We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, welcoming Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mariana

Save Saved
You added Riad Mariana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Mariana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Derb El Boumba | Arset El Houta, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful, welcoming Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in November. I booked one of the better rooms (sorry I cant recall the name now). Its a good location, just 20 minutes walk down into the heart of Marrakech, but just out of the way enough to be quiet although the early morning call to prayer could be heard if you happened to be awake that early. I had a a warming log fire each evening lit by the ever helpful Abdul. The owner, Philippe was charming easy going and very helpful, including recommending and booking a restaurant for me. Breakfast was taken on the roof terrace which was really great when the sun shone. I had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at Hotel Mariana and would highly recommend

Room Tip: Its a small Riad. I took an upgrade to a larger room with fireplace and truly huge bath. Philippe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victortrip, Propriétaire at Riad Mariana, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you Stephen for your visit and for your kind comments - Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    20
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
73
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Right place to stay, exquisite food from Fatima, and nice spot in the medina close to everything but quiet in the same time, competent and kind personal, wonderful cat, nice terrace and rooms, what can I say, I hope you will enjoy the place as much as I enjoy it. I already miss it, and I will come back Inch’Allah.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victortrip, Propriétaire at Riad Mariana, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you Vincent , glad to have some guests so happy ...See you soon ,inchallah - Philippe and all the team from Riad Mariana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Inside the very plain exterior is an oasis of calm. The roof terrace is a lovely place to take tea and refresh after a busy day at the souks. Philippe went out of his way to be helpful, providing us (two ladies of a certain age) with an escort to a wonderful restaurant (Pepe Nero) which he booked for us. He also booked us a day trip into the country and the return taxi to the airport. It can get cold at night but there is a welcome fire in the sitting room.

Room Tip: If you don't like cats don't leave your bedroom door open! If you do, expect a visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victortrip, Propriétaire at Riad Mariana, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Gwen , thank you for your opinion and for your visit - best regards .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed in this Riad for 5 nights. It is situated about 5 minutes from place Djamaâ El Fna, the big square. The Riad is beautiful and eating breakfast at the roof terrace is amazing. It is such a peaceful place in a very busy city. The staff is very friendly and especially the owner of the Riad. His English is also very well (which is not always the case in Marrakech) and he gave us a lot of useful tips. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and spacious. We would absolutely recommend this Riad! I think I'll send my parents to this superb place, when they are visiting Marrakech in may next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victortrip, Propriétaire at Riad Mariana, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you Tessa to recommend Riad Mariana to your friends and ypur family, it is very nice . We hope to see you soon . Best regards . Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juba, South Sudan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Riad Mariana is the perfect find for a relaxing break from the bussling medinas in Marrakech. The owner and staff were incredibly friendly with a talent for providing excellent service. The owner met me at my cab upon arrival and welcomed me with delicious mint tea. The location is great, tucked away from the noisy streets and walking distance to seeing the sights and dining out. Though I would reccommend dining in and eating on the Riad's beautiful terrace. The home cooked Moroccan dinner I ordered there was superb and better than anything I'd eaten in a restaurant. The breakfasts were also fresh and delicious.

The room was beautiful, the perfect place to relax with a big comfortable bed and sparkling clean bath tub. Wonderfully decorated, clean, and airy. I had an excellent hamman scrub down and massage for a very reasonable price. It's a great place to relax and rejuvenate, almost like a home away from home!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victortrip, Propriétaire at Riad Mariana, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thanks for your nice feeling .To seem like at home is very important for us - Kind regards - Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We spent our first night in Marrakech at Riad Mariana and it was a perfect choice. The owner came and met us at our cab and helped us find the place. He set us up with a very comfortable room and spent as much time as we needed helping us figure out how to get around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

This lovely riad is about ten minutes walk to the main square, and is slightly off the tourist trail.

The room we stayed in was pleasant and functional, with a large bathroom and air conditioning. The rooftop terrace is very pleasant, and the price includes a breakfast of pancakes, bread, preserves and freshly squeezed juice. The plunge pool is more decorative than a pool, and has petals in it. The small communal areas are nice to chill out in after the hustle and bustle of the city.

The staff were really helpful and pleasant. The price of the rooms was low. It's also licensed so they do sell alcohol (although this is more on the pricey side).

The hotel proprietor e-mailed me when we booked to offer to arrange an airport transfer, which was very welcome as it meant we avoided having to barter on our first evening.

I would definitely recommend this place, great value.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viktortrip, Propriétaire at Riad Mariana, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your visit , and for your recommendation to stay in Riad Mariana - kind regards- Philippe and all the team of Riad Mariana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Mariana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mariana

Address: 13 Derb El Boumba | Arset El Houta, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Mariana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad in the heart of Marrakech, easy access, close to tourist attractions pool, steam room, air conditioning, airport transfers, restaurant, tours, restaurant on-site service hotel, rooms cleaned every day, towels, bathrobes and bed linen changed daily - ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Mariana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Mariana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.