peaceful place to stay and rest for a while from the busy medina. The location ist perfect, very nearby the Jemna el Fna and the Souks, it`s just a five minutes walk!

Leaving after a week was a little bit hard, so we will come back soon:-)

Thank you very much Boujamaa for all, we hope we will see you and your stuff soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Diana

Address: 85 Derb Jdid | Quartier Riad Zitoune Lakdim, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#71 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Diana 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come in and enjoy the spirit and the friendly service of Marrakech! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Diana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Diana Marrakech
Riad Diana Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Diana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.