We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, helpful, comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mariana

Save Saved
You added Riad Mariana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Mariana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Derb El Boumba | Arset El Houta, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious, helpful, comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The food was amazing! The staff went above and beyond. One of the gentlemen even spent his time off showing us around the city, after working all night long. It was possible to schedule just about anything through the Riad from massages to henna. The ladies that work here are the nicest people I've ever met when traveling. The staff makes you feel right at home. The informal atmosphere of being able to where my pjs to breakfast made me feel very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victortrip, Propriétaire at Riad Mariana, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for your visit and for your review . We are happy to see that you had a good time , and that you enjoyed the made home cooking , the massage of Yamina and the henné of Siham .
kid regards - Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    22
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
75
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Wow! What else can I say to sum up this wonderful place than wow!
Well, I'll try and elaborate a little.

Firstly, I'm sure you will all know that it's rare to make the effort to compliment somewhere/something, and all too easy, and more likely to air grievances.
Given the tiny proportion of not so kind reviews for this wonderful Riad when compared to the positively glowing reports from the vast majority must be a fine indication of just how lovely this place truly is to stay, and I promise you that it really is.

Riad Mariana is the most wonderful and friendly place I have ever stayed on holiday. Phillipe, the owner, could not have been more accommodating, always friendly and happy to chat or help with anything. The Riad staff too were so very helpful and kind whilst at the same time never intrusive. There is a true art to this kind of service and Riad Mariana was faultless in this respect. We felt immediately comfortable in our new surroundings and it was a real home from home.

Perfectly situated appx 900M from the main square in Marrakesh, Jamaa el Fna, within the walls of the old town, you are never more than a few minutes stroll from the hubbub, noises, and smells of this wonderful space, and yet within the confines of the Riad Mariana the peace and tranquility you may crave to recover from a hard days bartering, eating, and taking in the amazing sights of this outstanding destination is always guaranteed.
Relax in your spacious and comfortable room, Sit up on the roof terrace and enjoy the sunshine whilst sipping some delicious Moroccan mint tea , catch up a little with the rest of the world using the free WIFI, or watch some TV in the lounge as you recharge ready for your next exciting adventure outside.

Breakfast was always beautifully presented, and usually taken on the lovely roof terrace. Sun beating down, and a glorious view across the rooftops of old Marrakesh towards the distant, snow topped, Atlas mountains.

I could go on for pages and pages similarly praising this beautiful Riad and the area itself, but perhaps i should leave a few things for you to find out yourself. I promise you won't be disappointed in booking this wonderful Riad, and will gladly and enthusiastically recommend it to friends, family, to anyone wanting an authentic taste of the real Marrakesh.

With huge thanks to Phillipe and all the team at Riad Mariana, we hope to return and enjoy your wonderful country, and hospitality that is second to none!

Warm regards

Stuart.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victortrip, Propriétaire at Riad Mariana, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
We hope that our guests find the riad, nice and trying to make it, friendly. We are happy for you to have felt all these good vibrations. Thank you for your visit and for your comment. Philippe and all the team from Riad Mariana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We had such a lovely stay at this Riad it's hard to know where to begin. The staff are so very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Their English is very good, and they are able to help and advise on all aspects of your stay.
The building itself is very beautiful; we were upgraded to a suite with a four-poster, fireplace, and pretty bathroom. All decorated with Moroccan fittings, but not lacking in any modern facilities.
The breakfast is served on the terrace under a lovely tent. Many different items are served for breakfast, enough to please every palate, and all very delicious. The view from the terrace is amazing; all buildings except for Minarets have to be built to the same height, but this means you can see across many rooftops, giving a taste of how the locals live. Also the Atlas mountains can be seen in the distance quite clearly. Absolutely breath-taking.
We spent time in the lounge on the ground floor which has a TV and CD and DVD player. More interesting for us though to get to know the staff and other guests.
The location is excellent, five minute walk through a Souk (mostly local's shops) to the main square where the night food market was outstanding. I strongly advise you arrange a transfer with the Riad if possible as the local and non-local taxi drivers struggle to locate addresses of smaller establishments in the Medina, and you might end up having to walk a long way.
(On the subject of walking; if you don't like walking, you may not get the most from your stay!)
Our transfer was seemless, we only walked for a minute or two from the taxi to the Riad.
As far as comfort goes, the bed was lovely, the shower was wonderful, and the Riad itself was spotlessly clean.
We're so glad we chose to stay in a Riad and not a hotel, and for us it was a bonus that the streets surrounding the Riad were so interesting and full of local life.
Just a small comment about the negative views on here; they display a complete lack of understanding of the culture, geography and customs of Marrakech. Basically 1) if you want to stay somewhere that's just like your home, stay at home, and 2) READ stuff. Not just trip advisor, Google and guidebooks. Seems obvious, really!
One of the best holidays of my life. Insha'Allah we will return.

Room Tip: We saw the basic rooms and the suites. You can't go wrong with either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victortrip, Propriétaire at Riad Mariana, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you for this nice description of your stay at Riad Mariana, and all these pictures. Kind regards .Philippe and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This cozy 6 room Riad with the most friendly attentive staff soon make you feel at home. It's rooms are on 2 floors with a rooftop terrace all centered around a beautiful courtyard with a pool sprinkled with roses. Breakfast is included and dinner, tea and wine are also available by request. The meals are beyond delicious. Our room was very comfortable but we spent little time in it because the souks are a very short walk away. Philip at the Riad was fabulous at arranging tours and any other adventures we thought to take! My favorites were A camel trek, trip to Ouazazate followed by a hammam and massage.
We had also booked 3 days at the Eldorador in Palmerai which was an all inclusive highly rated resort. The heater in the room didn't work, all remotes in the room were broken, the internet didn't work. We were so grateful the Riad Mariana still had our same room available so we happily returned.
You will soon feel like you are a part of Riad Mariana's family and want to visit again soon!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the hotel. There are only six rooms with a couple on the gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victortrip, Propriétaire at Riad Mariana, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you Susan for your visit and we are very happy to see you feel good at Riad Mariana - We hope to see you soon in "your" guest house - Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

First time using Tripadvisor to choose hotel. Very disappointing and could not understand how did it get the award. Also why there were so many praises from other travellers. First and the most important reason (no one spoke of this clearly in other reviews), this Riad was located almost 1 kilometer from the entrance of walking street (900 meters from ClubMed). It might be ok for backpackers. But it was horrible for typical tourists with big luggages. No service from the Riad (non of my business when asking the hotel owner), we had to hire someone on the street to take them on a cart and walk along with us 1 km. into zigzag alleys. Before I booked this Riad, it seemed exciting to walk FEW minutes into the Riad. But it was no fun to walk 2 km. back and forth everytime you wanted to go out and return.

The Riad was located inside community area. Nothing to see. Our local guide told us not to walk outside after 7 pm. So we felt we were caged the whole night.

Room was typical. After all it was just a clean guesthouse, not a hotel. Do not expect any services more than a clean room with air conditioning/heater. No TV! Wifi was not reliable. Hot water in bathroom seemed to be on ration. If first person used hot water too much then no hot water for second person. Had to wait almost one hour for more hot water. Power outage 3-4 times during our 2 nights stay. No telephone, not sure what to do if there was emergency at night.

Breakfast was so grand (for the poorest Moroccan?) as understood by the owner. No egg. Just limited amount of bread, three kinds of fruit jam in small cups, 1pce of cold local bread (pancake?), butter, 1 small glass of orange juice, half glass of plain yoghurt. What else, a small jug of coffee, a cup of milk, some sugar. What more, tea and hot water if you didn't want coffee. When we looked surprising, he went to the kitchen and brought an old fruit cake so dried that we were afraid to eat. All these could be eaten by one thin person and still hungry (unless you went back to your room and drink lot of water but don't drink too much as only one bottle of water per room was given for the whole 3 nights).

Rooftop was open air dining area. But it was just a plain rooftop. NOTHING to view, only sun, sky and walls! The Riad building was not higher than surrounding area. I couldn't understand other reviews about this rooftop area.

No one spoke usable English.
We decided to move out after first night although we paid for 3 nights. Unfortunately, we couldn't make reservation for other hotel so we had to stay 2 nights. Of course, the guesthouse owner declined to talk about refund of any kinds. It was our mistake to trust reviews here too much. We cancelled 5 stars hotel reservation to book this guesthouse. Hoping to learn some about living Moroccan style. We paid this guesthouse much more than the 5 stars hotel. Even if we could pay one third of what we had paid we wouldn't stay here again.

So...don't trust good and praised reviews here too much. Also read the bad reviews too. One bad review is valueable than a hundred good reviews. There was google translation you could use to read other language reviews. I should have read all these bad reviews before booking. It described exactly what we felt. Anyway, who would believe these few bad reviews versus tons of praised reviews and recent award by Tripadvisor? I don't know how much did these reviewers paid per night. If it was same as what I paid and they still were happy then perhaps you should try it and make your own judgement. Good luck!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victortrip, Propriétaire at Riad Mariana, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Very surprised by so much anger on your part, you never talk or hello or goodbye or thank you when the staff took care of you -
you traveled with an agency in Casablanca, we saw the refund with them - you never asked for it -
The only thing you asked , they are eggs , we have served them to be please
The guide 85 year old who accompanied you ,gave you bad information and wanted to take you elsewhere to earn a commission -
You say just two things : we are a guest house, which is valued as such by our customers and we are 900 m from Club Med ( what a reference from you ? ) - the guide should have to park 20 m from Riad , as all our drivers , but he did not know Marrakech ( guide from Fez)
For the rest, the television Riad captures all encrypted channels ( Canal + , Canal Satellite , Being Sport, Tps , AlJazzerera , Sky ... ) , hot water , wifi work .We have upgraded you, because you were our first customers fromTahïland and we feel that you put your feelings of your 15-day trip to Morocco (the agency complained of your incessant calls during these two weeks ) on this review - you keep talking about money, but the culture must be acquired, it can not be bought - Our goal is to make our guests feel good, we are sorry for you- regards - Philippe and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudgee, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is a typical Riad, the rooms are a good size and the shower is one of the best in Morocco. As with most Riads they can be noisy but just like being in someone's home.

The staff were most helpful, we stayed three nights and they even had breakfast ready at 6am on our last day as we needed to catch an early flight. Breakfast is good and dinner in the Riad on our first night was welcome and up to par with Riad food.

I must say that food was the only downside on what has been a fantastic tour around Morocco. Just bland although cheap and well cooked.

This Riad is located a few minutes walk from " the Square" which was where we spent a lot of time and from here you can visit the Mosque, the markets, many restaurants, shops and the like. I could not fault the location. It is also just a short walk with our luggage from where our driver could park the vehicle.

As we had many bags we chose a ground floor room, but the higher rooms are bigger and quieter.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victortrip, Propriétaire at Riad Mariana, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for the review and for your visit,you're ever welcome -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in November. I booked one of the better rooms (sorry I cant recall the name now). Its a good location, just 20 minutes walk down into the heart of Marrakech, but just out of the way enough to be quiet although the early morning call to prayer could be heard if you happened to be awake that early. I had a a warming log fire each evening lit by the ever helpful Abdul. The owner, Philippe was charming easy going and very helpful, including recommending and booking a restaurant for me. Breakfast was taken on the roof terrace which was really great when the sun shone. I had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at Hotel Mariana and would highly recommend

Room Tip: Its a small Riad. I took an upgrade to a larger room with fireplace and truly huge bath. Philippe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victortrip, Propriétaire at Riad Mariana, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you Stephen for your visit and for your kind comments - Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Mariana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mariana

Address: 13 Derb El Boumba | Arset El Houta, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Mariana 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad in the heart of Marrakech, easy access, close to tourist attractions pool, steam room, air conditioning, airport transfers, restaurant, tours, restaurant on-site service hotel, rooms cleaned every day, towels, bathrobes and bed linen changed daily - ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Riad Mariana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Mariana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.