We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice retreat in the busy old town of Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mariana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Mariana to your Saves list
Riad Mariana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Derb El Boumba | Arset El Houta, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“A nice retreat in the busy old town of Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

Very welcoming and friendly staff that offered great service. Rooms (suites) were excellent in size, cleanliness and quality of beds. We had several transport arrangements made by the hotel, including a one day sightseeing in the countryside. Everything to our full satisfaction. Food was offered at short notice, always fresh.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    23
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
79
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bedford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

We travelled to Marrakesh to run the Marathon. We stayed at the Riad Mariana in order to sample the real town and culture. The Hotel arranged airport transfers, the drive through the city showed the Royal palaces and main squares; then we travelled into the old town. This is very busy and dirty, and some people may find this disconcerting.
The Riad is down a few side streets and deep into the old town. Upon opening the front door the Riad is exactly as the pictures on the internet show. Six rooms, clean, large, and pure Moroccan. The staff cannot be any more helpful and the service is very personal. Breakfast on the roof is excellent with plenty of coffee and local cakes, yogurt and sides.
We ate one night at the Riad, a pure delight in excellent surroundings. Well worth the 18euro.
After the Marathon we had a massage and sauna. The ladies had a manicure and pedicure. Well what an experience. The surrounding and quality of service was top and worth the fee. Similar treatment to a Turkish bath but far more personal and helped stop the post marathon pains.
Abdul and his colleagues are a treat and made our stay a memorable time. Making sure there was plenty of drink and advising on good restaurants and places to visit.
To get to the main square and Souks (Bazaars) you will have to walk 15-20 minutes to the main squares and be prepared to get lost. Locals will offer to take you to the ‘Tannery’ and other places. They will always expect money as a thank you. The alternative is to get lost, however after several days you will recognise places and find moving around easier. The tannery is worth a visit but be prepared for the smell and the hard sell afterwards.
In short the location may put some fragile people off due to the local surroundings, however it is real Morocco. The Riad is a comfortable base and makes the city break a fantastic experience. The staff made the holiday and show that the Moroccans are very hospitable.
We bought a lovely wooden box, shoes, clothing and Moroccan bowls. Be prepared to haggle and pay no more than half the original asking price. Again Abdul helped out with advice.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

After the madness of the streets outside it was great to enter a relaxing atmosphere. Having breakfast on the roof terrace was a lovely way to start the day. We didn't have an evening meal there but we heard the meals were very good. We experienced the hotels hamman which was very vigorous.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

The location is not as central as I had been lead to believe from Google maps, but Trip Advisor's map is accurate. Staff are friendly, breakfast is good and the rooms are immaculate and well decorated. Bathrooms are excellent. The only thing stopping me giving 5 stars is the misleading location and the staff could have offered a bit more in terms of what to do in town and guide prices for goods in the souks, etc.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We had a lovely time at Riad and all the reviews which referred to it as peaceful part of paradise were not over stating what we experienced during our first trip to Marrakech.

We had a very lovely time and Philippe and his your staff looked after us very well , particularly your Reception Manager and Abdul who went the extra mile in terms of making us feel very welcome and helping us to make the most of the city.

We ventured out a couple of nights and also chose to eat at the Riad and the food was wonderful.

Great location and easy to find use you get your bearings

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andalucia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

I have just returned from Riad Mariana. It is a wonderful place. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and we were very impressed by the delicious breakfast (local bread and pancakes, home made plum and fig compotes, fresh orange juice and nice coffee) and atmospheric evening meal. It was like living in your own secret palace behind the rose walls in this bustling city. The rooms are beautiful-polished surfaces and rugs everywhere, I have come home inspired to make my house like Road Mariana!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uberlandia, MG
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

Myself and my mother had a wonderful time at Riad Mariana.
Nadia and Abdul and all the staff were very helpful and friendly.
I want to come back as soon as possible.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Mariana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mariana

Address: 13 Derb El Boumba | Arset El Houta, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Mariana 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad in the heart of Marrakech, easy access, close to tourist attractions pool, steam room, air conditioning, airport transfers, restaurant, tours, restaurant on-site service hotel, rooms cleaned every day, towels, bathrobes and bed linen changed daily - ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Riad Mariana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Mariana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.